We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$127
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hermitage Hotel(Mt. Cook Village)
$183
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$95
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$62
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$90
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
$84
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Motel(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$85
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
152
173
62
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
173
62
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchencommon roommount cookfront facinglounge areafirst floorrooms are smallbunk bedsgreat viewhooker valleyvisitor centerbig windowsroom windowfood suppliesfamily roomshort walkmountain view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 396 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Situated next to the Visitor Centre and close to the famous Hermitage Hotel. Rooms have about the same view but at a much lower price - but still expensive as we paid $189. Advantage is that the hotel has a huge lounge and modern, clean and well-equipped kitchen. If you're staying here try and bring your own breakfast and lunch (at least) as all options in Mt Cook village are expensive. Unlike some other reviewers we didn't have any problem with noise from other rooms and slept well in a comfortable bed. Views from the lounge and the rooms at the front are fantastic.
Biggest complaint is that they charge for the internet even with your own laptop - at the inflated room price wireless internet should be free.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmr1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed at the Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge for 2 nights. In comparison with other places we stayed at in New Zealand we found it expensive considering the standard offered. But I guess this comes from the limited options available so close to Mount Cook. Our room (facing backwards) was small and basic (soft bed, no wardrobe, thin walls, 2 chairs and table looking like garden furniture). BUT: The lounge facing Mount Cook is a real highlight! You can store and cook your own food and enjoy a glass of wine watching the sunset over Mount Cook. Very nice!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_enthusiast_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Mt. Cook is an expensive place to stay, but for a room to the back and the size of a towel it's still rather poor value. The good thing about the place are the views from the lounge.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyDelaney, Owner at Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2011

Hello Terbang,

Thank you for the feedback.

Unfortunately Mount Cook is a comparitively expensive place to stay, being in a National Park managed by the Department of Conservation the operating costs are higher than those say in Twizel or Lake Tekapo but we think the location makes the added expense worthwhile as both are approximately one hour away. Approximately 15 percent of our room rate is directly attributable to our location and fee's to the Department of Conservation. The room rate also includes 15% Goods and Services Tax so as you can see this is almost one third of the rate.

The rear facing room is smaller than the others and we are making changes to our website to make things clearer. Often people go for the cheaper rate without realising the difference in the rooms.

I am unsure about your towel, ours are the same size as most hotels in New Zealand.

Kind regards
Tony Delaney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I loved this hotel for quite a few reasons. Firstly, we arrived here really late beacuse we drove down all the way from Christchurch and stopped at Lake Tekapo on our way over. We still found our key left at the reception for us. The room was small yet very cosy and comfortable.

Secondly, the view was just phenomenal. We could see the snow capped mountains towering above right in front of us. It was a view to die for! Also, The Hermitage was just a 5-minute walk away and we strolled over to book our activities for the next day.

Thirdly, I loved the huge communal kitchen. There was so much crocklery and cutlery and such ample space that it was very comfortable. We cooked both our dinner and the next day's breakfast there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krishti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised with how nice the lodgings were here! We had a double bed, bunk bed, flat screen TV, bathroom, etc., and there was also a common room with a huge kitchen and lounge for cooking and eating. It had all of the conveniences of a hostel with all of the cleanliness and niceness of a hotel. It was also a perfect location for hiking or exploring Mt. Cook Village. The lounge area had an amazing view of Mt. Cook.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doubletkris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews