We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant home base when you're working in the area”
Review of Riverstone Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverstone Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rangiora
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
351 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pleasant home base when you're working in the area”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've just returned for a second visit and used this Motel as my 'home' for the week. It's relatively new and the units are comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well-resourced for those wanting to prepare their own meals. With winter rapidly approaching, it was easy to stay warm and cosy. The owners are welcoming and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road, which is busy. It will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
23
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nicely decorated rooms. Large rooms have room for two casual chairs and a small coffee table. Good desk for computer work, however there is no desk lamp in the room to be able to use when working on the computer. Great location. Comfortable bed with electric blankets. Very clean. Friendly owners. Good parking. Quiet location even through it is located on the main road into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

A great motel -tasteful decor, well equipped,cleanliness beyond reproach, comfortable bed, warm, quiet rooms, helpful Hosts and even a lovely friendly cat showed us to our room where he/she made itself comfortable while we settled in!
All in all you won't find a better spot to stay in Rangiora.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed at Riverstone Motel twice now and would do so again. Lovely modern clean units for a very reasonable price with friendly hosts. Great central location, only 20 minutes or so on the motorway and you are in Christchurch City, or 30 minutes and you are in Oxford and Seagers Cafe. A great place to base yourself whilst in Canterbury.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmichelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was my second stay at Riverstone. The room are spacious and clean and the price very reasonable. I booked through a booking website but was told that it would have been cheaper the book direct.

The owners/managers are very friendly and offer great service.

The only negative is that the Speights Ale House that used to be located next door has closed and has been replaced by a "Chinese" Restaurant. I am a great fan of good Chinese food. I did not experience any on my visit. But after a six hour drive, and with McDonalds the only other nearby option I guess it was OK. At least it was cheap!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucky111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Only here 1 night but made to feel welcome. Friendly service. Room was clean and plenty of room to move around. Probably not an easy to walk into Rangiora for dinner but there is a very nice Chinese restaurant next door.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Riverstone - a multi-room booking each time. The cleanliness, furnishing and equipping of the rooms is first class, and the staff always helpful. There are plenty of good restaurants and cafes in the town, and we enjoyed delicious Thai food in our room from one of them. We'll come again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rangiora
12.2 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Rangiora Lodge Motel
Rangiora Lodge Motel
#2 of 3 in Rangiora
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lilybrook Motel
Lilybrook Motel
#3 of 3 in Rangiora
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Pegasus Gateway Motel
Pegasus Gateway Motel
#1 of 1 in Woodend
39 reviews
8.6 mi away
Peppers Clearwater Resort
Peppers Clearwater Resort
#17 of 144 in Christchurch
616 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
Pete's Farm Stay B&B
#1 of 4 in Rangiora
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverstone Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverstone Motel

Property: Riverstone Motel
Address: 18 Southbrook Road, Rangiora 7400, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Rangiora
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rangiora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riverstone Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riverstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing