We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look”

Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Designed to educate and entertain, the centre features a spectacular state-of-the-art 3D movie, New Zealand's first full dome digital Planetarium and Museum which documents the pioneering heart of the region and features the impressive Hillary Gallery. The cafe and bar area offers indoor and outdoor seating and floor to ceiling mountain views.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a look”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A great exhibition on Sir Edmund Hillary, with a good balance of detail, information and pictures. Nice cafe too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    170
    74
    27
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
186 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were staying at Lake Tekapo and decided to travel here for a day trip. What a wonderful road trip, the scenery was unbelievable. Good information centre and gift shop.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank madasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a browse”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Well worth a good look around. The centre covers the history of the Hermitage as well as information on Hillary and his exploits. The 3D movie about Mt Cook is also well worth the 20 minutes or so that it runs for.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sfdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The movies are good.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

The movies shown are quite good, the best being (in my opinion) Primeval New Zealand. I got the 24 hour movie pass, and was quite disappointed to see that it had been stamped with 1:00 PM, hours before I had even arrived. This meant that even though I had PAID for a TWENTY-FOUR hour pass, I received less than that. Which is very... Unacceptable. Anyway, the movies were good, although I think that it is very poor that the seats did not recline when one was viewing the planetarium (certainly not suitable for someone with an injured back). It's good to have something to do inside when the weather is bad. The food at the café upstairs is quite good, and ok value for money. The views out the windows were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great to have things to do on wet days”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were glad this was there as the weather was really bad (heavy rain and gale force winds). We watched 4 movies which were short but interesting, my favourites being the Mount Cook and Primeval New Zealand ones. The one we wanted to see, Black Holes, was only shown twice, at 8:00 am (too early for us) and 1:30 pm (we were booked on Glacier Explorers then), while the Mount Cook one screened 8 times. Our movie passes were stamped to start at 1:00 pm, which was before we even arrived or would have been allowed to check in.
The museum was interesting and there is a good cafe upstairs with reasonably priced food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing