We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visiting Chatsworth House”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfect for visiting Chatsworth House”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is a great location for visiting Chatsworth. Indeed Mr Waterhouse and I went for a run through the grounds directly from the hotel, prior to our visit.

We had a superior room which had a living area with a couple of sofas and a great view of the fields. While it was lovely and spacious, the bed could have been a little more comfortable and the bathroom needed a little more attention to detail from the cleaning department (mould around door).

That said,staff were wonderful, the bar very nice and room service good. Definitely worth staying while visiting Chatsworth for one or even two nights, and ok for all types of visitors whether romantic getaways or for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    165
    79
    44
    32
See reviews for
101
406
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I had a fabulous evening at the Kitchen Table to celebrate my birthday. It was really good fun and the food and service were excellent. The hotel is lovely, our Inn room was very nice but unfortunately the mattress was unbelievably uncomfortable. The rooms were supposedly refurbished in 2009 but this mattress was either very cheap or very old. We could feel every spring and got no sleep. It was such a pity because we'd had such a great evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and i booked the idle romantic break at this hotel as we were without our children and wanted to visit Chatsworth house. The location of the hotel for Chatsworth House was ideal and we enjoyed the stroll through the grounds from the hotel to the house.
The staff were without exception very friendly and attentive without imposing. We ate in both the restaurant and the gallery and both meals were excellent with a good choice although the wines were not cheap.
The bedroom was very comfortable with fantastic views of the country side. The bathroom was large but fairly basic.
I would certainly recommed the hotel for couples who are not looking for spa/fitness facilities.
We had a wonderfully relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in March this year.
We picked the hotel because we were doing a bit of touring around this part of England, and wanted somewhere close to Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall.
When we arrived, there was a bit of a mix up with the booking because I had cancelled and rebooked the reservation a week beforehand. The receptionist sorted this out easily, and made us very welcome.
Our room was comfortable, not too big but it's not that kind of hotel. We had a fabulous view over the Chatsworth estate, it was really lovely.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel as we thought it was a bit too expensive, we went down the road the the farm shop instead (as per recommendations on this website).
However, we did have some supper one of the evenings, and a drink in the bar.
There were one or two other couples in the bar and a group of locals, so it was very very quiet. However, that suited us as we were tired from a day of walking and touring around the area.
Our visit was obviously during the off season, so everything was quiet. The only issue I had was that one of our neighbours fell asleep with his radio blaring, which woke me in the night. I knocked the door several times but got no response. There was no one on reception at this time (it was around 3am), so I dug out my earplugs and got back to sleep!
This is a cute little country hotel, the staff were lovely and of course the area around is a big draw.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crannagh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Called in Sunday for an afternoon
cream tea (scones were excellent) and a glass of champagne to enjoy in the garden room. Bright and busy with a lovely atmosphere ,staff conducted themselves with a polished and professional service nothing was a trouble at all.

We then sat outside with tea and coffee . The weather was glorious, taking
in the sumptuous views overlooking the Chatsworth estate was sheer bliss.

We would certainly recommend the Cavendish experience to everyone.

The young lady on the reception is an absolute delight a breath of fresh air.

Keep up all your hard work!! well done.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolita123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfreton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very disappointed with the Cavandish today. We had Afternoon tea Sandwiches, scones and coffee plus a round of drinks. The scones and coffee were very nice, the sandwiches were terribly presented on the plates as two slices of bread with fillings cut diagonally with a few beetroot and mixed lettuce leaves £7 a sandwich absolutely dreadful could have made a better job in the kitchen myself didn't complain as my wife had just retired after 40 years with the same company and I didn't to spoil our day. One good point love the new decor and the weather was fantastic

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We have just returned from a Sunday Escape special deal at the Cavendish Hotel. The offer included a double or twin room, an afternoon cream tea, 3 course evening meal in the Gallery Restaurant and a full country breakfast. Check in time was 3 pm on Sunday, check out time no later than 12 noon on Monday. The cost was £225 - a saving of almost £100. The hotel is on the Chatsworth Estate and we rounded off our stay with a visit to beautiful Chatsworth House and it's gardens, made all the more enjoyable because of the lovely weather. We stayed in a lovely, large, well furnished room in the part of the hotel where the rooms are named after each of the Mitford sisters. The views were over the gardens and parkland. Our room was twin bedded and the beds were really comfortable. It had the feel of a suite as the wardrobe and bathroom were separate from the bedroom which also included a bed sofa plus two good sized armchairs. The room was double aspect with large, original sash windows. The bathroom sas supplied with quality shampoo, shower gel and body lotion. Towels and robes were plentiful and thick but, unusually, there was no shower cap supplied. The wardrobe had lots of good quality hangers and also contained the kettle, tea etc plus mini-bar. It was a well equipped room and my only quibble would be that it was very warm and the feather duvets were more suitable for colder weather than summer nights. The entire hotel is well furnished in an elegant and extremely comfortable country house style and the walls in some of the corridors are covered with interesting memorabilia. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly both before and during our visit. Our cream tea (not to be confused with an afternoon tea) consisted of a scone, cream and jam plus tea/coffee served in the Garden Room. Dinner was from the evening menu in the Gallery Restaurant and was very good indeed (I can recommend the assiette of desserts!). Breakfast was fine but I don't know that I would have said it was worth the £18.90 guests would normally have to pay. Interestingly, there is a 5 per cent charge added to the bill to cover tips. Some guests might not appreciate that fact. Our Sunday Escape was a super experience and I would not hesitate to stay at the Cavendish hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the parkland are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandECarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baslow
3.9 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
3.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
6.1 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
9.9 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Church Lane, Baslow, Peak District National Park DE45 1SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Baslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavendish Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel, part of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire Estate since 1830. The Cavendish overlooks the Estate and is a twenty minute walk to Chatsworth House from the Hotel. 24 recently refurbished bedrooms, with two restaurants and elegant public areas: much original artwork and furniture from Chatsworth House itself. Attentive and friendly staff combine with renowned food from Chef Alan Hill, together with a superb location in the heart of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Baslow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing