We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Credit where It's Due”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Wheatsheaf Hotel is an 18th Century coach house situated in the heart of the Peak District outside Chesterfield. The Wheatsheaf is ideal for business travellers and tourists exploring the region, with easy access to Chesterfield, Sheffield, Derby and Manchester. Situated just outside the market town of Chesterfield, the hotel is surrounded by the rolling countryside of the Peak District and near to the superb shopping facilities of Meadowhall as well as the concert and sporting facilities of Sheffield. The Wheatsheaf Hotel offers superb facilities for food in comfortable surroundings with excellent service. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic free breakfast.
matlock
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Credit where It's Due”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Found this particular hotel a cut above the rest of the group. Marston's pubs can vary tremendously......usually they're pretty good, but the food and service here is exceptional.
Usual varied menu and excellent value.......tables were wiped and cleared very quickly.
Staff were friendly and efficient.....what more can you want at the price?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 646johns646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit. I hope we will be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    165
    54
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfiled
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very disappointing! Sunday roast are disgusting.”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Was so disappointed with the beef Sunday roast. We ordered our meals and within three minutes they were brought out to us, which was a little off putting! The beef is like what you buy for sandwich meat, really thin and chewy. The veg was over cooked and soggy and the gravy was awful. The meal wasn't hot and served on cold plates. The food here used to be fantastic we were regulars, the quality of food now is really poor and bad value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tar1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to us. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your roast dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totton, Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want a friendly place with good service, good and hot food then it's here”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Wheatsheath has a welcoming feel, plenty of good service , the night we went is was packed out, but they still served you quickly, made you welcome and presented you with good quality hot food. They do as others have mentioned have a gluten free menu, although not quite strict , we were advised that the chips could be contaminated due to them being cooked in the same fryer as gluten contains products. We found everything to be great value and the whole place pleasant. We liked it so much we went back for lunch the following day and all attributes were the same! You will not be disappointed

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Placesofpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the peak district.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Stop.”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is an establishment I have passed many times but never stopped at...until yesterday. On the way back from the Hillhead Event in Buxton, I decided to stop for a late lunch.
Although it was a beautiful day I decided not to eat outside in the extensive garden but chose to eat inside so I could flick through a few documents without them fluttering all over the place...plus if you stay inside you can run up a tab!
Very pleasant and professional bar and waiting staff...no complaints!
Excellent food at a reasonable price...no complaints!
Overall a very pleasant experience and an establishment I would certainly recommend to you all. I would certainly go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Now you have stopped off, we hope you will visit each time you are passing. We look forward to seeing you soon !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My friends and I stopped here after a long 12 mile walk on the Monsal Trial (but that is a different story), it was very busy but we enquired about a table for 8 and one was found for us very quickly in fact someone was just leaving but staff were very helpful.
Service was good and really quick considering it was a Saturday night - we were all starving :)
Food was excellent none of us had anything to complain about - the chips in particular were lovely and my gammon was cooked to perfection.
Could not have asked for more lagar was cold, food was hot and a really really good price for 8 people. Will call in again if we were in the area :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lamb_bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I hope we will see you next time you are walking in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing