We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to a lovely walk!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlie's Bistro

Charlie's Bistro
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a lovely walk!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We called here after walking 9 miles - we were staying at the chatsworth caravan club site. Food was stunning, service was excellent and the place just had charm. We were in our scruffs and sat outside with the dog, but made to feel most welcome and the food was totally amazing. Thanks, we will be back when we visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    46
    11
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening with friends”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We visited Charlie's on a Saturday evening with 4 friends.
It was initially recommended by a local shopkeeper last year who had travelled the world and found the food at Charlie’s to be as good as any she had eaten; we therefore took the recommendation and had a fabulous meal last year.

Our Scottish friends were again staying in Calver village and we returned this weekend.
The food was excellent, service was superb and the wine was fabulous. The cost averaged £75 per couple which included pre-meal drinks and wine.
This was exceptional value considering the quality of the experience.
This is a gem of a restaurant that we happily travelled from Chesterfield to visit and will definately return before our planned 'annual' trip next July!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank escapingfromwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great find Charlies is! It is only our second visit but must say how much we enjoyed both the meal and the general atmosphere. The two young gentlemen who were waiting on are a credit to the restaurant by creating a really relaxed feel. We had the dressed crab with a nice salad and new potatoes - absolutely delicious. We will be back and will have no hesitation in recommending Charlies for a lovely time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing evening”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I cam here with my boyfriend for his birthday dinner as part of a night away to Baslow and Charlie's was definitely the right choice for a celebration.
We were a bit concerned at first as, after booking a week earlier, we saw that they were only open on Thursday evenings 'by arrangement' but we were reassured that they do open on Thursdays in the summer.
We were extremely impressed with the relaxed atmosphere of the place as we had a drink outside in the sunshine beforehand and we were left to go at our own pace as we didn't want to be rushed. The waitress was excellent and really attentive to everything that we asked for.
The food was flawless with portions the right size to be filling but so that we weren't over-faced.
The chef, Charlie, even came to take our starter plates away, which we felt was a really nice touch.
Everything was cooked to perfection and we've both agreed it was our favourite restaurant experience, with my boyfriend putting it above Michael Caines' Abode in Manchester.
I really cannot recommend this place enough.
Thank you Charlie's for an incredible evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amyrose1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Called for lunch at 1pm . The restaurant was not to busy ,we were seated quickly and the drinks order taken. We ordered the food,it must have been at least 20 min before the starters arrived, ,soup ,and chicken pâté ,so I can't think why the wait so long,the mains arrived ,roast sirloin ,Yorkshire etc, and a Ceazar salad ,and a side order of vegetables ,. I have to say the food was very nice , well cooked and presented .would we eat here again ?? Yes ,,but now we are aware there could be a wait ,we will take this into consideration ,last time we had breakfast ,the service was a little smarter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Bistro also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Charlie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing