We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice YHA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Certificate of Excellence
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice YHA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

During our 4 weeks in NZ, we stayed at many YHA and backpackers. This one was one of the best ones. Clean, friendly staff and not to noisy. Those were our 3 main positive points!.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineAndAlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    101
    26
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
69
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Mt Cook has only two backpackers accommodation options. I stayed at the YHA. The facilities are good and the place is clean. Nevertheless, most of the staff is not very friendly (one in four friendly staff in my personal experience). It was Christmas and there was no social event – no collective lunch, dinner or anything else. The village is extremely small and although most people spend the day hiking (as I did) there is not much to do in the evening apart from socializing it the hostel especially in Christmas day when everything else is closed.

If I went back to Mt Cook I would not opt for the YHA again and would probably not recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mipontal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed one night at this hostel in December. Location and view breath-taking. A very big problem was the complete lack of working refrigeration for guests' food. One large cooling chamber was functioning at 18C! Two other regular fridges were just barely cooler than room temperature and the freezer was almost completely iced up. This is not good enough for a hostel with substantial numbers of guests passing through.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

Whole hostel is wood-cabin style inc rooms. Had double room with shared bathroom. Room was right next to bathroom and this was very noisy! Despite signage asking people not to shower after 10pm and before 7am we were woken up frequently. Staff on reception were helpful - good advice on walks to do and where to go. Reception also sold food and essentials as there is no shops in the village really. Kitchen good size and well equipped. Laundry room available. Free parking. Recommend driving out to do the Tasman glacier walks. And walk to kea point is also nice but unfortunately there was low cloud throughout our stay so we didn't see Mt cook. I-site is good and worth a visit. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is such a great place to be at Mt Cook. The moment I stepped in, I felt so at home. I was greeted with a cheerful staff and the check in was smooth. The hostel is clean, bed is comfy, bathroom is clean, kitchen is complete and the lounge is cosy. The room has a strong heater that warms up the room quite quickly. When I woke up in the morning, the first thing I saw is Mt Cook from the window of my room. What else can I say but lovely!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ck-mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

What a fantastic time we had at this YHA (my first one!!!).. The staff were very friendly and always smiling and helping with any questions we had... The dorm room we had was spotless, the showers were hot and powerful.. the kitchen facilities were very good (cleaned daily by the staff even if not needed), TV room was very comfortable.. Great central location and would certainly recommend to anybody..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMDukes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tassie
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

It was very cold outside but the building was lovely and warm in the living areas and the bedroom. We also had a heater in the room. We had a double room upstairs. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Lovely views and fits beautifully into the environment. Make sure you have the towels as they forgot to put them in our room but realised after reception was closed but fortunately caught the lady before she went home. The bathrooms were very clean. Enjoyed our stay and wished we had the time to stay longer. A bit expensive but the cheapest available in the village at the time.
Was very happily surprised about how good it was there - much better than expected

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCHarvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.5 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
19.2 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
24.7 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Aoraki Mt Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Aoraki Mt Cook

Property: YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
Address: 1 Bowen Drive | cnr Bowen & Kitchener, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 8770, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Aoraki Mt Cook 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Mt Cook! Our beautiful alpine lodge in the Heart of Aoraki / Mt Cook National Park is the perfect base to explore and experience New Zealand's Southern Alps. Enjoy the natural beauty of the area by taking walks suitable for all ages and abilities. Kayaking, Skiing, Boating, Flying and Stargazing are all activities that can be enjoyed here in Aoraki / Mt Cook, as well as comfortable dining in the village's cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your YHA Aoraki Mt Cook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Mt. Cook Hotel Mt. Cook Village
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing