We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This motel was excellent in every respect. It was warm, spacious, large comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, well equipped and with excellent access to wi-fi. It is in within easy walkig distance of two 'eateries' - one modest but good, the other (The Hermitage) more up market and pricey. The development is still fairly new and landscaping remains to be done and there are no direct views of the mountain but the view, like the eateries,is within walking distance. Proprietors very welcoming and helpful. thoroughly to be recommended and very good value for money.

Room Tip: No tips needed. They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burnett-the-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello Burnett-the-Brit, thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your time with us here. Although we cannot see Mount Cook from our complex, there are many great views all around us for all to enjoy, hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    214
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
316
806
35
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Although it has been 36 years since our last visit to Mt Cook and we only live in Christchurch NZ. Always seem to go to other places for a holiday. But weather expected to be find in the area for a few days so Mt Cook was our choice.

We used tripadvisor for accommodation recommendations.

very clean and spacious, parking right outside. Nice warm rooms and well appointed.

Nice and quiet and great views to Mount Sefton. No view to Mt Cook from the room but still excellent scenery.

Stayed 2 nights. Plenty of walks in area so stay longer if you can. Thanks

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hello NZ2 and thank you for taking your time to place a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had 3 nights at the Aoraki Court Motel and would definitely recommend it. The room was stylish and very comfortable. Good heating for when the nights cooled down and the spa bath was appreciated after some of the long walks we did.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiu_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello jacquiu_13 and thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in Mount Cook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arived in Mt Cook with no accomodation booked, ended up checking into this place as it was middle of the range pricing wise. We were very happy we did. The rooms are brand new and very clean, we had a great view of the glacier and the owners could not do more to make us feel welcome.

I would highly recomend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hi Andrea F, thank you for posting a review about Aoraki Court Motel, we are please you enjoyed your time with us, hope to see you again here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A very helpful girl at Twizel i-Site booked this motel for us and what a find it was. It has only been open a few months so the furnishings and decor are top notch. Spotlessly clean, roomy and very comfortable. We brought supplies from Twizel and cooked in the room each night because why would you go anywhere else with one of the finest views in NZ in front of you. The huge patio windows enabled us to lie in bed and watch the morning light as it lit up Mount Sefton, towering right above our heads. I could have looked at the view all day but the walking from Mount Cook village is so wonderful that you just have to put your boots on and get hiking. An excellent find and one of the highlights of our six week trip.

Room Tip: Just go there and revel in the glory of it all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello Rob M, thank you for your review about Aoraki Court Motel. These reviews not only help us but help others looking to see where they wish to stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope the rest of your trip around NZ goes well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place is brilliant. The only thing I didnt like was the lime green chairs !Of course that really didnt matter. Its private (windows heavily tinted) and it all feels brand new. It had free wi fi and a great little kitchen. Views are lovely and its an easy walk to all the amenities. Supplies (groceries) can be bought at the youth hostel or in the shop in the Hermitage Hotel which has a wider selection. The kitchen has everything even a non stick pan. Just be careful with your toast,the smoke detectors are rather sensitive. The restaurants in the area not that good. Its worth thinking about cooking for yourself . Wish we had stayed another day. Sadly this was the last really good place we stayed in. It all went steadily down hill after this. For more realistic reviews feel free to see where else we stayed while in NZ to help plan your trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello saltpan and thank you for taking your time to post a review on Aoraki Court Motel. We are please that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will call again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I initially wasn't going to stay in the Mount Cook area but I'm so glad that I did. Local hikes were excellent and the village is cute. I was also very surprised by this motel. This was likely the nicest room I stayed in during my entire time in NZ. The view was exceptional. The room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom. All of the staff I came in contact with were friendly and helpful. I would recommend bringing groceries to Mount Cook Village if you plan on cooking for yourself - there are not too many options once in the village. Also, if you can handle an intense hike - the views from Mueller Hut are phenomenal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bez0ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, Manager at Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi bez0ar and thank you for taking your time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will return to Aoraki Court Motel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.7 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
19.1 mi away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
24.6 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village

Property: Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Address: 26 Bowen Drive, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Motel Complex situated within the stunning Aoraki Mt Cook National Park with every unit having absolutely stunning view of Mt Sefton and the surrounding mountains. 24/7 Reception, daily housekeeping and private bathrooms in all units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing