We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Mount Cook in March 2013. After a long trip up from Queenstown due to amazing lakes and scenery we checked in at Hermitage Hotel. From the start staff were excellent,the hotels restaurant,bar etc are very good and the room which was a standard room was very good. Scenery and activities around the area are fantastic.Tours from the hotel were also very good should you wish to go on any. If we return to Mount Cook we will have no hesitation in booking at the Hermitage Hotel once again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,977)
There are newer reviews for Hermitage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the motels about 800 m from hermitage. Relatively expensive for what they are but then it is mt cook. Very clean. Good size - we had studio. Continental breakfast was included in room rate and was excellent. If u don't want to walk to the motel they will do complementary pick up. The staff are fantastic esp in reception. Tong and Maia (not sure i have spelt names right) were esp friendly and helpful. The weather was great so good views of my cook. Will def return. Only downside is u have to pay for wifi in room. In this day and age should be free

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caro8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a room with shared balconies overlooking the mountain. Good room . Very disappointed with the set dinner, my husband said his lamb didn't have any taste. This was very disappiointing as he had eaten lamb elsewhere and it had been delicious. The scrambled eggs at breakfast were the worse I have ever seen. They had obviously been cooked hours before and were just a solid lump.As it is the only hotel in the area they obviously don't have to bother with the food too muc- such a shame.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retired0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We drove from Christchurch to Mt. Cook and when we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and given the keys to our room. We had booked a Standard Mt. Cook View and we certainly weren't disappointed. The room was large and airy with a balcony and very clean.

We had a wonderful view of Mt. Cook which was clear on both the day we arrived and the day we left which apparently is very unusual.

We had a lovely dinner in the Panorama Restaurant and good breakfast in the Alpine Restaurant.

The Hermitage in our opinion is the only place to stay when visiting Mt. Cook. The Sir Edmund Hilary Museum is a must and we spent a couple of hours there watching the various videos and learning about the area and the mountains. The Planetarium is also excellent.

Room Tip: Definitely book a Mt. Cook view room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Aoraki/Mt. Cook is a must-visit place in NZ and we were happy with our lodgings. We paid as little as possible for our room (toward the rear of the main building) and didn't mind not having the primo view; getting outside is where it's at. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and it was a nice convenience to find a laundry room on the floor above. On a tip from a stranger we strolled to a nearby restaurant for our dinners; it was much less expensive. We didn't eat in the Hermitage's restaurant except for one snack. Our two-night stay was super pleasant, and the Hooker Valley Track is divine.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to vary a lot; we were happy with ours, but make sure to clarify any expectations before...
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank flex_nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in the hotel which had promised spectacular views and we were not disappointed. Even the weather on the first day was on our side. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a lovely 60th birthday meal complete with birthday cake in the Panorama restaurant. The Sir Edmund Hilary Centre is very interesting but we also took a short walk to the visitor centre which is very well set out and informative and the explorers? bar offers good food at reasonable cost. There are lots of walking trails for a range of abilities - the Kea trail is worth doing

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnypBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in one of the Hermitage Chalets. The views from the room were great but, as mentioned by another reviewer, the Chalet was in need of a makeover. The furniture was comfortable but needed recovering or cleaning; the bathroom no more than adequate. If it hadn't been for the situation, we would have been seriously disappointed.
We ate in both restaurants in the hotel - the a la carte and the buffet. The buffet was not cheap at $59 per head but the range and quality of food on offer was very good. The service in the a la carte was a bit gauche, the food reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuonconventoHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,205 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#7 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Address: 89 Terrace Road, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7949, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: $115 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing