We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Sunday Lunch”

The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Baslow
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Devonshire Arms, Inn and Kitchen offers good honest food, great ales and wines, 12 en suite rooms and warm hospitality for anyone seeking escape, exploration, socialising, relaxation or refuelling.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
456 reviews
310 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“The Best Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from Sunday lunch at The Devonshire Arms and have to say it was one of the best I have had. My Husband and I had the roast beef, which was cooked to perfection (not microwaved in gravy as many pubs serve it), served with home made Yorkshires and good gravy. Having read some of the reviews we were looking forward to trying it out and we were not disappointed. The decor was very tastefully done and I can understand why they don't do reservations, as the place is enormous. The young waitresses were very attentive and helpful.
As we are avid diners we shall certainly be returning in the evening and bringing friends. This was not just "ok", it was special and certainly do not consider £9.95 pricey for the meal we had.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    139
    60
    53
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I went to this place as i was in the area and having heard it was under new management etc...it was ok. The new decor is nice and inviting and the food ok, but nothing special. I think that the reviews on here are overarted but everyone has an opinion and this is just mine. Overall, an ok pub lunch, but little pricey for what it is.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jgriffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visit xmas 2012”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

set off the green at baslow ,very friendly pub closed wood burner glowing in the dog friendly end very helpful staff, friendly manager who works as hard as his staff the food may be odd but it was cooked with love of a person who loves food my wife and myself enjoyed every day we have visited this dog friendly pub on the two occasions we have visited chatsworth caravan site

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fe04rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bakewell
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant menu and fantastic revamp of the interior”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Came with a group of friends for dinner just before Christmas. Fab new design and decor inside so the place was comfortable and stylish. The menu was great - they have obviously put a lot of effort into the food and it was all delicious and well presented in a gastro pub style. It'd say the pricing is about right - with the exception of the sharing plates. We ordered a sharing platter and found the portions to be quite small for the price we paid in comparison to the portions for the individual dishes which were of good portion size and value.

I saw a lot of things on the menu which tickled my taste buds, so I would like to return to try more of the tempting food!

My only criticism would be the staff didn't seem to be very well trained or enthusiastic. There were lots of young girls milling around behind the bar area - none were very on the ball or eager to serve. This place would benefit from waiting staff who take their job seriously as it has an upmarket feel now. I also found it weird that the staff used their mobile phones to place food orders. I've seen restaurants using iPads, but using their own mobiles looks strange somehow.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJShim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I'd like to add to the latest review. My husband and I were the friends who were there from 2.15. We were asked twice if we were eating and when we said yes but were waiting for friends were given extra cutlery but no warning that service stopped at 3o'clock. I f we had been we'd have ordered. The surroundings were comfortable and the menu looked appetising, but as it was eight people had to make do with packets of crisps.My complaint is about lack of communication and a lack of interest by staff.

    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Devonshire Arms also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing