We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & cosy”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Wheatsheaf Hotel is an 18th Century coach house situated in the heart of the Peak District outside Chesterfield. The Wheatsheaf is ideal for business travellers and tourists exploring the region, with easy access to Chesterfield, Sheffield, Derby and Manchester. Situated just outside the market town of Chesterfield, the hotel is surrounded by the rolling countryside of the Peak District and near to the superb shopping facilities of Meadowhall as well as the concert and sporting facilities of Sheffield. The Wheatsheaf Hotel offers superb facilities for food in comfortable surroundings with excellent service. Hotel accommodation includes our fantastic free breakfast.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visited The Wheatsheaf in Baslow for a meal when we were passing by mid-September. We were surprised by how busy the place was when we arrived - usually a good sign! The atmosphere inside was warm and cosy. Staff were friendly and the menu was extensive. We enjoyed the food we ordered - lamb Henries, smoked salmon pasta, risotto and a lamb & spinach curry. We then had space to share a couple of the desserts! The food was good value for money and overall it was a nice evening meal in traditional surroundings.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SleeplessInDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Hope we will see you next time you are passing through Baslow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 438 of 529 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

staying on the caravan park at chatsworth, was recommended the wheatsheaf for eating out in the area so glad we went, the staff are great there and to top it off the food is very good for the money. Two 8oz steaks for £10 we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Hope we will see you next time you are at Chatsworth caravan park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Popped in for a morning cup of tea, prior to a walk.
We felt like we were a nuisance to the staff - no pleasantries.
Only the fly buzzing around paid us any attention.

Thank BillB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your morning cup of tea with us.
Please give me a call and let us make amends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lunchtime food terrible. The worst pub grub meal I have had this year. It was that bad I will avoid going to any pub displaying the sign 2 x meals £10. You live and learn.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CliveDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meals with us. If you would be kind enough to give me a call I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a party of 6,we were asked by a a member of staff if we would like to order a drink, whilst we looked at the menu,on ordering our meal we were told it would be 30 minutes,understandable
as it was very busy,our meal was served about that time,our meals were of good standard and wholesome, the hotel is set in a beautiful Derbyshire Peak District village,the hotel has large gardens to have your meal if you so wish,and a children's play area,the hotel is very popular so is very busy as it was when we went, don't be put off half a hour wait is not too long to wait unless you are in a hurry,
One note of caution the car park it on a steep slope, and although there are disabled parking places allocated at the bottom, if taken you may be better of dropping your loved ones at the bottom and then parking ,overall a nice meal in a nice village,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stu67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane W, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Hope we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing