We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Nearby Hotels
The Hermitage Hotel(Mt. Cook Village)
$137
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook(Mt. Cook Village)(Great Value!)
$113
$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels(Mt. Cook Village)
$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
The Westhaven(Fox Glacier)(Great Value!)
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Matheson Motel(Fox Glacier)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,671)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveler rating
1,357
268
36
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,357
268
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathmt cookbedroom unitthe managersunobstructed viewexcellent motelunderfloor heatingthe kitchenviews of the mountainswould definitely stay here againgreat place to staycomfortable bedstayed longergreat roomgreat viewnew zealandfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
1,461 - 1,466 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We came down as a party of 6 for my husband's surprise 50th. My friends had wanted to stay at the Hermitage but I found Aoraki through trip advisor. The accomodation did not disappoint us and they were nice enough to give us each our own room as we had booked a 2 bedroom apartment and an executive suite. Thought the rooms were modern, spacious, well appointed and the bed was heavenly!! I was a bit daunted there was no electric blanket but as Heather said, the rooms were very warm and cosy so we were not cold at all. We would definitely return with our 3 children. Paul recommended some great walks which we managed to do despite the weather! We did eat at the Old Mountaineers Cafe but found the food very average and expensive. The cafe at the Hermitage was much better priced and had a more extensive menu. We dined at the Hermitage for dinner (their buffet) and thought this was amazing. Food quality and range were high! If we were coming next time, I would stock up more at a supermarket to keep costs down as there is no supermarket at Mt Cook! However thought our accomodation was the best!

Room Tip: The spa bath in the executive rooms are definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hello MicheleS1001 it was our pleasure to accommodate your party and we appreciate your kind words of your recent stay here. I can remember that weekend well as the weather was not the best but you certainly made the most of getting out and seeing this wonderful country side. It is pleasing to hear that you found the apartment lovely and cozy and well appointed. We look forward to your return with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked a spa room and were given one of the rooms at the front of the motel. the view was amazing and it appears there are views from all of the rooms. Staff were very helpful and nice. Our room was well fitted out and was very clean. We didn't hear any noise of other guests or cars. Very much enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we come back here. Wish we were staying for longer because Mt Cook is amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrisfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hello harrisfarms and thank you for your wonderful review. It is very pleasing that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the view that your room had to offer. It is fantastic that all our rooms can offer views of the surrounding mountains. We hope to see you back here sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

In reading many reviews of this accommodation, we were looking forward to staying here but unfortunately, our experience was not great. The location of the Village/Cabins is AMAZING and the mountain is stunning... The rooms are nicely styled and the views from the windows are spectacular AND the beds are comfy, but there are some important things which are not up to standard... We are not normally picky but... ours was not a 5 star experience. There is a toothbrush/toothpaste holder in the bathroom - ours had left over spit/toothpaste and hairs in it. My husband found numerous hairs in other locations around the room also. We did not get what we paid for and requested on line - which was a spa room. - Being told there was a leak in that room and no others were available was very disappointing! We would have appreciated being notified of this prior to us unloading all our gear and walking into a cabin. Some of the cups and cooking utensils were not overly clean either. The rest of the room WAS clean. We were put into a cabin which had a car park (incl a car) and other cabins taking up half of the view from the window. There are good things about the Aoraki Ct Motel, but it was not what we expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyOzTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Hello Happyoz Travellers. It is with great disappointment that we read your review on your stay with us at Aoraki Court Motel, especially given we were totally unaware of any concerns you had.

As explained to you on your arrival we had to shift yourselves and the quests from the other four units in that block due to a major fault with one of our boilers which provide hot water for the units. This happened on the day of your arrival. Subsequently we could not provide customers their original requests and in your case all of our other spa studio units were full. We apologised for this on your arrival but did not think it was such a problem as all our units are the same in quality, views and price. We cannot understand your comments regarding having a "blocked view". All of our units have beautiful views of the surrounding mountains, especially the uninterrupted views of Mt Sefton directly in front of each unit. This is noted by nearly all other Trip Advisor reviews of our property.

The final concern to us was your comment on the cleanliness of your unit. We have systems in place that ensure all of our motel units are thoroughly cleaned and then checked after each clean. It is our intention to provide complete customer satisfaction.

If you made us aware of any of your concerns whilst you were here we would have rectified the situation immediately or offered something as a form of compensation. It is always frustrating for us as operators to only hear about these things once quests have left. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels within New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Most of the furniture in the hotel is very well maintained. Full kitchen facilities as well. Wifi was a slight annoyance due to Zenbu the provider. Views were nice and very accessible to the Hillary Center and the local cafe. Owner was friendly but kept reminding us that the check out was to be at 10am. Probably the most bang for the buck Motel in Mt Cook Village.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBumFromSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

hi BeachBumFromSG.
Thank you place a review about Aoraki Court Motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the facilities we offer. Our internet is fine when all the instructions are followed but sometimes with our weather and thunderstorms it may be slow. Sorry if you felt my remainder of a 10am checkout was excessive, but due to the weather conditions we have here, it does make our job difficult to have our rooms ready by 2pm for people to check in. An example when the weather is bad we do have people arriving as early as 11.15am wanting to check in, we can tell you many stories, but I won't go there.
Hope you enjoy the rest of your New Zealand holiday and hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked a Heli-hike from Mt. Cook and Aoraki Court was highly recommended from our B&B in Dunedin. The rooms are less than a year old and as such look new. Great views of Mt. Cook from our room and top rate service from the staff. Ample parking and a good wifi connection.

Two suggestions for the motel: it would be nice to have more than 9 channels of TV, and we thought $9.00 ($4 to wash, $5 to dry) to do self service laundry was a bit too much. In Wellington for example, the motel self service laundry was $3 to wash and $4 to dry.

Overall, A great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank englishman252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello englishman252525. Thank you for taking your time to place a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and the general Mount Cook experience. Thank you for your two suggestions, we will review the number of TV channels, but we feel the laundry is a fair price for our location. Being in a National park we do pay higher prices for services like rubbish removal, water and electricity than in cities. Thank you once again and hope the rest of your holiday around New Zealand goes well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews