We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food great service beautiful surroundings .”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I brought mum for the weekend as it was her birthday and mothersday . As soon as we arrived the friendly staff couldn't do anoth for us they were so friendly and accomadating . Are superior room was spacious beautifully decorated and met all are needs , we ate in the main resturaunt Saturday evening impeccable service beautiful fresh food served to a very high standard . Breakfast served untill noon on the Sunday how lovely not to have to rush , lovely menu all local produce served great breakfast would highly recommend a stay here . Lovely relaxing lounge open fires with beautiful views . Lucie rose , chesire

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Licie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (698)
There are newer reviews for Cavendish Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 698 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

We booked the kitchen table for a birthday meal for my wife and its probably the best culinary experience we have ever had. When we booked the table the head chef, Mike asked what foods we liked/disliked and whether we had any allergies. My wife isn't overly adventurous with meat and this was taken on board by the kitchen staff.

We arrived not really knowing what to expect and were treated to canopies and drinks in the lounge. The atmosphere was relaxed and not in any way 'stuffy' and the champagne and Derbyshire ale along with Julian's excellent service got the evening off to a great start.
We transferred to the kitchen and were met by the head chef, Mike and his kitchen staff who introduced the menu and explained how the kitchen worked. Then the dishes began to come out. Wow! It literally was food to die for. We had a variety of fish with the most wonderful beetroot ice cream and they just kept coming out. Ben in the kitchen explained each of the 9 courses to us and answered all our questions about how the foods had been cooked. Meanwhile the kitchen staff kept on preparing meals for guests in the restaurant and garden room, the attention to detail for every dish, which Mike personally checked for presentation and quality, was terrific to witness.

The highlight dish for me was the Derbyshire Pork whilst the smoked mackerel with beetroot ice cream hit the spot for my wife. We were both knocked out by the basil sorbet and the cheese course finished the evenings food off perfectly. The evening ended with a tour of the kitchen and coffee and chocolates in the lounge.

The total cost of the evening was £220 including the champagne, 2 bottles of ale and 2 bottles of Pinot Grigio (which was gorgeous). It isn't something will probably ever do again however we both came home buzzing about the evening we had just experienced. The copies of the menu and the Cavendish Hotel aprons that we were given at the end of the evening was a lovely touch. We will definitely returning to the restaurant or garden room to enjoy the food that we have every confidence will be gorgeous.

We'd like to thank Mike, Ben, Ed and Julian for making the evening so enjoyable and will definitely be recommending the kitchen table to our friends for a one-off, once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have passed by this impressive hotel many times in the past while on my way for a walk in the Derbyshire Dales, so to have the chance to stay there just couldn’t be missed. It lived up to all my expectations while surpassing many.

We took advantage of the 3 night Winter Break – a very good deal that is still available until the end of March.

I was impressed right from the first enquiry; staff members are obviously very well trained and offer helpful advice. Richard dealt with our booking & he was there to welcome us on our arrival, carrying my case to the room – a very helpful touch.

Our bedroom was delightful (number 5 ‘Clifford’) & boasts a lovely view. The bed was very comfortable giving us a good night’s sleep. The room was spotless– and I especially appreciated fresh milk in the ‘fridge. No ‘plastic’ milk here thank goodness. I enjoyed reading the observations in the Guest Book & they put a smile on my face. Read it, and you will see what I mean!
The bathroom was fine – hot water was always available & there was a good sized bath. The shower was good too & quality products were available. There were lovely white towels (including a bath towel that was large enough – thank you) and the white bath robes were a welcome touch. An added ‘plus’ was that the mirror was thoughtfully placed at the right height for my 6’3” husband! No back ache this time.


All staff seemed happy to see us & nothing was too much trouble. They appeared to be happy to be working there and were pleasant and friendly, always to hand; they made us feel at home. Attentive but unobtrusive, for example, checking with us that all was well, they were not patronising in any way. There were many helpful suggestions - Mr. Marsh kindly gave us a road tour he had prepared suggesting a scenic route to take and the receptionist was also happy to give advice on local footpaths because she took the trouble to find out we were interested in walking.

We ate in the Gallery Restaurant enjoying a wonderful starter followed by an excellent chateaubriand. The comprehensive wine list included a good selection of half bottles - perfect for us. The elegance of the eau-de-nil and silver colour scheme only enhanced our experience and the decoration reflects the impeccable taste of the Duchess of Devonshire. I particularly appreciated the attention to detail e.g. the fresh flowers in the dining room were changed during our stay.

The breakfast menu offers a wonderful array including fresh fruit, cold meats and cheeses; the home made muesli was delicious as was the home made jam & marmalade. The full English was delectable – poached eggs were perfectly done, & on the last morning we enjoyed eggs benedict – yummy.
Oh, and another tip? Home made scones in the Garden Room are NOT to be missed – they are simply scrumptious!

As the weather was inclement the lounge was very inviting. We spent a very happy time with a good book by the log fire with coffee or tea to sustain us. There are daily newspapers available too.

Altogether a wonderful relaxing break and I cannot wait to go again!

Room Tip: There is a new wing opening this month named the Mitford Wing I believe, which may be interesting to...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at the Cavendish because we wanted a home base for Chatsworth, Derby Dale etc. And it is perfectly located. Had a great rate, very nice pre-arrival contact to help select a room ( we had the Unity deluxe room) etc. We wanted a lovely small inn experience--with class. And this comes close--but doesn't quite make it. The room is very pretty on first glance--such nice details. The you see the ripped wallpaper, the cheap plywood bedframe that takes the place of a real box spring and makes the bed very uncomfortable, the constantly-sticking windows and--worst of all--a bathroom that would have been more at home in a Holiday Inn--or lower. Artificial "wood" flooring, no storage space--utilitarian at the best. Not worthy of the property. Sometimes small thngs matter--nice to have a cute teddy bear on the bed that we could "adopt" (buy) as a memory of the stay--but the one in our room was badly damaged--careless. It is great to have friendly staff--and they did--but you are likely to have your sophisticated head waiter also be the one who comes to your room to unstick your window when it won't close at midnight--or help you when the cleaning staff forget to leave toilet paper. Takes a bit of the edge off. The whole property seems a bit "off"--like no one is truly managing or watching things. We thought we might actually check out and leave after the first night but we held strong and had what was at best a "nice" stay. Public areas--very nicely done. Gallery Restaurant is trying a bit hard--certainly creative but hit and miss--and a limited menu that is the same each and every night of the stay. Casual restaurant served excellent tea--delicious scones. So, in the rooms, though the fabrics etc may have been chosen by the Duchess, I doubt she would approve of the shoddy edges to the rooms, or the very down-market bathroom.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrWo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was looking for a special place to take my boyfriend for one night. Having paid over £200 for the room, i was shocked at how poor the room was (dated/worn carpets) and the most basic, old bathroom. the photos on their website are very misleading as the rooms are so worn and dated. i would not pay even half of what we paid. the service is also poor, with very little effort to make you feel welcome. I felt embarrasses to have spent so much....my boyfriend was shocked.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lunch today, 27th feb. Garden Room. Sunny and very hot. Absolutely perfect if you are old and feel the cold, because this place was boiling in the early afternoon sun ! Few people in (just 2 tables and us). Service was unhurried (ie slow, but in a pleasant decadent sort of way), and food when it arrived was delicious, as you'd expect. Blinking pricey though! (£24 for a steak and chips was pretty London-esque). Still, it was nice, and standards are standards. £46 total for a one-course -each lunch for two means that we won't be back soon, but that will of course leave all the more room for you travellers, as opposed to us locals !
(ps, Tripadvisor - where is your "good" tickbox ? going from average to very good is missing a step)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful short but extremely pleasant stay at this delightful hotel. We enjoyed a glass of champagne with tea and scones, and after a lovely walk in the grounds of Chatsworth House, returned to get ready for our evening meal. The food was first class both in presentation and taste. After a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a magnificent breakfast before returning home feeling very relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
399 reviews
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range: $257 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing