We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We recently spent one night at this hotel in a Chalet, perfect if you are just staying over night or if you wish to self cater. We didn't mind that we were 200m from the main hotel, the room had an amazing view of the surrounding mountains however I'm not sure that all Chalets would have this view. The bathroom was really clean. We ate at the ala carte restaurant and the food was just amazing! The salmon was so fresh and my partner had the steak which was also awesome. Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pony1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,977)
There are newer reviews for Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed at motel family unit and very disappointed, room smelly and not aired out, lights, powers points did not work, kitchen cupboards stank of a manure smell. Very expensive for a night's accommodation and very disappointed as was recommended by friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Hermitage, General Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2010

Hello Lindie,

Thanks for taking the time to offer your feedback in regards to your stay in our motel unit. I do apologise for the faults in the room, sometimes it difficult to know if power plugs etc do not work unless guests tell us as we cannot get around and test each power plug regularly therefore we have to rely on guests such as yourselves to be so kind as to give us this type of feedback. However, after your comments, I have instructed out maintenance team to check every motel unit to ensure that all plugs and lamps are working I also apologise about the smell in the room, it is very difficult to control what previous guests cook in the room which can leave long lasting odours, we do our best to air out and rectify this however obviously my housekeeping team have let me down on this occasion and I will be reminding them all that rooms with strong cooking odours need to be left unoccupied until they can be aired out and refreshed.

Once again I apologise for your disappointment, however you can be assured that we have rectified the problems you mentioned in your comment card, your email, and this review.
Without your comments we would not have known that there was a problem so I thank you for that.

Regards,

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We spent 1 night at the Hermitage Mt Cook hotel in November 2010. We were 4 adults travelling and had originally booked to share in a Chalet. Upon arrival, we noticed they were offering various promotions, one of them being reduced prices for an upgraded room. The offer was 69 NZD to upgrade from our Chalet to a Premium Plus room. We did see the Chalet and for a family, it is a good size room which was clean with a kitchen. The bathroom only had a shower and no tub but that was also clean and seemed functional although not a whole lot of countertop space. However, after seeing the Premium Plus rooms, we were sold. These rooms are on the top floor of the main building with views of Mount Cook. We even decided to get 2 rooms. The other room was priced at 237 NZD + 69 NZD for the upgrade. The bed and the sheets were very comfortable. We had a great night's sleep.

Breakfast was included in our Chalet rate. It was below average. A lot of the cooked items were cold and was not worth the price charged. We also ate lunch at the Cafe. Some items were hit and miss. We tried pizza on 2 occasions and it was not very good. We ate dinner at Panorama. The beef and lamb were cooked really well but felt a bit overpriced mainly due to the location. You are in a remote location and we did not have a vehicle. You can also buy restaurant vouchers as part of the promotion. I would advise this as this makes your dining less expensive at a discount. However, you must buy the amounts upon check in. They will not allow you to buy them after. So it makes it tricky as you have to budget for the amount you are planning to spend.

We found the staff not well trained. On several occasions, we would get different answers to the same questions from a different staff person.

We also signed up for Glacier Explorers. Do this if you have time. It was a great tour.

From the hotel, there are several hikes you can take. As we were short on time and it did rain a bit, we could only do the Hooker Valley hike and even that one we did not complete. We made it to the first draw bridge and it was amazing. The hike is not very difficult. Roundtrip, that hike takes 4 hours.

If you do not have a vehicle, I recommend Great Sights/Intercity. We used them to get to Mt Cook from Queenstown and to get to Christchurch from Mt Cook. The drivers are knowledgable and make great guides and the buses were always on time and clean.

Mount Cook is a beautiful area. We wished we spent an extra night there. I would definitely want to visit again and would highly recommend the Hermitage and the Premium Plus rooms!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

So, we stayed in the motel studio, which was not great but not bad as well. The room was not very big but ya it was comfertable types. The location was good as mount cook was visible from there. But there was not much of activity happening.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HippoAndTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Only reason to stay here is the view and proximity to the national park. The service is unfriendly and unorganized. The food is poor and everything is overpriced. The only thing it has is the view and a monopoly on a stay in Mt Cook area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew_Hermitage, General Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2010

Dear Feffie,

I am sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Hermitage, certainly I was surprised to see that you thought the service was unfriendly as we have been having great feedback recently about this. I will follow this up with all management staff to see if we can track down any of the staff that may have dealt with you an any area of the hotel to see if we can identify the staff member who is not performing to the level required. In regards to the hotel being overpriced, as you have not identified any particular items that may be overpriced it is hard for me to comment on this, other than to say that the costs involved with running a hotel in such an islaoted location and in a national park are HUGE! therefore some of our room rates do reflect this however our profit margins are the same if not less than most city based hotels, a large portion of the money paid by our guests gets put back into the management of the National Park by the Department of Conservation through our local body costs and leases to ensure the everlasting beauty of this pristine environment for all New Zealanders and international visitors. Our food and beverage prices are reasonably priced when compared with city hotels and restaurants with Mains from around $28, we do have some more expensive items at around $39 but the price certainly reflects the quality of the dish, and our bar prices are no different than any other bar in the country.

Thanks for your feedback and have a great day,

Andrew Cleverley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Our room, on the top (10th floor) had the most incredible view of Mt Cook! It was spacious and a suite. We had lunch, breakfast, and dinner a the restaurant, and all were good. The staff was helpful as well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckieart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

The hotel is located in a beautiful area but other than that we found it to be overpriced for what they provide. The buffet was OK but here again not priced to suit the level of cuisine. Standard of service was good and the rooms are clean and well maintained but other that the location nothing stood out for the money we had spent. Do reserve a window table if you can as the view of the mountains are spectacular. All this said, you do have to go there but be prepared for lack of value for your money.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ratty1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7949, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: $115 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing