We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lodge”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our room on the first floor had a perfect little kitchenette. King size bed and small deck of the sliding glass doors. Appreciated the conservation efforts of management. Room was clean, comfortable. Good linens, and adequate limited wi-fi were perfect. Views from all the rooms were stupendous. Love that it is privately owned!

Room Tip: Room 7 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    157
    52
    4
    2
See reviews for
77
197
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We first booked 1 night by phone, but on the way to mt cook village, we decided to stay 2 nights. This was no problem at all.
Our room was on the first floor and we enjoyed a view to mt. Cook through big windows. The room itself was comfortable and provided everything you needed.
The big kitchen is very-well equipped, there are couches and tables for everyone. There is a panorama window with direct view to mt cook.
Everything was very clean and when we mentioned that our light doesnt work, it was immediately fixed.
All in all a very agreable stay a a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyjen79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in a room with a King sized bed and 2 bunk beds over 2 nights in November 2012. The rooms were adequately furnished but a little small. There was no wardrobe provided in the room but a rack which you could hang your clothes. Although the room added a nice touch with a little dinning table with 2 chairs provided, it just made the room feel very tight. There was a heater in the room and electric blankets as well. The decor was quite modern and did not feel old. The rooms were clean and we noticed the staff pain stakingly cleaning the other rooms, inclduing window sills and the windows. A guest laundry room is provided (coin operated) but you could only use it between 9.30am to 9.30pm as the noise from the machines would be disturbing for the guests located in the room next to the laundry room. Nice consideration if you were the guests located next to the laundry room.

However, to make up for lack of space in the room, the room had big windows and great views of the surrounding snow capped mountains and you were awoken to birds chirping in the crisp mountain air. You could also use the spacious lounge area which provided for sofas arranged to accomodate different small groups. These faced out towards a glassed wall which faced the mountains as well. At night, you were treated to stars from the warmth of the heated lounge area. On slightly warmer nights, you could chill out on the veranda with a glass of wine and quiet company just looking at the black sky with twinkling stars. It was such a huge draw for us.

The communal kitchen was well equiped with decent equipment in which you could cook up a storm if you so wished (even an oven too!) There were 3 seperate sinks and 2 hobs (with ovens) for shared use and everything to clean up too. A large fridge in which to store your food items (you just had to label it with your name and departure) was great. The ventilators at the kitchen worked great and the combined dinning and lounge area did not stink after cooking. There were a few seperate dinning table as well to accomodate different group sizes. While we were there, there were only a 4-5 other groups/couples who generally retired to their rooms after dinner so we pretty much had everything to ourselves. We brought most of our food supplies on the way to Mount Cook (at the supermarket at Lake Tekapo) as we wanted to have a choice of food. We were concerned over the availability and prices of food at Mount Cook. So we did all our own cooking at the lodge. WIth the sun setting so late, we were able to have plenty of time to walk around and still come back to cook our meals.

The receptionist was a warm and helful person (Mary). She answered all our questions patiently. The hotel provides 30 minutes of free internet usage for each night booked. At check in, you are given a card with a specific password and which you have to scratch off the silver foil to reveal the password of the day for your room. You have to approach reception for your new card (with new password) each morning. We felt that this was sufficent to check important emails but was not sufficent to surf for very long. A bit more time would have been nice.

The price of the room was steeper than at other parts of South Island but a lot cheaper than the mroe expansive option, The Hermitage. The Sir Edmund Hilary Alpine centre and Visitor Information Centre were within walking distance from the lodge and provided much history of the area. A few resident ducks completed the picturesque views. Unfortunately, we did not see a single Kea while we were there.

Overall a great stay espcecially if you planned to cook some of your meals and did not mind mixing with other people. The lodge did not attract backpacker types so we were not subject to loud noisy music and drunken laughter. It had a distinguished feel to it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Room was on smaller side but very functional and clean. Views were splended. Common kitchen/lounge has wonderful kitchen facilities and utilities and a great lounge to sit back or eat at the tables. Had some problems with the internet, free 30 mins per day, but was given free card by owners. Service was great

Room Tip: Get room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We wished we stayed more than one night at this place. Staff were friendly, rooms clean and views amazing. Common kitchen and lounge very spacious and most of the time we had the whole place to ourselves or the chance to meet others and discuss travel tips. The place had a nice feel to it and we were glad we went to Mt Cook Village for the tours and walks.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you thought it would be expensive to stay in Mt Cook village, then look no further than this absolutely superb lodge. It's 3 mins walk from the Hermitage, and has almost the same spectacular views. It's a 30 second walk to the visitors centre, and a one min walk to the awesome Mountaineers' Cafe.

The room we had was spotless, warm and had great views out to Mt Cook. The reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. Parking was literally right outside the door. There is a huge lounge and kitchen upstairs, so if you want to self cater, everything you need is right there.

During our stay we had a problem with our hire car (flat battery) and the car was stranded out at Tasman Bay. After catching a ride back to the lodge with another traveller, we spoke to Lynn, the owner, and she arranged for her husband Tony to take us back out to Tasman Bay to rescue the car. They did this in their own time, and would not accept any payment for this huge kindness, for which we were so grateful. What top people they are!! True Southerners.

In all, our two nights at the lodge were amazing fun (apart from the darn car!!) and we will definitely be back again!

Definitely don't miss the walks out at Tasman Bay, the icebergs are amazing, as are the general mountain views and the blue lakes. Out of a ten day trip, Mt Cook Alpine Lodge was our fave accommodation so far!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinzaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

No trip to the South Island at NZ is complete without a 2-night stay at Mount Cook. And the Aoraki Mt Cook Lodge is an excellent option here for its all round comfort, facilities and price.

When - we stayed here end April. The weather was cool and amazing.

Booking - we booked directly on their website. We wrote to them and requested for a slightly lower rate than quoted, and the hosts were kind enough to offer us a 10% discount. So this was very welcome indeed! So go to their website and book directly with them. The rooms and pictures shown on the website are exactly like the property.

Check-in - was excellent and the very friendly Lynn checked us in. She was cheerful and helpful, and walked us to our room no. 1 on the ground floor with direct views of Mt. Cook.

Location - the location is great, Mt. Cook is a very small place anyway, but this lodge is as good as they come. There's a small carpark just outside for free parking, and about 50 metres away is the visitor centre which was very convenient. A further 5-min walk away is the Hermitage hotel and the Ed Hillary Alpine Centre which is basically in the Hermitage hotel. The Planetarium show was quite sad so avoid this. But the Ed Hillary center itself is great for a walk around. Good lunch above at the cafe with a great balcony to sit on. A must-do!

Rooms - Comfortable and cozy with heaters and a TV. Rooms are smallish but then its really okay for a small family or a couple. Coffee and tea making facilities provided in the rooms. The best part is that the entire lodge is a non-smoking place so this was great.

Free internet - there's a daily allowance for 30 minutes free internet, so get the card from the reception.

Kitchen - there's a common big kitchen and living room which has excellent facilities as well as books and dvds to watch. But please dont wast time watching dvd's Mt. Cook!! Carry enough food to cook from Christchurch because food is very expensive here and not much can be found actually.

The drive - the drive to Mt. Cook is spectacular. From Lake Tekapo it take about 75 minutes in a leisurely drive with photos. A must do is also a drive up to the Astro cafe just when you leave Lake Tekapo to drive to Mt. Cook. Drive up the small road to Astro cafe for the best views of the Lake you can ever see.

Glacier Explorers - no point in wasting NZ$ 140 for this! (You get a 15% discount by the way if you have a YHA membership, get one in your hometown from your country's local YHA/ Hostelling International). Coming back to the Glacier explorer's, just drive to the lake, park your car at the common carpark and walk down to see the glaciers!

Important - please always inform your hotel reception as to the walks or treks that you are planning for the day.

Finally then, the Aoraki Mt Cook alpine lodge is an excellent place to stay, and Lynn with her friendly service and help made it even better. The Hermitage is a bigger and proper hotel, but the views are pretty much the same from this lodge, and what's the point of staying in a hotel atmosphere when you can enjoy in the cozy lodge..

Highly recommended for everyone!

Room Tip: Front facing is good. Email for better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,913 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,157 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Terrace Motel
The Terrace Motel
#4 of 13 in Franz Josef
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge

Property: Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Address: 101 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Aoraki Mount Cook Village our accommodation is designed to meet the needs of the budget conscious traveller whilst providing the highest standard of service, cleanliness and comfort.We have 16 ensuite rooms, 24 hr onsite management, reception open 830am-800pm daily with 24hour check in available. Free WiFi is included in the room rate as is free off street parking onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing