We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2010

This lodge is located right next door to the Hermitage. Great place to stay for the value. Easy access to trails and can dine either at Hermitage and/or Old Mountaineer Cafe - both great options. Shared kitchen in the common room is convenient. Rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. Great views of Mt Cook from all rooms! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 363 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2010

The room was tight and the wall thin (I don't want to hear intimate details of my neighbors' relationship), but the view was fantastic. I sat on the 2nd floor deck in the evening and the morning. The kitchen/dining area did get crowded during dinner time. Because I just was washing some fruit to go with sandwiches I brought, I don't know if those cooking complete meals scheduled cooking times.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2010

We got booked the bottom room (no 7) which looks out onto Mount Cook…What a view!! The room was great for a couple, apart from the bed being too soft for me with a bad back – which means I didn’t sleep too well.

The big, warm communal room, with an amazing view of Mt Cook, has excellent cooking facilities and room in the fridge for your own food. Although we had a small fridge in our room too. It is very much like a super clean and big backpackers kitchen and dining room with great tables and chairs and couches to relax and soak up more of the view and feast away on your own cooked dinner. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Of all the places we stayed in the South Island, Alpine Lodge was the smallest, least fully equipped and the most expensive.We gasped when we entered the small (family) room on the 2nd floor which 4 of us were going to live in for the next 2 days. Laden with big luggage bags and groceries galore, we were worried about the tight squeeze and having to share space in the common kitchen. There were only 2 small common fridges, so we could only put in some of our dairy stuff and kept the rest of our groceries in the room. Fortunately, the kitchen had enough space for all the residents who wanted to cook , albeit at staggered times and the adjoining lounge was nice to relax in on a rainy day. We didn't regret our stay at Alpine Lodge as we enjoyed the walks around and anyway, the main hotel - the Hermitage would have been far pricier.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingdaisy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

This was a brillant place to stay. The public lounge area and kitchens so welcoming with wonderful views of the mountains. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and good value. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzp0ppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Waking to a view of the sun rising over the snow capped Mount Cook ranges, while still warmly tucked in bed. It is like starring at a post card outside your window, except it's real!

Tony was an excellent host and provides a fantastic, personalised service. Thank you for making our time at Mount Cook memorable and we will definitely be back at the lodge in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheresmytoastman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

The best thing about staying here is definitely the view. The accommodation itself is really basic with small rooms (as it looks on the website) and no facilities in your room to make drinks, as there is a shared kitchen and lounge upstairs. The lounge does have a great view and was nice to relax in (until someone else turned the TV on to watch gameshows!) We were a bit disappointed with the lack of choice for places to eat in the area and so it was useful to be able to make something to eat yourself. The staff on reception were helpful and friendly and it was a nice place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,996 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,214 reviews
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#6 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: $123 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing