We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base for North Derbyshire exploration”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great base for North Derbyshire exploration”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had read mixed reviews, but after staying 3 nights in an inn room with 4-poster would (and will) definitely return. Both restaurants there were excellent, and the staff we met were young, friendly, skilled, and engaging. The view was superb and to explore Chatsworth, as well as the surrounding incredible historic villages and landscape (Eyam, Castleton, Mam Tor, to name a few landmarks) this is a good place to start. It's on a super-busy road, but rooms face the back (at least the inn rooms).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    164
    77
    43
    32
See reviews for
100
401
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Cavendish is a small historic hotel on the edge of the Chatsworth Estate. It is old fashioned (thank God) with warm, friendly staff, in both the hotel and restaurant, and an unhurried style, which is a pleasure. Contrary to other comments I found the rooms to be comfortable, clean and efficient, with all of the amenities one would expect and memorabilia of the hotel's heritage was all over, making interesting diversions. The restaurant was spacious with comfortable chairs and well spaced tables. The staff, were superb, being knowledgeable, professional and friendly without being intrusive. The menu was original with good local produce and nice variety. The food was very tasty and well presented; the only criticism being the portions could have been a little larger, particularly after a walk in the adjacent Chatsworth Estate.

The personal greetings by the manager added to the sense of being truly welcomed guests and of course not enough can be said about the friendly greetings and superb efficiency of Moira who seems to be the fixture of the front desk. Thank you Cavendish, we will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldhandSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I paid £219 for a night in one of the inn rooms for our wedding anniversary treat. Room itself spacious, however the dirty sink, stained bedcover and the slow trickle of water that was the excuse for a shower kind of took the edge off our romantic break. We dined in the garden room (no jeans allowed in the more formal gallery restaurant - a bit outdated for 2012), food ok although not spectacular and don't look up as scores of dead flies overhead trapped in the blinds above!! Couldnt face £18 each for cooked breakfast the following day so opted to walk thirty seconds down the road to the 'Cafe on the Green' for the £5.95 version instead (as recommended by a prev comment left on here). To sum up...very pricey for the quality on offer however the scenery to go with it priceless!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs01257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just spent a night here on the Sunday Escape special offer. It was all very good value and lovely food. Friendly staff and gorgeous room. The only downside was the clown they have working there as the Maitre de....he has not got a clue at all !!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We only stayed here for one night to break up a long drive - this was a mistake. The place is lovely. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful - especially in the restaurant. The food we had was superb and the restaurant itself is tasteful and intimate. The bar/lounge areas are also relaxing and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble at this small hotel. The facilities in our room were very good and I was especially impressed by attention to detail (e.g. lovely Darjeeling tea rather than cheaper, more common 'brands'). The teddy bear and pictures of the Mitford family were a nice touch; especially having just visited Chatsworth where interest in this family cannot fail to be piqued! The beds were lovely and comfortable with real duvets! The bathroom had lovely fluffy towels and robes and the toiletries were full-sized rather than frustrating little bottles. There was a well-stocked mini bar in the room and it was in the mini bar fridge where we found the jug of fresh, cold milk for the complimentary tea and coffee facilities. All rooms even have a selection of books for you to read as well as local magazines. One fascinating corridor should be named 'the biographical history of the Cavendish Hotel'. We are going back as soon as we can. And staying for longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in excellent family room. Great breakfasts and clean and comfortable room. Comfortable reception area where we had drinks and great walk around the Chatsworth estate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked the Cavendish after being recommended by a friend and on looking on their website I saw that they did an "Escape on Sunday" package, just for one night, which was perfect as my husband's birthday was on a Sunday and as we live in Derbyshire anyway it was just far enough to travel for one night. The hotel is in a beautiful spot, being in the grounds owned by Chatsworth House itself, which is just a few minutes away. We were a little put out on arriving as there was not one single space in the large car parks, and after looking for a spot in vain, my husband dropped me off at the main entrance and I went to enquire what to do. Standing in the entrance to the hotel was a very helpful (and smart) porter, who apologised and immediately rushed out to direct my husband to a parking space in the staff car park and then whisked our bags straight into the reception, much appreciated. He then, after our efficient check in with the pleasant receptionist carried our bags along the corridors to our room, which was a good job as it was at the other end of the hotel. Our room was the "Diana" room, named after Diana Mitford, one of the Mitford sisters who ofcourse are connected to the Duke and Duchess of Devonshsire, the owners of Chatsworth( I won't go into the history but worth researching if you don't know of the family) The room and decor were beautiful, with expensive furnishings, and very comfortable, with a spotless clean bathroom and the fluffiest towels I have ever used! So far we were very impressed. We then wandered down to the Garden room where we were to have the cream tea which was part of our package. The Garden room was a lovely conservatory type room, overlooking the hotel grounds, and the cream tea, served by a very pleasant friendly waiter was excellent, absolutely delicious scones with local equally delicious jam and cream and a really "good" pot of tea. No complaints so far ! And no complaints to follow either, as our 5 course dinner later was fine dining at it's best. The food was truly excellent and the service also. There was quite a wait between courses, but we took this to be the norm here, as the courses were delicious, we were in no hurry and it was nice to take a breather in between courses, it was a nice long relaxed meal, ending with coffee in the very sumptious lounge with chairs to sink into. After a very good night in the comfortable bed we wandered down for breakfast, which is served between 7 and 12 (very sociable) and made for a nice unhurried check out. The breakfast itself didn't disappoint, lots of continental options and virtually anything cooked that you desired, the locally sourced bacon was delicious.
We then had a pleasant easy checkout and carried on for an enjoyable day at Chatsworth House, which if you haven't been (we have, being fairly local, visited quite often) is absolutely well worth the visit, a beautiful place. All in all we just couldn't fault the hotel or our weekend. The staff are very efficient, very friendly and very helpful. The hotel itself is steeped in character and history with a wonderful "old English" feel, like going back in time. Absolutely can't fault and for our American friends, who love culture and history, this is a must. Not inexpensive ofcourse, but we felt it was worth every penny

Room Tip: If all the rooms were as good as ours, then you can't go wrong, but as the hotel is quite long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollypensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
378 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing