We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the nicest hotel we stayed in during our trip”
Review of Hotel Dona Anita

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dona Anita
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Requena
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the nicest hotel we stayed in during our trip”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We only stayed one night, but we totally enjoyed it. The room was lovely decorated, all through the hotel we found nice details; flowers on the wall, built in cupboard for laundry. The owners took a lot of trouble to make the place really nice. We had dinner in front of the fireplace and the chef was willing to serve us, though it was really late and we were the only guests.
Great bed, soft linen, nice pictures, good shower and even a lift. We were totally happy and thought this hotel deserves an extra star if we compare it to other places we stayed in on our trip.
A lot of quality for the modest price! (P.S. we are in the hotel business ourselves)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edamconcerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    69
    20
    5
    6
See reviews for
32
96
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Friendly welcome and oozing character. Book a better room and you get a bit more space - the place is old so they can't do much about the room sizes! Evening meal was very nice, breakfast not so great for the non-meat eaters but they managed to sort us out. Dog friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harryginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay in Requena. The owners were friendly, the room was gorgeous and the food was great. The room was small but very beautiful. Lots of lovely art and a very comfortable bed. It did get hot though and we took a while to figure out the air conditioning. The place has character and charm, it is not like a resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is more a restaurant with rooms than a hotel. Pleasant enough, but the room we had was rather small for the price charged (65 euros). Our breakfast was served to us at the table rather than a help yourself buffet and there was not the choice of food that we enjoyed at other hotels on this trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allucas, Propietario at Hotel Dona Anita, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear sir,

Reading your words I want to add that our hotel is a 2stars place, with completly equipped rooms, hidromasage shower or bath, free wifi, tea set inside room, tv digita, hairdryer on bathroom, air conditioner, general heating... this is not a restaurant with rooms like a guesthouse or popular bed and breakfast... And we think that with all that equipment we have to charge that price.

It is true that our rooms are not too big because we are situated in the old town city center in Requena (Valencia) and it was not possible to take a bigger building, and this is the reason we have only a 2 stars hotel.

Our breakfast contain: Cheese, different stiff, strawberry and peach mermelade, butter, olive oil, fresh tomato, freshly baked bread and croissants, different juices, express coffee... and we preffer serve it in table. Do you think it is not enough?

Anyway, thanks for your opion. It is very important for us to know what do you think.

Ana Carla Cobo del Prado
Propietaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay on the plaza in the old part of Requena. We had a lovely room with two windows which gave us different views of the plaza (room 203). The hotel is nicely furnished and decorated. The meals at the hotel were good and nicely presented. The breakfasts were good as well with cheese, cold meat, croissants and juice.

As other people have stated, the hotel is difficult to find the first time. One of the local residents very kindly got on his bicycle and showed us where the hotel was. Once we had found it the first time we had no problems after that.

We would highly recommend this hotel. We thought at first that parking would be a problem but we either parked next to the hotel or in the plaza. The staff are friendly and helpful.

We did have a problem getting a wi fi signal during our stay and had to resort to the local internet cafe. We tried the wi fi in our room and also in the lobby but with no luck.

Room Tip: room 203 with two different views of the plaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were in Requena the 19th and 20th of July This hotel is familly owned. You are greeted either by the husband who speaks Spanish and French or by his wife who speaks Spanish and English. The hotel is located on the main square of the old 1st century (originally muslim) city on top of a small hill in the middle of Requena.

It's quite hard to find the entrance to the old city since it sits on top of a hill which is partially fortified. We drove around for an hour before we understood the one way streets. However, we did not have a good map. Even after going to the tourist office, we were a bit lost. But once you understand how it works, it's pretty easy.

Driving in the old city requires some skill since the streets are just a bit wider than a car and. As for parking, the hotel offered to move his own truck to give me his spot right in front of the hotel.

We were lucky since Requena hosted an event while we were there called "La routa de Vino" (or something like that!) which litterally means "The road of wines". Basically, at around 8:30PM, all vinyards in the region had little stands where they sold glasses of wine for 1 euro each (which is about half what you would normally pay) and all restaurants and hotels worked together to offer small tapas at the same price. And all this was in front of our hotel! There was very few tourists and mostly locals. We made friends very quickly and partied until 5am!

The staff at Dona Anita gave us incredible and personnal advice on what to do and where to go. They send us to a vinyard called Pago de Tharsys nearby which is one of the only vinyards that makes both wine and cava. They also make hard liquor. We went there without making a reservation, although we were then told we should of made one. The lady at Pago de Thasys gave us a 1 hour tour for 3 euros each which included something like 4 glasses or great wine each! We know we were lucky since this must not be the standard tour. This was during the week. So basically, if you want to visit Requena, stay for two nights and make sure one of them is during the weekend.

When we left the hotel, the owners told us that if we had any problems for the rest of our trip, we could call them for advice.

This hotel is a must during your stay in Requena.

Room Tip: If you want a room with high and angled ceilings, ask for the top floor. Your window will be small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathieu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Requena
3.7 mi away
Hotel 1900 Casa Anita
Hotel 1900 Casa Anita
#3 of 10 in Requena
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel la Villa
Hotel la Villa
#5 of 10 in Requena
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avenida Hotel
Avenida Hotel
#2 of 10 in Requena
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario de Cofrentes
20.3 mi away
Hotel Jalance
Hotel Jalance
#1 of 1 in Jalance
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
AS Hotels Torrent
AS Hotels Torrent
#1 of 1 in Torrent
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dona Anita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dona Anita

Property: Hotel Dona Anita
Address: Plaza Albornoz 15, 46340, Requena, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Valencia > Requena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Requena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dona Anita 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently built hotel integrated in the historical centre of REQUENA, rooms with Jacuzzi, TV, broadband, heating. Charming Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dona Anita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing