We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Nearby Hotels
Riverstone Motel(Rangiora)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lilybrook Motel(Rangiora)
$60
$53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rangiora Lodge Motel(Rangiora)(Great Value!)
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kaiapoi on Williams Motel(Kaiapoi)(Great Value!)
$99
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
The Log Cottage(Rangiora)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
117
22
5
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
22
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheep shearingbedroom cottagenew zealandtour of the propertythe main housefamily stayingfeed the lambswarm hospitalityan extended staythe breakfast areahomemade muffinsaccommodating hostspeaceful locationsouth islandlovely coupleexcellent stayrelaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 145 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Well It must be said I found this on spec and what a find. An amazingly mix of beauty and quietness and I never wanted to leave. The sky at night is fantastic and you have an incredible feeling of tranquility.

The cottage was perfect for us and had everything you wanted including internet (a little slow for business but good for normal stuff) and a fully equipped kitchen. To sit on the sofa of an evening and look at the sunset whilst drinking fine Pinot will stay in the memory for a while.

Finally the hosts, nothing was too much for Gaye and when I was not well within minutes she had me to the Doctors. Her blueberry muffins are delightful as are her croissants!! Home made jams and preserves and good old fashioned friendly Kiwi service that bests anything in Australia hands down.

Can't recommend this place highly enough if its peace and quiet you want whilst visiting Christchurch.

Room Tip: Stay in the cottage as it's very private. One room is a double and the other a twin.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian68London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaysuz, Owner at Pete's Farm Stay B&B, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Hi Ian and Lynnette
Thanks for a great review. It was great to meet you both . Hope you enjoyed your time in the Nth Island and that we get to see you both again very soon so you can relax and enjoy some more wine etc.
regards GAYE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful overnight stay here--definitely a highlight of our 2 week, cross-country road trip.

Shared family accommodation worried me at first because privacy is important to us. I was afraid that we would be the only couple staying on the farm among families with kids, but this was not the case. In fact, there were two other couples, both on their honeymoons. It's important to know that this farm stay is very comfortable for families AND couples traveling without children.

We shared the main house bathroom with one other couple but our schedules were different so that was never an issue--it felt like our own.

Pete and Gaye made us a delicious home style buffet dinner and we all ate together and then Pete took us on the farm tour where we fed his sheep and watched his dogs herd before a sheering presentation. Gaye was very knowledgable about the South island and had great suggestions for other attractions to see after our stay.

It was summertime when we visited, but still chilly while walking around the farm in the evening, so pack a jacket! Sleeping in a real home on a farm in New Zealand is quite a fun and unique experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is a private cottage separate from the house. Other rooms are in the main house with shared bathrooms.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel Maya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

It was a pity we only had 1 night before flying off the next day. My family stayed in the cottage. It had all the amenities that you can think of. What irked me when I stayed at other acommodations was that, some supplied soap but not shampoo, some would provide can opener but some don't. We had everything that we needed at this cottage. Room smelt freshened upon our arrival, bathroom slippers provided, the chilled orange juice, were simply gestures of thoughtfulness by owners. Pete & Gaye were friendly & they ensured we had a comfortable stay throughout. I usually don't take muffins but Gaye's ones were excellent! A true kiwi quality accommodation!

Room Tip: cottage if you are travelling as a family. Playground is just in front & you can keep an eye on kids from kitchen.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sg1traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

A dedicated B&B home. Nice rooms and set up.

Pete and Gaye are great hosts, warm, friendly and helpful. They've been doing it a while and know what they are doing.

Farm had sheep and alpacas.

Breakfast was really good with options.

Good for a single night stay. Cheapest room at $160 gets you a separate bedroom but the bathroom is separate down the hall, depending on occupancy rates you might get the bathroom to yourselves (like we did).

Pete takes you around the farm, gets the dog to round up the sheep and takes you to the shearing shed for a demonstration of shearing the sheep. Really well done.

Room Tip: Pay for a separate cottage if you want absolute privacy at night
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed 1 nite at Pete farmstay... Tks to Peter and Gaye..
Arrived at about 4.30pm, given a 1 hour farm tour by Peter, shown us his sheeps and
alpecas and his 2 dogs, Mike and Blue.. Sheep Sheering by Peter..
All of us enjoyed it..
Too bad there are only these few animals, was expecting to see cows and horses etc...
Peter and Gaye are very friendly and helpful..
The House was nice and cosy... better than a 5 star hotel with jacuzzi bath, nice bath soap, shampoo n conditional... nice towels nice bed nice everything.. fully equipped kitchen.. more of a hotel than a farm...
Breakfast was provided... with self baked muffins, fruits, juices.. etc.. delicious...
We cooked our own dinner there, Gaye even joined us for the dinner.... :)
Tks for everything..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews