We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Doorstep to the Peaks”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Baslow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elaine H
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Doorstep to the Peaks”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This charming cottage ideally set in the village of Baslow for exploring the Peaks. Numerous walks from the doorstep including Chatsworth House and its grounds. Many attractions within a 30 minute drive and Sheffied only an hour away.
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard but still maintains the charm of an old cottage. It was clean and well decorated throughout.
The kitchen was well equipped, the two bedrooms were spacious and the rolled top bath was an added luxury especially after a long walk!
The sitting room was welcoming and had a gas fire wood-burner ideal for those chilly Autumn nights.
There is a small well stocked and well used village shop next to the cottage but in no way interferes with the peace and quiet of the cottage.
I would definitely recommend a stay at Clematis Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogdan S
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lasting memories!!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We have always loved the Peak District and in particular the area we stayed at. It was a very comfortable/cosy base to explore the area e.g. walks to Chatsworth and walks around Baslow, meals out as well as cooking in and visits to nearby towns eg Bakewell, Buxton

The owners, David and Christine made us feel very welcome with complimentary wine, bread and milk. They were friendly, accommodating and warm without being intrusive. Lovely hosts!

A totally relaxing and pleasant experience which we will definitely be repeating. Thank you David and Christine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and the area
Liked least: The fact that my wife developed a migraine and we had to leave a day early.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lichfield
Reviewed March 23, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grange-over-Sands
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury
Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing