We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place”
Review of Blue Rooster Cafe and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Rooster Cafe and Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant place”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had lunch here and found a good choice of dishes available at reasonable prices. The food was well presented and was much as we expected. However the glasses on the table had finger marks on them and one set of cutlery had dry food on it. The ladies toilet was well below par in regards to cleanliness and mould was very prominent. The local college pupils seem to take over at lunchtime which can be frustrating to diners waiting to be served. The local tramps did nothing for the atmosphere either! Has the makings of a good restaurant but needs an uplift before its too late.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philygumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food inedible at times”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went here for a work lunch and was really disappointed as have had good meals here in the past. My meal had me searching for the promised salmon, and two others who had the fish &chips couldn't eat half of the fish as it was dry and overlooked ( one person couldn't even get her fork into large portions of it). They thought their chips didn't taste too bad - pity they were cold when they arrived.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not getting any better”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

$17 for cold poached eggs that took an age to come . Coffee average but drank it all before eggs arrived .
Staff member had dirty nails and cafe had nil atmosphere . Thought I would return to see if things had improved but no . Such a shame could be soooo much better

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alimac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ventured inside on a cold evening when it really looked closed from the outside. It was also rather dim inside. However the quality of the food was worth the visit. I had lamb shank, my friend had chicken. It took rather a long time for the orders to arrive but the food was faultless. Each meal with coffee was about $25, well worth the price. The lamb was very tender and tasty and the side vegetables crunchy with a delicious cheese sauce. The biggest problem is the lighting. Only a few other diners had realised the restaurant was open. Such a shame. We will return

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“All Day Breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Reasonable value for money for a brunch. 4 of us eating $93 for 2 all day breakfasts, omlette, nachos, 2 desserts and 2 coffees. All Day Breakfast was nicely presented, appeared to be local sausages (x2) - very little fat and very tasty, 2 nicely poached eggs on top of quality bread, plenty of bacon, 1/2 tomato, 1 large mushroom and 2 hash browns, that were rather disappointing - standard issue. We were definitely filled up and I didn't need to eat for the rest of the day. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwilanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Rooster Cafe and Bar also viewed

Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
Rangiora, Canterbury Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing