We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise on Earth”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

let me start by saying that I cried when we left. My sister and i took our parents to England to see our relatives and revisit the beautiful Derbyshire countryside where my mother was brought up. I chose the Cavendish because of its location and the fact that we needed a haven to return to as my parents are now well into their 80's. I could not picked picked a better spot. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, the rooms large and comfortable. As the hotel is nestled on the edge of the estate, it provides great running/walking options which I took great advantage of. (i just wish i had been able to bring my dog). The staff were all warm, friendly and patient and really looked after us for the five days of our visit. The food was excellent both within the formal dining room and in the garden room which offered lighter meals. The scones during afternoon tea are are scrumptious (and I should know as I am known as the scone Queen at home for my own scones). We took full advantage of this picturesque retreat. It was worth every penny and allowed us to make great memories with our parents that we will have forever. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    158
    75
    43
    32
See reviews for
94
391
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Although we only stayed one night everything about our visit was wonderful and we will certainly be going back as soon as possible. It is refreshing to know that, in the age of worldwide brands and plastic service, true quality still exists.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We have been to this hotel many times over the years and always rated it as one of our favourites that is why we always return but sadly we will think again after our recent experience.We booked a meal for 8pm and arrived early so we could enjoy a pre dinner drink and was greeted by the receptionist who told us to go to the lounge and someone would take our order.After 10 minutes no one arrived which seemed odd as they were not busy, no one in the garden room and probably 8 in the lounge.Eventually our order was taken along with the dinner menu .20 to 25 minutes went by and we were told that our table was ready but the starter did not arrive until at least another 15 minutes.Plates cleared and we ordered a drink but that never arrived. After 20 or more minutes the dinner was presented and we asked about the drink which incidently arrived almost at the end of dinner.Plates once again cleared and that was that. After another 20 minutes of being completely ignored we were ready to give in and go home and feeling rather annoyed with the whole episode. A waiter passed by and we asked if we could have a dessert only to be told " haven't you had one yet"? We were given the menu and once again left.Another 20 minutes and the order was taken and we asked to have coffee as well at the table.Dessert arrived but no coffee.We decided to go to the lounge and prompted a waiter that we had ordered our coffee and would wait in the lounge.Wait we did.We had to ask a passing waiter to clear away the table from the previous guests and prompted them yet again we were still waiting for our coffee.We arrived at 8pm and we left at 11.20pm that is how long it took .We do not wish to be eating our dessert at 10.45pm and we do not think we would be out of order in stating that the whole evening was very very disappointing.What has gone wrong with this splendid place? The food is still excellent no doubt about that but the service has gone in fact there was no service . We thought that perhaps it was just an unfortunate experience on that night but after reading other peoples reviews it is obvious that The Cavendish management has to organise the staff in the restaurant so that once again service is a priority but no one should have to write that in a review and that makes us very very sad..We also thought that the attitude and abruptness of certain staff was quite off putting .We had planned on booking again but sadly we have not and will not .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NisaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I paid over £200 per night because there was an obligatory 5% service charge. The TV didn't work. There was no light over the bathroom mirror. One measly bar of soap was provided. The coffee in the room was instant. There was no lift. Having just returned from the USA & Canada, it was a shock to pay so much for so little. Most B&Bs in England can do better for less than half the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank palgrave2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We received a good welcome. The room was lovely, certainly large for a "standard" by today's standards, with a great view from 2 windows. Well equipped too. I really like to be able to make myself a cuppa and there was a jug of fresh milk in the fridge rather than those hideous sachets. Bathroom, with smallish bath, and decent shower, with quality toiletries.
Afternoon tea looked a real treat. They do seem to serve tea strong enough to stand your spoon in it!
We didn't eat there at night, but were glad to be given a leisurely start in the morning, breakfast available till 12 and check out by 12 too. Breakfast is decent buffet for £10, with pastries, cereal, yoghurt, meat and cheese, fruit and good juice, but if you want anything cooked it almost doubles the price, although there are a wide range of dishes on offer (kippers, full English, eggs Benedict, etc) I just fancied some scrambled eggs on toast and it seemed a bit steep!
Nice to have a good range of newspapers to browse.
Obviously it's an ideal place to stay if you want to visit Chatsworth.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked a table for six for a special birthday lunch in the Gallery Restaurant. The restaurant is beautifully decorated and furnished with views over the meadows to the rear of the hotel. The food was destinctly average and not what we expected of this establishment. Nothing that made us go 'wow'. The service was rather bizarre. The head waiter/restaurant manager had a very unusual approach to customer service and we found it quite rude to be told he would take our order after they had dealt with a party of twelve who were dining in the Garden Room so despite having booked our table for, as the receptionist described it "the fine dining experience", we were made to feel less important than those who had not booked and just turned up for the Garden Room dining room experience. After the main course one of our party requested a tooth pick. One having failed to arrive, a second member of staff was asked. We had to ask a third time before one was eventually delivered with an unnecessary story about how they had had to go to the stores to collect one! The delay between ordering our desserts and receiving them was extremely protracted and when they arrived there was no apology. Hence we declined ordering coffees as we did not want to have to wait 20 further minutes for them to arrive.

We were so much looking forward to dining at the Cavendish and it is such a shame we left feeling disappointed as this place could be so much better if it sharpened up its act.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

What can I say about this hotel? I have been to many places...Europe, the Caribbean and all over America. This hotel is as good or better than anywhere I've ever stayed. The staff are unequaled. I can't remember when I have met a friendler, more knowledgeable and personal staff. The level of service is beyond superb. As a man traveling alone, with a very bad back and lots of luggage for my stay, I was greeted with nothing but smiles at every turn. My room was absolutely perfect...heated floors, a towel rail with quality towels, a robe for my use, wonderful linens and not your typical cookie cutter furniture..Very nice upholstered pieces, vintage and antique tables...and a very comfy mattress. Extremely convenient lighting at the bedstand...the bathroom products were night and the shower with its rainhead showerhead was very welcomed. The food at this property is as fresh as you can get...farm to table in every sense...fresh milk in your room in a mini fridge for every morning. And the views...the views and the views. There is no way to say anything negative about this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyPageLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
367 reviews
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
378 reviews
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing