We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheep shearing 101 up close...a true NZ farm experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Rangiora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed several farm stays in NZ but Pete was the only one who showed us the shearing business. He had her dressed down in seconds. Pete is a pro. I liked the details he gave us on the process and the marketing, as well as the demonstration. The sheep are comical as they calmly await the treatment. They put up no fuss. Of course the babies are born in springtime if one wants to bottle feed them...baaah! (June is the winter onset) but it was a treat to see the dog stare down the sheep and herd them without so much as a yip.

The separate cottage is very private and the full kitchen has coffee, a coffee maker, and some condiments available. There is a washing machine as well. The new shower enclosure is very appealing. They have some lovely lavender soap of their own, nice and unique. The shampoo and conditioner were good quality. The WC is in a separate space of its own. The two bedrooms are extra spacious.. The beds are comfy and have electric heaters on the mattress pads, good for chilly evenings. There is plenty of heat for the space as well. The living space has plenty of playroom plus a big box of toys for the youngsters and there is an enclosed playground within the adjacent paddock.

Pete and Gaye are very kind and friendly. They were very understanding of travel with small children. Continental breakfast and conversation were very enjoyable. One can purchase hand made woolen knitwear from their compact shop on the property. We missed Pete's bbq dinner, but did manage to find some tasty Indian food downtown to bring back.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The cottage is the way to go with children! Plenty of space for them to stretch their legs and play.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Pete and I are really happy you had an enjoyable time while staying with us. We try very hard to make it a very enjoyable place to come while on holiday. Hope we get to meet again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Pete's Farm Stay B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 137 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Although we found the place with a bit of a dificulty; it was all worth it. Peter and Gaye are very warm hosts and take care of thier guests in all respects. This is an actual working farm and one can spend an easy 2-3 days just relaxing out in the sun, running around sheep or whatever your choice to do nothing.

Room Tip: Choose the cottage if its available.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visualiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Warm hospitality. Nice place at all. I love this family and farm. Thank you for my wonderful time in NZ.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Pete and his family were welcoming, friendly, and accomidating. The house we stayed in was very clean, spacious, and well kept. (Even my mom who prefers Marriott style hotels was impressed and happy!) The breakfast and farm tour were a highlight. The sheep sheering and sheep dog demonstration were neat and a New Zealand MUST! Pete and his family are very friendly and social. It was great to meet them and share stories. I couldn't recommend this farm stay enough!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank race_ipsa_l0quitur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The house we stayed in, separate from the main house gives us privacy n comfort .there is also wireless, cable tv, electric blankets in all of the beds n a big box of toys for the wee one. The design is child friendly, spacious n so cosy we forgot that this is a farm. Gayle makes wonderful blueberry muffins n gave us directions to the local farmer's market where we picked up apples to bring home! Peter also gave us a delightful farm tour!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petercat1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Pete and Gaye both welcomed us to their home and provided us with information about New Zealand in general and the Rangiora area in particular. Pete gives a farm tour which would be especially interesting to "city folk" and children alike. The farm is located a short drive from Rangiora; the yard has pretty gardens and interesting animals in residence.
It was like staying in the spare bedroom at a friend's house. The bed was comfortable, but there was no lock on the door, something that always concerns me. When I booked the room, I asked if the room had an ensuite, and my confirmation clearly stated that it did. However, the bathroom (tub, shower and sink) was down the hall in one direction, and the toilet and another sink were in a room down the hall in the opposite direction. Although we were the only guests using these rooms, it didn't feel very private because they were both off the main hallway and close to the family areas of the house.
Pete set out a continental breakfast for us that included warm pastries, juice, cereal, yogurt, toast, preserves, and coffee. We helped ourselves and sat in the sun-filled kitchen chatting with our host.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marigoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank-you for your review. Pete and I are sorry you felt unsafe in our home without a lock on your door.But this is our home, and we have put locks on the bathroom and toilet doors.
In regard to the ensuite, you booked the room on our online booking service which was the bedroom you received. We would never put a guest in a private bathroom when they have emailed me personally requesting the ensuite bedroom.
regards Gaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Well It must be said I found this on spec and what a find. An amazingly mix of beauty and quietness and I never wanted to leave. The sky at night is fantastic and you have an incredible feeling of tranquility.

The cottage was perfect for us and had everything you wanted including internet (a little slow for business but good for normal stuff) and a fully equipped kitchen. To sit on the sofa of an evening and look at the sunset whilst drinking fine Pinot will stay in the memory for a while.

Finally the hosts, nothing was too much for Gaye and when I was not well within minutes she had me to the Doctors. Her blueberry muffins are delightful as are her croissants!! Home made jams and preserves and good old fashioned friendly Kiwi service that bests anything in Australia hands down.

Can't recommend this place highly enough if its peace and quiet you want whilst visiting Christchurch.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage as it's very private. One room is a double and the other a twin.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian68London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Hi Ian and Lynnette
Thanks for a great review. It was great to meet you both . Hope you enjoyed your time in the Nth Island and that we get to see you both again very soon so you can relax and enjoy some more wine etc.
regards GAYE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangiora
17.1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rangiora Lodge Motel
Rangiora Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Rangiora
33 reviews
8.2 mi away
Silverstream Alpaca Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#2 of 135 in Christchurch
648 reviews
18.0 mi away
Karetu Downs Farmstay
Karetu Downs Farmstay
#1 of 1 in Hawarden
33 reviews
4.7 mi away
Riverstone Motel
Riverstone Motel
#1 of 3 in Rangiora
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pete's Farm Stay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pete's Farm Stay B&B

Address: 45 Mairaki Road, Rangiora 7471, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rangiora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rangiora
Price Range: $135 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pete's Farm Stay B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petes Farm Stay is 25 minutes from Christchurch city and airport. Watch Pete shear a sheep up close and round up the sheep with his working sheep dog. Relax after a day sightseeing and enjoy the panoramic views from all the rooms in our new house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pete's Farm Stay B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pete`s Farm Stay Hotel Rangiora
Pete`s Farm Stay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing