We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel Poma

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Custonaci
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Poma
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Custonaci
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice hotel in the beautiful romantic and calm area.A lot of beautiful beaches nearby.A lot of possibilities for a trip.Hotel was clean,breakfast was excellent and the staff was really nice and helpful.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Iveta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 57 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2011

i recommend Hotel Poma and do not have more things to add after Mr_Clavio 's review. i AGREE 100% with.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I recommend this hotel to everyone visiting the Trapani Area in Sicily.

The hotel is located in the quite area of Custonaci, few kilometres off Trapani and Erice and few kilometres from San Vito Lo Capo!

The hotel is modern with all required facilities. The rooms are are spacious and include a full bathroom with jacuzzi, a television, a safe, a mini bar and air condition. The breakfast is delicious with freshly cooked bread and pastries. The hotel lacks a inhouse restaurant but this should not be a problem since there is a "pizzeria" next door cooking the best pizza in the area and other good restaurants just walking distance away.

Another positive point about the hotel is the friendly staff. The staff at the hotel were all friendly especially Claudio Poma who helped us around on our short trip in the area. Will visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_Clavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

My boyfriend and I had a trip in Italy last September and we couldn't miss the cous cous festival in San Vito, Sicily. We were worried about to find a comfortable hotel there because we were traveling with our lovely poppy, Tuzzy, so after have had a look at and mailed some hotels in that area we choose this one. People at the Hotel Poma are very very kind, they mail us back immediately to let us know that we could take our dog with us and once we were there they gave us a lot of suggests about places and activities we could do around. Room are very comfortable and clean. Modern structure and good breakfast service ever and THEY LOVES DOGS!! ;) Bellisimo!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I went to Hotel Poma just for a few days as i was passing trought to go around sicily. I usually am really picky when it comes to cleanlyness and i have to be really honest maybe because it is new it was breathless: Everything was spotless.
I arrived on friday night and at the reception i was greated with a really warmth welcome and they were absolutely fantastic suggesting places i should see and where to eat to taste the sicialian Cusin.
As a computer geek i am always keen on been up to date with my mails and stuff but as i didn't want to bring weight on my flight (you all know those low cost flight where you have to pay also the air you breath)and as i could rent a notebook and connect to the wireless that is available and easy to access this was one of the main pont i went there.
The room was full of all the conforts and the breakfast was so yummy that i would have eaten all day long if i could. Italian food is alway great and there was a rich variety.
The hotel is situated in a small town just outside Trapani, if you rent a car from Trapani airport you will reach it in less the half an hour.
In the few days i was there the reception helped me to understand how to reach the various locations around the town and we really loved everything.
I must say best experience ever. i wish all my experience were like this one.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Masanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2009

We've just returned from a two-week trip to Sicily during which we were based in the Taormina area but had flown Rynair to Trapani on the opposite side of the island. We'd decided that rather than leave our base at the crack of dawn to undertake the 4-hour drive across Sicily and worrying about possible hold-ups getting to the airport, we'd spend the night before our return flight in the area around Trapani and explore Erice without any time pressures.

The process of finding a suitable hotel was a saga in itself but eventually we settled for the brand new Hotel Poma and figured that if nothing else, being new new it should at least be clean. Smart move - it was sparkling.

We were welcomed warmly at reception, helped immediately with the glitch on our keycard, and flopped into our cool, clean modern and comfortable room. Abundant hot water in our jet-bath (our travelling companions had a slightly bigger room with a power shower), a good size-selection of clean towels, mini bar with prices which aren't over the top, BBC World News (afetr 18 days of no TV/news), a verandah, airconditioning and double glazed windows for sound-proofing ensured a comfortable night.

Breakfast was a continental one, plentiful and well presented with rolls, croissants, yoghurt, cereals, cold meats, cheese, preserves and honey, fruit juice etc.

I wouldn't recommend the hotel for a holiday because it isn't a resort -type hotel, lacking in grounds and gardens and about 10 minutes drive from the coast, but for a business stay or as a stop-over for a day or two before or after a Trapani flight, it's perfect. It's about a 30 km drive from the airport, mostly along the coast, and about 20 minutes from the lower Erice funicular base, so if you are hiring a car it's great. By the way, use the funicular rather than driving up to Erice - it costs about Eu3 and is worth every penny if only for the view never mind the stress of driving, parking and hassling.

We went out for supper the night that we stayed in the hotel as they don't have a fully fledged restaurant. Whether or not establishing one is in their long-term plans, I don't know. Custonaci has a small (and quite pretty) town centre and a bit short on eating places, but Il Cortile (within walking distance) provided an adequate meal in a lovely summer's evening setting (Menu Turistico Eu20 per person). We weren't starving and wanted to have "real" food, so chose main courses from the main menu paying, with wine/beer/water, Eu45 for four of us. We were the only English speaking people there which is always a good sign. If you're prepared to drive then within a 20km radius there are ample eating opportunities and hotel reception staff will make recommendations.

Staying at Hotel Poma allowed us a lazy breakfast, followed by an easy drive down the coast beyond the airport to the salt pans etc. time to have lunch, fill up the hire car before returning it (there's a 24-hour petrol station between the hotel and Trapani), and check-in at a leisurely pace.

The negatives are hardly worth mentioning but should be pointed out. We were on the first floor of the hotel and the view from our room wasn't fantastic, but then we didn't expect much of a view on a main road (which we were completely unaffected by in trerms of noise thanks to the double glazing) in a smallish town in Italy - We were there to sleep, not look at the views. There is only one restaurant (that we could find) within walking distance (there are a couple of places which serve wonderful coffee and ice creams which are out of this world and a pizza place further up the road), but if you're only there one or two nights and using it as a base, how many restaurants do you need? The English of the staff on duty when we arrived wasn't brilliant but my Italian's worse, so that can't be held against them and we muddled along with them being friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful. The only other downer was a lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room (there's coffee available downstairs but I like a cuppa almost as soon as I open my eyes). I had with me sachets of Nescafe with milk & sugar added (criminal in a place which makes such wonderful coffee), so made a day-starter in the tooth mug with really hot tap water and stirred it with the handle of my toothbrush!

Digressing slightly, please be warned that once you have gone through airport security at Trapani airport there is no restaurant/snackbar/bar facility (or certainly wasn't on the Sunday we flew), so either pack yourselves a picnic or eat at the somewhat limited snack bar downstairs beforehand. Once you have gone through security there is a slot machine selling sweets and fizzy drinks but don't be fooled into thinking that once you have gone through passport control there will be somewhere to eat / drink around the corner, because there isn't. Sitting in the holding pen without anything to eat or drink (you can't take water bottles through because of the 100ml security limit) for 2 hours or so with no airconditioning (or perhaps it's so useless that we couldn't feel its presence) is far from fun.

Finding Hotel Poma proved to be a stroke of good fortune. It's comfortable, modern, convenient, the finish is to a high standard and we found it hard to fault for Eu59 a night, per room. The staff are really keen, helpful and responsive. One cannot but wish them luck with their new undertaking - they're trying really hard.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bumbrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Custonaci
1.3 mi away
Villa Zina Park Hotel
Villa Zina Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Custonaci
837 reviews
11.8 mi away
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa
#3 of 16 in Castellammare del Golfo
71 reviews
28.7 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#3 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Baglio Catalano
Hotel Baglio Catalano
#2 of 3 in Custonaci
134 reviews
4.7 mi away
Resort Parco degli Aromi
Resort Parco degli Aromi
#1 of 7 in Valderice
247 reviews
30.0 mi away
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
Mahara Hotel & Wellness
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poma

Address: Via Roma 103, 91015, Custonaci, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Custonaci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Custonaci
Price Range: $70 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poma 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Poma Hotel Custonaci
Hotel Poma Custonaci, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing