We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to End our New Zeland Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Rangiora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisa, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Way to End our New Zeland Trip”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Pete and Gaye were so friendly in welcoming our group into their home. It felt like being at home with family yet they gave us our privacey. Great food and plenty of it, enjoyed a fabulous dinner and breakfast. We enjoyed seeing all of the animals on the farm. Very comfortable beds and everything was very neat and tidy. I would highly recommend Pete's Farm on your tour of New Zeland. It's great to get to know the locals and what better way than spending some time with them. New Zeland is a fabulous and beautiful country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmnteddyLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
67
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to find this elegant, beautiful country home for our last night on the road in New Zealand. Pete and Gaye were gracious and welcoming. The food tasty and plentiful. The beds ... yummy! Pete proudly showed us around the farm, introducing us to the sheep and alpaca. Highly recommend Pete's (and Gaye's) Farm for a quiet break from 'the usual'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jzjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hi
Pete and I are happy you enjoyed yourself here. It was a real pleasure to meet you both and we hope you get the time to come back to NZ soon and we can catch up again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pete and Gaye are wonderful, gracious hosts and run an outstanding B&B. We stayed in the cottage because they had their grandchildren staying overnight with them. It was wonderful, clean, quiet and just what we needed to help recover from jetlag. Gaye's salmon dinner was excellent and we enjoyed eating with them and Gaye's mother while their darling grandchildren played nearby. Pete's tour of the farm was also excellent as we put on our "gum boots" to tramp around. We bottle fed two sheep and fed bread to others. We got to see the sheep dogs round up the sheep and Pete shear one of the sheep. We also enjoyed the alpacas and just learning about a farm in New Zealand. We would highly recommend this farm stay to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Great farm stay, terrific amenities, immaculate room and bathroom. Pete and Gaye made us very welcome, the sheep shearing was the trip highlight for our 12 year old daughter. The delicious salmon meal that Gaye prepared was our trip highlight. Only 30 minutes out of Christchurch. Highly recommend this farm stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downunder1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It was great to meet you. Glad you enjoyed the experience on the farm and you enjoyed the salmon. Hope to catch up with you soon. thanks Pete and Gaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent one night at Pete's Farm in January 2013 and had a lovely time. Pete and Gaye provided clean and comfortable rooms in their lovely house and made us all feel at home. Gaye and Pete cooked us a lovely dinner the evening we arrived and an equally tasty breakfast the next morning. The farm tour and meeting the sheep and alpaca's was great fun. None of us had ever had the opportunity to try shearing a sheep, and luckily for us, Pete let us all have a go at it. It's a bit harder than expert sheep shearer Pete made it look, but it was still a great experience. I would highly recommend giving Pete's Farm Stay a try!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRiegelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Pete's Farm in Dec 12 (4 & 10 Dec 12) & we simply love the place especially the kids.

We had the cottage as there are 6 of us & the place was very well equipped & kept very clean. The kids had a great time playing on the trampoline & feeding the baby sheep. The sheep sheering by Pete was also an opener for us. The sheep & alpacas were very adorable. We also witness how the sheep were herded by the 2 sheep dogs.

Thanks Pete & Gaye for your warm hospitality!

Room Tip: For family with kids, it is better to get the cottage for more privacy & also that the kids will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis_Chiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Amazing stay! Pete settled us well in our room and showed us our personal bathroom that's along the hallway. He demonstrated the sheep shearing and explained the business to us. He also engaged us in the demonstration process too. Breakfast was provided, so we helped ourselves with some bread and cereals.

Clean, neat and cosy place! Very friendly hosts too!

Room Tip: There's a cottage for people who prefers more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueblue0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangiora
17.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rangiora Lodge Motel
Rangiora Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Rangiora
33 reviews
18.0 mi away
Karetu Downs Farmstay
Karetu Downs Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Hawarden
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Silverstream Alpaca Farmstay
4.7 mi away
Riverstone Motel
Riverstone Motel
#1 of 3 in Rangiora
74 reviews
16.4 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 134 in Christchurch
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pete's Farm Stay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pete's Farm Stay B&B

Property: Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Address: 45 Mairaki Road, Rangiora 7471, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rangiora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rangiora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pete's Farm Stay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petes Farm Stay is 25 minutes from Christchurch city and airport. Watch Pete shear a sheep up close and round up the sheep with his working sheep dog. Relax after a day sightseeing and enjoy the panoramic views from all the rooms in our new house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pete's Farm Stay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pete`s Farm Stay Hotel Rangiora
Pete`s Farm Stay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing