We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience - food, fun and relaxation! =)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Rangiora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We arrived at Pete's farmstay on the 13th of February 2011. There were two other families here as well, so it was a rather big group, but the more the merrier i guess =). Upon our arrival, we were greeted by Pete and Gaye. They were very friendly and we felt at home at once. The farm tour was conducted by Pete after that. We got to see many animals, alpacas included. There was also a sheep shearing demonstration. The animals here were extremely friendly. The sheep would practically run towards you once you step onto the paddock. =)
The house itself, I can only say one thing - WHOA! Complete with its own fireplace, lavish bedrooms and picturesque scenary, the house is a dream home anyone would love to own. Dinner was just AMAZING. The homemade crossaints, CHOCOLATE CAKE and LEMON AND LIME CHEESECAKE were to die for! The beef, lamb chops and chicken kebabs were really nice as well. Breakfast the next morning was good as well, with homemade muffins and pastries. =)
All in all, Pete and Gaye were amazing hosts. They made us feel at home instantly and helped us a lot with the directions as we were leaving as well. It was a truly unforgettable experience and I would definitely come back if given the chance. =)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 118 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2011

Pete and Gaye ar great host!!! There was so much food prepared and it was so good that we finish all despite we were full. Love the desert too. We book the room with ensuite (with bathrooms) and we later found out that it was acutally the host room. We felt very bad that they have to give up their rooms for us. The room is great and toilet is clean. Thanks for giving up your room to us. There are lots of TV channel to watch with movies and news so that you will never get bored. But if I were you, spend more time around the farm to look at those cute sheeps.
There is totally nothing we think of thatweI dislike... the place is totally great.We will be back...

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peapea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with Pete and Gaye and it was very relaxing. Their new house with lots of space in- and outside is yours too. Its a real rural place not far from Christchurh where you have the oppurtunity to see the sheepdog working and watch sheepshearing or even try it yourself!! Great place to go with kids too because they have sheeps and lams who won't walk away and the kids may feed them!! Great place to start or finish your holiday.
Thanks Peter and Gaye!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepdog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Leave any preconception you have of a farm at the door and don't let the pictures on the website fool you... the rooms are more plush, more luxurious then you will ever expect from a farm... we were wondering if we stepped into a hyatt or hilton by mistake. It is THAT grand.

Pete and Gaye are wonderful hosts. They will patiently entertain any queries, farm-related or otherwise, that you may have.

Very family-freindly place, though we went there for our honeymoon, the other guests were families with children and they absolutely adored the animals. Pete and his sheepdog, Danny will entertain you no-end with the lamb feeding, sheep herding, and even shearing!

If you are looking for that quintessential farmstay experience without sacrificing your creature comforts (pardon the pun), definitely give this place a try.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Great welcome, lovely farm location, beautiful home. Very comfortable bedroom and luxurious bathroom. Well positioned for visiting the area. Not difficult to find.

Our hosts could not have been nicer. Super breakfasts!
Great fun seeing sheep shearing and seeing the lambs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mavisdawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed here for one night out of our 10 nights recently. It was one of the most memorable experience in New Zealand. Our kids love to feed and play with the sheep. Even adults love to feed the sheep. Apart from over 200 sheep there are also some cattle and Alpacas. Pete & Gaye are really nice couple and their home are excellent place to relax after the long trip!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isra2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

I totally agree with previous reviews! We stayed 3 nights at Pete & Gaye's farm and were sorry to have to leave. We shared their family home and they made us feel like part of the family, yet it has the quality of a first class hotel. Beautiful. The ample homecooked food they provided, both breakfasts and dinner, were exquisite. What a lovely couple Pete & Gaye are too, so down to earth, happy to chat and full of useful info and tips on places to see. This was the highlight of our 24 day trip. I can't praise it enough. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheHouseCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangiora
8.2 mi away
Silverstream Alpaca Farmstay
4.4 mi away
Lilybrook Motel
Lilybrook Motel
#3 of 3 in Rangiora
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Riverstone Motel
Riverstone Motel
#1 of 3 in Rangiora
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Seatonwood Villas
Seatonwood Villas
#3 of 4 in Rangiora
8 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rangiora Lodge Motel
Rangiora Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Rangiora
36 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rangiora Holiday Park
Rangiora Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Rangiora
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pete's Farm Stay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pete's Farm Stay B&B

Address: 45 Mairaki Road, Rangiora 7471, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rangiora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rangiora
Price Range: $136 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pete's Farm Stay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petes Farm Stay is 25 minutes from Christchurch city and airport. Watch Pete shear a sheep up close and round up the sheep with his working sheep dog. Relax after a day sightseeing and enjoy the panoramic views from all the rooms in our new house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pete's Farm Stay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pete`s Farm Stay Bed And Breakfast
Pete`s Farm Stay Hotel Rangiora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing