We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little restaurant”
Review of Charlie's Bistro

Charlie's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Baslow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great find Charlies is! It is only our second visit but must say how much we enjoyed both the meal and the general atmosphere. The two young gentlemen who were waiting on are a credit to the restaurant by creating a really relaxed feel. We had the dressed crab with a nice salad and new potatoes - absolutely delicious. We will be back and will have no hesitation in recommending Charlies for a lovely time!

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 289 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

I cam here with my boyfriend for his birthday dinner as part of a night away to Baslow and Charlie's was definitely the right choice for a celebration.
We were a bit concerned at first as, after booking a week earlier, we saw that they were only open on Thursday evenings 'by arrangement' but we were reassured that they do open on Thursdays in the summer.
We were extremely impressed with the relaxed atmosphere of the place as we had a drink outside in the sunshine beforehand and we were left to go at our own pace as we didn't want to be rushed. The waitress was excellent and really attentive to everything that we asked for.
The food was flawless with portions the right size to be filling but so that we weren't over-faced.
The chef, Charlie, even came to take our starter plates away, which we felt was a really nice touch.
Everything was cooked to perfection and we've both agreed it was our favourite restaurant experience, with my boyfriend putting it above Michael Caines' Abode in Manchester.
I really cannot recommend this place enough.
Thank you Charlie's for an incredible evening.

Date of visit: July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amyrose1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Called for lunch at 1pm . The restaurant was not to busy ,we were seated quickly and the drinks order taken. We ordered the food,it must have been at least 20 min before the starters arrived, ,soup ,and chicken pâté ,so I can't think why the wait so long,the mains arrived ,roast sirloin ,Yorkshire etc, and a Ceazar salad ,and a side order of vegetables ,. I have to say the food was very nice , well cooked and presented .would we eat here again ?? Yes ,,but now we are aware there could be a wait ,we will take this into consideration ,last time we had breakfast ,the service was a little smarter.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sdmmmtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful sunny day and lunch at Charlie's what more could you ask for. We had the monk fish with salad and home made steak and ale pie. The ambiance in this place is fabulous and the young waiter is a credit to this establishment. They delivered the whole lunch time package for us- great food and good house wine, relaxed atmosphere in a tasteful setting, attentive friendly service and a price that is good value based on whats delivered.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smiler1Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my second trip here but we couldn't possibly sit inside this time on such a beautiful sunny afternoon! My friend and I found plenty of choice on the menu but were both trying to lose a bit of weight so we went for the chicken salad reluctantly.we were both pleased we had chosen it when we tasted it because it wasn't "just another boring salad ",but full of beautiful flavours and not disappointing in any way!WE did seem to be a little forgotten with being outside,however that was our only tiny niggle so we are looking forward to returning and trying something else next time.

Date of visit: June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wendy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Bistro also viewed

Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 
Baslow, Peak District National Park
Baslow, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Charlie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing