We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Wheatsheaf Hotel is an 18th Century coach house situated in the heart of the Peak District outside Chesterfield. The Wheatsheaf is ideal for business travellers and tourists exploring the region, with easy access to Chesterfield, Sheffield, Derby and Manchester. Situated just outside the market town of Chesterfield, the hotel is surrounded by the rolling countryside of the Peak District and near to the superb shopping facilities of Meadowhall as well as the concert and sporting facilities of Sheffield. The Wheatsheaf Hotel offers superb facilities for food in comfortable surroundings with excellent service. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic free breakfast.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Peak district seems to be generally a place for overpricing or smaller portions, or in some cases both. Far too many in fact. Fed up with the constant paying over the odds and coming out of places feeling like we wanted to find the nearest chip shop, I thought we would ignore the fact that the Wheatsheaf is a Marston chain pub and try it, nothing lost! The pub is very nicely decorated, the staff very friendly and the menu very competitively priced, even on a Saturday with none of the usual 2 for £10 deals on (which I avoid anyway!). The waitress brought over a small bowl of nachos and dip before the meals arrived - nice touch. Both had fish and chips - the fish was a decent size, very tasty and not at all greasy which is the case in many places. Chips were hot (again, often in chains they're hotplated and tepid) and the garnish crisp and fresh with a big chunk of lemon to drizzle over the fish. The waitresses checked that everything was ok, overall price for 2 x fish and chips and two drinks was under £20, and for the Peak District, that's very good indeed. Will definitely call again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your fish and chips and found us to be good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wheatsheaf in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    165
    54
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to eat, chill and relax”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We visited this during a family outing. When you first walk in you think this is just your average pub/bar/restaurant sort of place. However, when you step outside through the back door, you realised that it is much more.

The rear garden is what makes this place come alive. If you want a relaxing meal in a beautiful garden, then this is the place for you. There are two are three enclosed areas to sit in, plus some more open areas. There is a large area for children to play as well, in full view of the parents for safety.

The service is very good. However, it is wise to check how long service is before ordering, as during very busy times waits can be rather long. That said, if you are not in any rush, then you will enjoy it.

They often have guest ales behind the bar plus a wide selection of the usual drinks available. The menu has a very good choice, with good specials.

Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Glad to hear that you found The Wheatsheaf a place for eating, chilling and relaxing. Hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday roast”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to The Wheatsheaf. The Ale was good,The staff friendly and efficient, and my roast dinner was cooked to perfection.I shall definitely be returning in the future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrfussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We look forward to seeing you on your next Sunday outing in The Peak District. There is a pint with your name on it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

After our dreadful visit to the Rutland Arms also in Baslow( have written a review) we visited the Wheatsheaf and we found a warm welcome, friendly and polite service, value for money and delicious food which was plentiful and hot. Thank you Wheatsheaf for a lovely family meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at The Wheatsheaf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Stopped for lunch after a visit to Chatsworth, the staff were very polite and friendly and found us a comfortable table. Choice was good typical pub food and there was an offer of two mains for £10. Both of us found something we wanted and thought it was excellent value. Steak cooked to order and very tasty; plaice beautifully moist and equally tasty. Thoroughly recommend it for excellent value and a very pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Look forward to seeing you next time you are visiting The Peak District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing