We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Looking Rustic Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rutland Arms - CLOSED

The Rutland Arms
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Typical English pub,with terraced river side garden in a historic location
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Looking Rustic Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

When visiting this restaurant it was currently under renovation. We had just returned from touring Haddon Hall in Bakewell and stopped to enter. A very gracious owner came out to say they would reopen in a few weeks but was still kind enough to offer us a cold beverage and a quick tour inside. In a beautiful scenic spot with the backyard offering a great look at the River Derwent and that wonderful old 12th century bridge and toll house!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachrumpunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandArms, Owner at The Rutland Arms, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hi,
thankyou very much for your comments. Much appreciated! We hope to see you again soon.

Viv and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    20
    6
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A MUST FOR ANYONE WHAT CAN I SAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This Bank holiday we’re visited the Rutland Arms in Baslow over the Easter Bank Holiday. We did expect it to be busy and we wasn't wrong. The staff again was extremely helpful and found us a table within 10 to 15 minutes which any person would expect over this period. Although there was a few items on the menu not available due to the amount of meals they had severed already there was still plenty to choose from and considering there was seven of us the food was excellent not one of us could find fault .The meals were hot and the portions where of a good size . I have traveled the world and love my fine dining but I must stress if its great PUB GRUB then you can’t go wrong and value for money.

I also would like to point out the great selection of beers this pub has to offer and being a Camra member myself this is a credit to the staff in keeping the beer to its best standard

We got chatting to some people that stay at the local Caravan site on a regular basis and often eat or drink hear and they was saying what a great place it was

Once we are blest with some nice weather I am sure we will be spending many an hour in the beer garden by the river with a bottle of wine or some real Ale

You only have to read the reviews of the last 9 months when the New owners turned this pub around

Also we are going to stay over as this pub offers B&B and very good rates

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank revotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandArms, Owner at The Rutland Arms, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,

Thankyou very much for your comments. Much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon

Viv & Kieth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We wont be calling again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Been there today - Easter Bank Holiday for a treat - we were all disappointed - The staff were all very nice and friendly - no complaints there. Good beer on offer. The food?? We waited 45 minutes for it to arrive. Piping hot though. Dads pie was in a dish with chunks of meat with puff pastry on top. Mum had the special - a smoked haddock with a circle of roasted butternut squash and a little blobs of a sauce - nothing else , no veg, salad or chips ! The other dishes were OK but rather small. Then to order pudding (we didnt have a starters as we were saving ourselves for pud) - out of a selection of (I think 4 or 5 choices) there was only the chocolate brownie left or ice cream. Come on guys - this was Easter Bank Holiday - would it not have been possible to make a pud or two, a fresh fruit salad maybe ??
I/we appreciate you served 300 meals over the week end but that didn't help our meal out. We are a local family not passing tourists and I'm afraid we wont be calling again or recommending to anyone

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandArms, Owner at The Rutland Arms, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to post your review.
We are sorry that your meal did not meet your expectations. Bank holidays are always a busy time for us. By the time your group had ordered there meals, other orders had come into the kitchen.
Our steak and ale pie consists of braised steak, carrotts, onions and a rich gravy served in a oval pie dish wih a pastry lid and comes with fresh vegetables and home made chips. Your mums special (fish of the day) came on a sweet potatoe fondant and a side order of fresh vegetables. We would have been more than happy to serve a side order of chips if asked. Our homemade chocolate brownie proved very popular over the holiday, as a result of this there was only one portion left. However, there were alternitves of sticky toffee pudding, lemon tart and a homemade carrott and ginger cake aswell as a selection of ice creams.
We would love to see you back at the Rutland Arms this summer.

Viv & keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISREGARD ALL REVIEWS BEFORE JULY 2012 THIS PLACE IS WORTH A VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Like other's we visited the Rutland Arms early last year and vowed never to go again! We called in today following a long walk. The pub welcomes walkers, with dogs and families. It was warm and inviting, with new décor and Management who took over last July and have revamped a tired run down pub to be one that provided excellent food (we had ciabatta sandwiches, real ale (which was well kept) coffee and a piece of home made cake. It was excellent, and noted that the dinners being served to others looked as appetising. There was an open fire, and friendly staff. Perfect. A good place to stop for walkers, and others. So give it a chance, ignore all the old reviews and take it from now. Well worth a visit. I noted that B&B was £60 which is not at all out of the way for Derbyshire, in a good interesting village close to Chatsworth and many good walks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa11649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandArms, Owner at The Rutland Arms, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello,

Thankyou very much for your comments. They are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again!

Viv & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a return trip to The Rutland Arms today for lunch. Great menu choices and the food was lovely.
The staff were very friendly and the service was efficient. Well worth a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MoJo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRutlandArms, Owner at The Rutland Arms, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello.

Thankyou very much for your lovely comments. They are much appreciated, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Viv & Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rutland Arms also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing