We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 5 had the pleasure of staying here recently for 2 nights while touring the South Island. Our 2 bedroom unit was comfortable, decorated nicely, and very CLEAN (always a nice feature when being so far away from home!) The views of the Mt. Cook area are stunning and even at night we marveled at the brightness of the stars and Milky Way. Our teen boys enjoyed the lovely spa bath after a cold day of climbing and the hot cocoa, teas, coffee and cookies were a nice bonus. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is strongly recommended that you purchase groceries prior to entering the Mt. Cook area, as there are no stores available and restaurant choices in the winter are very limited. The hotel managers were extremely nice and helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marilynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello Marilynn S and thank you for taking your time to post a review about Aoraki Court Motel. We are pleased you found our 2 bedroom family comfortable. When people book direct with us we send an email advising them that there is no supermarket and to come prepared. We are please you had a great time here and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,087
    214
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
318
808
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

stayed there for 1 night with my wife and baby.
the room was very modern, clean and comfortable with well equipped kitchenette.
the view from the balcony was gust amazing with mount cook close at hand.
all in all real pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you yaron1976 for posting a review it is pleasing to hear that everything was well set out in your apartment and well equipped when you have a baby with you.Our complex is very family friendly here and enjoyed by many.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

These motel units look rather small, squashed up and ordinary on the outside so we were delighted when the door was opened. We booked a studio unit and were surprised at how spacious it was. Bigger than your average unit - plenty of room, well layed out, brilliant views, comfortable, extremely warm (necessary given it was snowing the day we left), beautifully decorated and a very comfortable bed. Couldn't fault it. Small but more than adequately supplied kitchenette. It was a wild weekend weather wise when we were there and Mount Cook had lost power from the main grid. Aoraki Court Motel were then relying on their own generator. To conserve energy they rang our unit to apologise that at 10 p.m. they would need to turn the power off. This wasn't a problem for us and the units are so well insulated that the room was still warm in the morning despite the lack of heating overnight. As compensation they kindly offered us a late check-out. Highly recommend and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Hello Jane M and thank you for your review on your recent stay with us here in Mount Cook. We are please that you found our rooms to your liking, warm and beautifully decorated. You now have first hand experience of the weather conditions and the challenges we face from time to time like the high winds, thunder, snow, rain and the power going out. We started our generator and we had power to all the units. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent a night here after a 5 hour drive straight from Te Anau. Aoraki Court is a nice spot in Mount Cook Village. I was very impressed by how clean and modern it looked. During my time there however (April 2013), I believe they were still in the midst of completing renovation works around the estate as there were still piles of rubble surrounding the grounds. But don't let that deter you from choosing this spot to stay, as mentioned earlier, the stay was still very pleasant, room was very spacious and very clean. One thing I must advice though, buy whatever groceries you need (if you plan to cook) before coming into Mount Cook Village. There are no supermarkets or mini-marts here. Best to drop by Twizel first for supplies to pick up your necessities then make your way into Mount Cook Village.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Bryan_Kam, thank you for taking your time to place a review about Aoraki Court Motel. we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms modern and clean. Those people who book direct with us we send them a pre-arrival email saying that there is no supermarket and other tips on the area. Our landscaping is underway and most plants are in the ground. Hope to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at Aoraki Court Motel for 2 nights during May. This new motel is very modern, clean and comfortable with excellent views of the surrounding mountains. The moteliers were very friendly and professional and we would definately recommend this motel to anyone looking for excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Dave D, many thanks for taking your time to place a review about Aoraki Court Motel. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was a good choice for a one night stay at Mount Cook. New Motel with modern, spacious and luxurious rooms with kitchenette and spa bath, great views of mount cook. Friendly and helpful mangers.A simple Breakfast was provided the evening prior. Spotlessly clean too. 5 stars from us! Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of the property with best uninterrupted views of Mt Cook
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southislander019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you southislander019 for your review, we are pleased you found your room to your liking and that the whole experience was a positive one. Thank you for staying and we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We don't ask for much from the places we stay - just a key and no drama. We arrived late and had emailed to request a late check in. When we arrived around 9:30pm, the staff member who met us was extremely rude, asking why we didn't call and claiming we never notified that we needed a late check in. Since we didn't have access to a NZ phone, calling would have been difficult. He stormed off for us to follow him to our room. Not pleasant. The room and view were good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Blueskies1717 and thank you for taking your time to place a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed the room and views which Mount Cook offers.

However your comments regarding how you were greeted is a gentle reminder to us that everyone should be treated with respect and we are sorry that you may have caught us at a bad moment.

We do apologise if we were rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
0.4 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,846 reviews
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Property: Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing