We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Malaysia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, average hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of my 2-week honeymoon in NZ. Being the only hotel in Mt Cook Village (the other forms of accommodation were chalets and backpackers), it has managed to monopolise the market here. When we went, it was peak season so there were busloads of tourists checking in and out during the day, which made the hotel rather congested and noisy in the middle of the day.

Out of all the accommodation I stayed at in my entire NZ trip, this hotel had the slowest, least efficient checking in process for me. I tried to check in early at 1.30pm but they told me to come back at 2pm which was the designated check-in time as the room wasn't ready. At 2pm, I tried to check in again, and they told me my room still wasn't ready. I had to wait another 15 minutes to finally get my keys.

The room itself was only average, with just the basic amenities you'd expect at a hotel. There was really nothing special, despite the enormous price tag we had to pay for the room. When we entered the room, I was surprised to see two double beds instead of one so I called reception to ask why - they told us that we'd been upgraded from a Standard Mt Cook View room to a Premium room because they had out-booked the Standard rooms. I was pleased with this, but thought they should have informed me at the counter earlier to avoid misunderstandings.

The room had an absolutely amazing view of Mt. Cook and the surrounding mountain range, of course, which, as many have mentioned, was the highlight of the stay there. On our first day, the cloud cover meant we couldn't really see Mt. Cook, but on the morning of the second day, the clouds had moved and there it was, in all its majesty. It was an utterly fantastic experience to wake up to a view like this, while still lying on your bed. We needed more than a few moments to just take it all in.

We did not have any meals at the hotel. We opted instead to drive to the (cheaper) Old Mountaineers cafe and the Chamois for lunch and dinner respectively. These had great food at a more reasonable price.

The hotel is directly connected to the Sir Edmund Hilary Alpine Centre which had loads of things to do. We decided not to go for any activities here, but it really is a great place to hang out and do things without having to leave the hotel premises. This would be an extremely convenient way to pass the time if the weather did not permit any outdoor activities, and I think is a really strong selling point of the hotel. We went on the Kea Point Walk which was just outside the hotel. It was a really nice late afternoon stroll, weather permitting.

We had drinks at the Snowline Lounge which opened till late. It had a nice ambience at night, which was very different from what it was during the day with all the noisy tourists. Staff throughout our stay here were polite, nothing outstanding. The hotel itself lacks the charm you would expect from a hotel so rich in history, but unless you are the backpacker-type, there's really not much choice for you in terms of accommodation in Mt. Cook Village besides this.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, since you're paying so much anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunmetiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    697
    409
    144
    62
See reviews for
377
1,130
77
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nasik, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

a superb hotel built among the mountains with an excellent view of mount cook. the drive to the hotel was fantastic. rooms were average but the view was breath taking. The staff at the reception were not at ll friendly and i found them to be very curt especially since in all of new zealand the people were extremely friendly. all in all a very good place to stay and i hope the reception staff is more warm towards the guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hermitage. Absolutely fantastic hotel. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. Service quality is best in class. Highly recommended for anybody visiting in newzealand.

Room Tip: We went for the non-mountain cook view room. The view was equally good. Its much cheaper also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The owners of the Hermitage seem to have a lock on the Mt Cook market so there is little reason to have good service or comfortable rooms. We stayed 1 night in the “Chalets”, which are stand-alone 1-room cabins at the base of Mt. Cook, separate from the main hotel. The room was very old and needed maintenance and remodel. There was no air conditioner or fan and no way to get a crosswind. The day we were there the weather was very warm and so the room was extremely uncomfortable. We requested a fan, and after calling twice, finally had a very small space heater/fan delivered that was no help against the heat.

We had breakfast the next morning in the alpine lodge. The buffet was decent, but the total lack of service meant carrying your hot coffee or tea 50 yards across a crowded cafeteria, and that’s if you could find clean dishes – we looked through 5 “clean” tea pots before we found one that looked clean enough to use.

The location of the hotel is perfect for their proximity to many of the walks in the Mt Cook area, but that is about the only positive thing to say about this hotel which very much needs updating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Tschampel, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear pjsid,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
I am sorry to see that your stay with us was not what you had expected. Our aim is that guests enjoy their stay with us and leave the resort only with the best memories. In your instance we have fallen short on achieving this. Please be assured that your feedback has been fully discussed with the individual departments and we are currently in the process of revising the situation.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hermitage Hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Alexander Tschampel
Operations Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

STayed in the Chalet's which was perfect. Loved the large room. Kitchen is unnessary unless you already brought some groceries, which I wish I'd known, since food there is quite expensive. Absolutely breathtaking. Highlight of our New Zealand trip. The hiking trails are easy and beautiful scenery everywhere. We arrived to cloudy skies, covering MT. Cook, but still majestic black and gold mountains. Dined at the hotel restaraunt, good but pricey, view was fantastic. Be sure and see the stars-amazing! Next morning woke up to sunny skies and Mt. Cook in her glory rising out of the valley to greet us. Enjoyed the hike across the river. Had lunch at the bar and grille, best hamburger ever! Wish we had eaten dinner here the night before. The buffet breakfast is nice way to start the day also. Super friendly staff. If you are going to drive all the way to Mt. Cook, it's worth it to spend the night here. A mecca of nationalities, how fun is that!

Room Tip: Chalet's have more room, but you have to walk up to the hotel, and no view, but a nice savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruzrmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for one night in The Hermitage at the very end of our stay in New Zealand, as a bit of a treat for our last night. We knew that it wasn't going to be cheap, and that was fine, but in fact we both felt that it offered poor value for what it was.
The building itself is surprisingly ugly, given the outstanding natural beauty all around, and the owners have built a large tower-like addition to it, presumably to get more "Mount Cook View" rooms. Service was fine, in a big-hotel kind of way, but there were extras at every turn (eg Wifi) and the whole experience had a rather impersonal, international-hotel feel.
We did have a very nice meal in the panorama restaurant, but the service was very slow indeed. We had practically finished our wine before the main course arrived, and there were no little extras such as one normally finds in expensive restaurants. The food itself was good, but the slow service and high prices rather undermined the experience.
We were surprised, the next day, anticipating a nice relaxed breakfast and leisurely morning, to discover that check out time was 10am. I expect a 10am checkout in a B&B or small hotel, but for this sort of establishment, and at these sorts of prices, I was very surprised. We ended up gulping down the breakfast and rushing out of our room, feeling that we hadn't really had good value from the whole experience.
It's not that the hotel was awful, or the service particularly poor, we were just left feeling that the hotel knows it has a monopoly, and is taking advantage of that.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay the extra for a mountain view - if the weather's bad you won't see the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anntheartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Tschampel, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Anntheartist,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
I am sorry to see that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Hermitage Hotel and the service provided by our staff. You can be assured that the staff and I try our best to reach the high expectations of all our guests. Guests are advised on our standard check-out at check-in. However, beside this we also advise guests via guest registration form, via in-room compendiums and the hotel website. Unfortunately, all that has been missed by yourself resulting in a rather hectic last few hours of your stay. I am really sorry for that and hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hermitage Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Alexander Tschampel
Operations Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having three children we stayed in the Family Motel units. The unit was clean and well kept, and there was plenty of room for the five of us. The views from the back door were beautiful. The motel units are actually further from the hotel than I first thought, but there is a free shuttle bus running between the motels and the main hotel complex. We went on a few self guided walk which the whole family enjoyed. We also found the staff to be friendly and courteous. As part of our rate, we were given continental breakfast which had a nice range of food including several cereals, fruit, pastries, ham, cheese, salad, breads, bagels, croissants, juices, tea, coffe and hot chocolate. We found this was enough for us and did not opt to pay the $10 upgrade to a cooked breakfast. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,159 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Westhaven
The Westhaven
#3 of 10 in Fox Glacier
353 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
339 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing