We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cavendish Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bagshaw Hall(Bakewell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Maynard(Grindleford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
404
184
86
47
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
184
86
47
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgallery restaurantafternoon teagarden roomsconeschatsworth estatecream teastandard roomfour poster bedthis lovely hotelhalibutromantic breakfresh milk in the fridgethe kitchenpeak districtrelaxing staystunning viewswithout exception
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 753 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2013

As a treat for a recent anniversary we decided to have a romantic meal and night away at the Cavendish. How I wish we had not bothered.

When we arrived it was a beautiful day and we decided to have a glass of wine in the garden and ordered 2 glasses of house dry white wine from one of the waiters, there were a number of other guests having a drink or afternoon tea in the sunshine. When we came to having our glasses refilled there were no staff around to ask and only when someone eventually came to clear tables did we manage to order another drink, other guests had also commented on how long they had had to wait. Attentive they were not!!!

We ate in The Gallery restaurant which was ok, if i am being really picky the smoked mackerel starter was a bit dry but generally the food was enjoyable.

The cooked breakfast was excellent but is not included in the room price of £219 per night.

We had booked an 'Inn Room' hoping for a bit of luxury with wonderful views, we were not expecting a small pokey, unclean room, 'THAT view over The Chatsworth Estate' was limited beyond belief. The bed was so uncomfortable I had to sleep on the sofa, the decor initially looked ok but on closer inspection the room was very tired had had not been thoroughly cleaned for some time, the bathroom was not much better with a thick layer of dust on those out of the way places.

When we checked out I did remark on the state of the room and the fact I had to sleep on the sofa but paid the bill anyway. They apologised and said they would let management know!!! It was only on closer inspection that we noticed we had been charged £17.20 for the first 2 glasses of house dry white wine we had had the previous day!!!! The second 2 glasses had been charged at £9.40. We are not penny pinchers but did feel £8.60 for a glass of run of the mill wine was unreasonable.
I felt i did nothing but complain about our romantic anniversary night away but for a grand total of £468 it was an expensive exercise and not something we will be repeating.

For cleanliness and a wonderful bed Premier Inn here we come, no they don't have airs and graces but for £29 per night we can opt for a chauffeur driven car with excellent food somewhere else.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
11  Thank Lynda_P_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had an Inn Room 9 with lovely views over the Chatsworth park, and we could watch the riders exercise the horses during the horse trials. The room had a four poster bed and two large settees with a good bathroom and fresh milk in the fridge for tea. There was an excellent buffet breakfast, with plenty of fresh fruit, pastries, cheese and interesting cooked meats. Marvellous choice of cooked breakfasts if desired when having the country breakfast. Enjoyed eating in both resturants which are different in style and menu. Very pleasant service from all the staff and prompt service in the resturant for breakfast. Good choice of daily papers to read in the lounge.

Room Tip: Choose an Inn room if longer than one night, well worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Going to the Cavendish for morning coffee/tea is a real treat. We go about once a month usually sit in the conservatory area, but on cold days we go in the lounge area and enjoy the open fire. Scones are superb, the coffee and tea come in pots meaning there is plenty!
Views from the conservatory are over the Chatsworth estate, can't be many better places to watch the world go by!
So much nicer than the coffee chains of Costa or Starbucks. Staff are delightful as well. Looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alwaysablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our two-night stay at this lovely property. As others have noted, it's on the Chatsworth property--in fact, only a mile stroll across the grounds will bring you to the house. All rooms face the grounds (which not only provides a wonderful view, but shields them from the road noise at the front). Reception was gracious and efficient. We loved our room, #5; it was very pretty and nicely furnished with two large windows, two large chairs, a good-sized table, desk, small bookshelf, small but well-organized closet area with teamaking equipment, and very nice bathroom. The one problem with the room was the bed: The mattress is well past its prime and needs immediate replacement. We could feel some of the springs. We still slept very well, though, probably owing to the long walks and excellent drinks in the bar.

Public rooms are nicely decorated. We had dinner in each restaurant and enjoyed them both. One caveat: If you want dessert in the Garden Room (and you really should), skip either the starter or the main course to save room.

We opted for the Cavendish (uncooked) breakfast and enjoyed a wide variety of cereals, breads, fruit, yogurt, cheese, etc. Coffee was very good. We very much hope to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty, but only a few offer two windows. Ask for one of those if you like lots of light. Also, ask about the age of the mattress.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Twelve of us stayed with you last weekend, it was my turn to choose the venue this year and everyone was happy with my choice. Our rooms were charming and the staff were
extremely helpful and most welcoming, my only slight disappointment was the lack of choice
on the menu for the evening meal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Chatsworth Estate
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews