We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the ridiculous price!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was looking for a special place to take my boyfriend for one night. Having paid over £200 for the room, i was shocked at how poor the room was (dated/worn carpets) and the most basic, old bathroom. the photos on their website are very misleading as the rooms are so worn and dated. i would not pay even half of what we paid. the service is also poor, with very little effort to make you feel welcome. I felt embarrasses to have spent so much....my boyfriend was shocked.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 720 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Lunch today, 27th feb. Garden Room. Sunny and very hot. Absolutely perfect if you are old and feel the cold, because this place was boiling in the early afternoon sun ! Few people in (just 2 tables and us). Service was unhurried (ie slow, but in a pleasant decadent sort of way), and food when it arrived was delicious, as you'd expect. Blinking pricey though! (£24 for a steak and chips was pretty London-esque). Still, it was nice, and standards are standards. £46 total for a one-course -each lunch for two means that we won't be back soon, but that will of course leave all the more room for you travellers, as opposed to us locals !
(ps, Tripadvisor - where is your "good" tickbox ? going from average to very good is missing a step)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a wonderful short but extremely pleasant stay at this delightful hotel. We enjoyed a glass of champagne with tea and scones, and after a lovely walk in the grounds of Chatsworth House, returned to get ready for our evening meal. The food was first class both in presentation and taste. After a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a magnificent breakfast before returning home feeling very relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

After visiting the historic Derbyshire village of Eyam, we called into The Cavendish Hotel, Baslow for a warming afternoon tea.
You do not have to book and it is served in The Garden Room which has great views across to Chatsworth House.
The full afternoon tea for two comes with loose leaf tea, generous and vert tasty sandwiches, home made sones with cream and jam, and three types of cakes each. Needless to say we couldn't manage all of it and the cakes were packages for us to take home.

Definitely worthy of a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to the Cavendish on the 31st January 2013 having booked the 'Upstairs Downstairs' package for my partner's 60th birthday surprise. The whole experience was memorable and we had a fantastic time. The Redesdale Suite was beautiful, the flowers I asked to be organised perfect. From the moment we arrived the service was excellent, friendly and of an high standard. The Kitchen Table was really excellent, from the interaction with Tim and his recommendations to the gorgeous menu, service and attention from the Chefs. The food and wine choices were superb - the best we have had, they now rank as our number one, having taken over from the Witchery in Edinburgh!

Everyone was friendly and helpful, particular mention to Charlotte who arranged an early check in and late departure and the flowers and chocolates in our room. Of course Tim the manager and Michael the Head Chef who made us so welcome and comfortable, made us laugh and gave us a fantastic dining and overall experience. And Jordan the Sous Chef who was lovely and turned out some fantastic food. All a credit to the Cavendish.

My partner was 'blown away' and had a wonderful time. I have a big birthday coming up next year and he said this would be hard to top, praise indeed! We have already recommended the Cavendish to all our family and friends, we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saltSthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the end of January, there were 8 of us staying in total. The rooms are very nice with amazing views, there is everything you need and they are very clean.

We ate in the main room and the meal did not disappoint, we will be going back for dinner again it was that good. The service is excellent i would recommend a stay here we live close to Chatsworth so its not as big a novelty to us as we go often so even if you are local the hotel is worth a stay its a lovely get away for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived here in need of a break and this hotel certainly fulfilled our expectations.
We took advantage of the Sunday Escape rate for 1 night.
A warm welcome at reception was followed by a glass of champagne and afternoon tea in the garden room.
The bedroom was in the original inn and was well decorated in keeping with the building. There was a lovely smell of beeswax polish in the room which made it feel very homely and cosy.
An evening meal of Jerusalem Artichoke soup <followed by Salmon and then Cranberry jelly with blood orange panacotta was well executed.A huge cafetiere of hot strong coffee was provided,no meagre rations here.
The dining room is beautifully decorated in duck egg blue and silver and it is a pleasure to eat in such fine surroundings.
Breakfast was good with plenty of fresh fruit and homemade muesli.
The jams and marmalades were from Chatsworth and that view looking over the fields towards Chatsworth is memorable.
The staff without exception were exemplary and all praise should go to them >They all seem happy to work here and it shows.
I believe that some of the rooms are being re furbished at the moment.
We shall certainly be returning here for another Sunday Escape, can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italytraveller099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Peacock at Rowsley
The Peacock at Rowsley
#1 of 2 in Rowsley
501 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range: $206 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing