We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at Mount Cook”
Review of Hermitage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hermitage Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at Mount Cook”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Hermitage Hotel is located in the beautiful Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. The view from our room was stunning and the whole experience exceeded our expectations. Rooms were modern and clean with nice furnishings. The Mount Cook village had a buzz about it and lots of great walking tracks. We ate diiner in the Panorama Restaurant and the food was delicious. We attended the first half of star gazing activity (Inside only) in the evening at the Planetarium which was really interesting and quite an experience. We didn't attend the 2nd half of the tour which goes outside to look at the night sky through a telescope because it was cloudy. We also did the Glacier Explorers trip which was unique. We were able to touch and taste icebergs and view the glacier from a boat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vixenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    706
    413
    147
    63
See reviews for
382
1,144
78
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My first trip to Mount Cook from the UK so I am used to rain and was not disappointed!
Stayed in Motel Room and was pleasantly surprised with the quality and amenities offered, comfortable bed, nice and warm, clean and well equipped kitchen/bathroom - although did not do much cooking. Stayed for three nights, had breakfast in main hotel each morning and could not fault the extensive choice on offer, catered for all diets and nationalities and the service was impeccable. Was very impressed that they had soya milk :) as I am dairy intolerant. Had dinner in Panorama Room on NYE and the ambience, food and service was superb - highlight of the evening was the piper who came in to the hotel and upon request to the General Manager (Nigel Harper) my favourite song Amazing Grace was played - Thank you for an memorable occasion. Had dinner at Chamois Bar at Backpacker Lodge on our first night and was more than happy with the quality and choice on offer. Saw the 3D movie MT COOK MAGIC twice as enjoyed it so much the first time and was also very impressed with the Sir Edmund Hillary Centre/Museum. Did not manage to go out onto glacier as weather was too bad but the resort offered a good variety of alternative entertainment and also had different options for food and beverage catering to all tastes and budgets. Overall a memorable 3 day stay during some of the best thunderstorms I have ever seen! Thank you to Mr Nigel Harper and all your staff - I will be back one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed one night and it was cloudy so could only see half way up to the peak, but what we could see made up for it. The Hotel is lovely, a bit modernist for my taste but good the waterfall in reception is beautiful. The sevice was excellent, the room fine with a view across the valley and a nice balcony. We dined in the "Panorama Room" which was a bit pricey but the food,service and setting were all superb. The drive up there is amazing.Worth the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindar2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in a motel studio room for one night. The room was clean and have everything we needed. Be aware that the hermitage motel rooms are not next to the hermitage motel but a ten minute walk away. Breakfast was at the hermitage hotel but luckily we had a car which meant travelling between the motel and hotel was relatively straightforward. Had a comfortable stay but was very expensive for what it was. Found staff at the hermitage helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali3smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Tschampel, Manager at Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear ali3smith,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.com.
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
The Hermitage Motels are in deed located approximately 800 meters from The Hermitage Hotel and motel guests have full access to the hotel facilities, including a complimentary shuttle service running from the motels to The Hermitage 24 hours per day.

Operating a hotel in a National Park such as Mount Cook comes with high operational costs. For example every item what we require has to be road transported to us and all rubbish has to be taken away from the National Park which is a considerable journey. Another example is that the hotel is charged costs that do not apply to any hotel in either a town or city location – these costs are concession fees which is a 7 figure sum. We also accommodate all our employees’ onsite due to the remote location, which is another material cost. No other hotel in NZ has similar cost structures as we do. Therefore our charges are in some cases slightly higher then hotels operating in a town or city location but you can be assured that every product offered to our guests has been carefully priced.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Hermitage Hotel in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Alexander Tschampel
Operations Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Hermitage has less charm than an airport. The rooms are not representative of what is on the website. BEWARE. It is really bad.. And, the General Manager, Nigel, is rude and incompetent and could not have been less interested in trying to help when we asked to speak with him.
We saw the room and called to the front desk as it was a complete disgust. They were rude and ineffectual. We left and were were refunded the money. We are now in a lovely room. We have traveled throughout the world and have NEVER seen worse. TOUR BUSES, BAD ROOMS, DIRTY LINENS, ETC.- A youth hostel type of place for 239-499 per night.
If you must go, skirt the hotel restaurants and eat at the Old Mountaineers- not owned by the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Postxti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbounre
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had two rooms on the 8 th floor 819, 820. The latter had corner windows but the beds faced the wrong way to lie in a see mt cooks peak, 819 our room with two doubles was better for the view. We stayed here 3 nights. The beds are great our rooms were quiet at the end of the hall my favourite place for a room no passing foot traffic. we ate in the upmarket a la carte restaurant Panorama twice. The food was excellent but slow to emerge. The tarte au pomme was one of the best I have eaten and i Have lived in France. The maître' d was not so friendly either night despite having tipped? But he was the only person in an entire week of New Zealand hospitality to be so. Considering how much money we spent there on two nights I would of expected a more professional manner, such as welcome back mr and mrs so and so blah bla blah.
This hotel desperately needs a massage therapist! All the walking we did and nowhere to go after the relax ones tired leg muscles, but they won't do it because mostly Japanese visit and its not their thing, they like soaking tubs so the GM told me those are going to be built with no chlorine but pure mountain water cleaned by osmosis. We saw some small avalanches on our walk and we had great weather until the afternoon of day 3 when it began to rain and didn't stop. Mt cook receives 4 meters of rain a year so I am warning you. It's so not a place to go for one night it's remote and if you stay three days you increase your odds of having better weather. What we didn't like was the breakfast room, like a zoo. Disgusting. The only place whose was the Dead Sea with 400 Russians and sea world Gold Coast

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsWorldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The Hermitage Hotel was a suitable place to stay to visit the Mt. Cook area. The service was exemplary and quite warm in contrast to the cold long corridors and sterile feeling one got walking through the place. We stayed on the tenth floor and had a marvelous view of the mountains. The room contained a king size bed as well as a sitting area with love seat and chair. The towels in the bathroom were luxurious. One definitely feels that she is staying in a hotel, rather than a lodge--it just didn't exude coziness. But, it offered space, views, and a great a la carte restaurant, so I can't complain.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SevenContinents50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,172 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
1,366 reviews
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
341 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermitage Hotel

Property: Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Aoraki Mt Cook Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7949, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, the Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing