We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Starnight

Starnight
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Starnight
Ranked #3 of 4 Waimate B&B and Inns
vancouver
1 review
“Heaven!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I have traveled extensively and have never stayed in such a beautiful bed and breakfast. It is an amazing location with incredible views and the B&B is wonderfully decorated. Reto and Sari are fantastic hosts, such lovely people who share their home with you. I had a wonderful time, I only wish I could have stayed longer in their beautiful eco-friendly B&B. When I come back to NZ I will definitely be staying here again. I would recommend this place to everybody, it is paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a very short but very sweet stay at Starnight B&B. It is a lovely clean, eco friendly B&B with wonderful hosts and an amazing setting. The food and company were fantastic and we will surely be back! We arrived in the dark and left in the dark but our one night stay was very memorable and Sari and Reto so inviting and interesting. Well done guys, see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7474Joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

At the end of nowhere you will find a little paradise. Lovely place with great animal lovers, who share their wine with their guests. We talked a lot and enjoyed our short stay! If we ever come to New Zealand again we will for sure come back to Sari and Reto to stay in their beautiful 'creative' house, hopefully a little longer!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and I am sure if the second one is not occupied they will let you choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had the most beauitful time with Sari & Reto with the most relaxed and inviting atmosphere from the time of arrivial to departure, breakfast and coffee to die for with great company and conversation. the views are tranquil surrounded by bush and waking up to the song of the bell birds is pure bliss. We are definatly planning another night back just as a getaway perfect way to relax and get some perspective.

Thanks Sari & Reto for being great hosts :)

Room Tip: Either or both beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent two weeks touring around the South Island and considered this to be one of the best B&B's we stayed in - we originally booked one night stay but returned for another.

This custom built house overlooks the sea and surrounding farm land. The only detraction from this beautiful view is the meal cooked up by Sari and Reto - wonderful.

We could not recommend it more.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheviot, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I had the most beautiful and relaxing experience at Starnight B & B. The interior is furnished so wonderfully and all the wood and massive windows really make you feel like you are so close to the incredible nature of New Zealand. Upon arrival, Sari & Reto were so welcoming and relaxed. They made little delicious coffees for us... followed by an outstanding dinner... and dessert... and breakfast! As a vegetarian, Reto was more than happy to accommodate me. Most of the food they used was locally sourced, (herbs, nuts, fish.. etc) ... which is pretty fantastic. We also had the opportunity to use the Finnish Style Sauna which put me into the most relaxed night of sleep I have had in a while! Even though it rained the whole time we stayed at Starnight, it was actually the perfect cozy little place to stay. I would highly recommend Starnight to anyone who wants to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere, a good conversation, delicious meal, and/or the opportunity to look out the window at beautiful Waimate.... or read any of the books they have... or check out any of the great art on the walls. Thanks so much guys, I hope to see again soon. :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good, as they look out towards the green hills, and the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604TUNDRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Sari and Reto have created a lovely B&B in foothills of Waimate Hunter range. The house is a spectacular loft style conversion with all the elements needed for a luxury stay - including keeping all the natural elements in view from large picture windows looking out over the landscape all the way to the distance sea. Bedroom has lovely touches to make you welcome with unique art, made perfect with spectacularly comfortable super-king size bed with the same spectacular vistas. Nice touch with home made chocolates to sample, and try your hand at being a barista with cafe-style coffee maker. Reto knocks up a great breakfast, and with Sari will keep the conversation going in friendly manner.

Tips:
Follow the sign directions carefully to Guns Bush, then go 100m further along road. Otherwise can easily miss a junction and end up going in circles!
Take a walk around Guns Bush. Magical gem of NZ countryside. Has some slight climbs, not to worry too much about. Boots not needed.
Explore Waimate town for some typical NZ quirks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waimate hotels
18.9 mi away
Glenavys Waitaki River Motor Camp
3.0 mi away
Kelceys Bush Farmyard Holiday Park
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Waimate Criterion Hotel
#5 of 6 in Waimate
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starnight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starnight

Property: Starnight
Address: 365 Upper Hook Road, Waimate 7978, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Waimate
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waimate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starnight - a four star lodge situated conveniently halfway between Christchurch and Queenstown. Nestled in the Hunter Hills adjacent to the Gunns Bush nature reserve, with a huge diversity of bird species, lies 5 hectares of pristine New Zealand Bush, this is our very own Starnight Nature Reserve. The elegant Starnight accommodation awaits discovery by the discerning traveller. Unrivalled wallaby viewing is complemented by exquisite accommodation and sublime breakfast. Our Lodge boasts 2 stylish rooms, all with extensive balcony areas. Sweeping vistas can be enjoyed over the rural and southern ocean. Superb attention to detail and highly personalised service make for a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing