We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Location to see great sights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
504 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“A great Location to see great sights”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a room that had a fantastic view of Mount Cook. The restaurant in the hotel also has a great view of Mount Cook. The food in the restaurant was good.The hotel was recently renovated and was nice and clean. Not spectacular but nice. The view at sunset was fantastic. You will want to stay here. We took a glacial lakes tour containing icebergs. It was a most enjoyable tour; we highly recommend it. It was a great place to spend my birthday.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJH2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    689
    410
    143
    60
See reviews for
371
1,125
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We were booked for only one night, but quickly extended for another night. The room we had was absolutely beautiful, well appointed and the view was worth the money, especially when the mist cleared and Mount Cook itself came into view. The buffet dinner at Alpine Restaurant was magnificent, will high quality food and lovely range. The views whilst having dinner were absolutely superb. The staff are very friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for the Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CONNIEM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I have just finished a most enjoyable driving holiday around the South Island of New Zealand, visiting from Sydney, Australia. On the spur of the moment we decided to visit the Aoraki/Mount Cook area. I first stayed at the Hermitage Hotel at Mount Cook over 40 years ago with my parents when it was brand new. I also have fond memories of driving to the Tasman glacier and climbing a very short distance to stand on the glacier during a spring visit. I remember glimpses of Mount Cook in the afternoon sunlight from my bedroom window at the hotel and a fine dinner with a pianist playing requests for diners. A revisit with my husband in late September 2012 was well worth it. No one can prepare you for the breathtaking view driving up the road right beside Lake Pukaki, or its amazing blue colour. We picnicked beside the Lake and enjoyed the lake and mountain view. Unfortunately the weather closed in just as we reached the hotel, so there was no view this time from my bedroom window of Mount Cook. However closer mountains gave an amazing view of the Hooker Valley that spreads out from the hotel. We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast 'special' package, as there is really no other place to eat, as the hotel is set amongst a wilderness park. The only other option is chalet style villas, also rented out by the hotel. Our three course meal was excellent and the restaurant was full of diners in a 'shoulder' tourist period. The restaurant is 'a la carte' however the dinner option we chose with our room package had several choices that were more than satisfactory. It was good service and we didn't have to wait ages for our meal to arrive, which is a fantastic plus. To my greatest pleasure, as we were checking in, I could hear the piano playing in the drawing room nearby, and an appreciative audience was applauding. A magnificent fire was flaming and the hotel was buzzing. We arrived without a booking and had to wait half and hour for our room to be prepared. Whist we waited we enjoyed the piano playing and the warm fire. We then viewed the Sir Edmund Hillary exhibition, permanently displayed in the hotel, which is a well mounted and interesting exhibition. There are movies running all day in the theatre, and a very large shop. We were not disappointed with our room, which was in the old section of the hotel. It was clean, comfortable and well appointed - really what more can you ask from a hotel room? Our room opened onto a shared garden and was quite lovely. Wild ducks were walking in the garden and were most entertaining. A brand new wing has been built behind the older part of the hotel and it looked magnificent. This was where the more expensive rooms and suites were located. There is also plenty of adjacent parking. I was totally happy with our standard room with a queen bed, but for a premium I am sure the new rooms would be fantastic. My husband took a rainy walk around the village before breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the wilderness areas. I preferred a cup of early morning tea made in our room. A small hiccup with our booking for breakfast was quickly overcome and we then enjoyed a delicious all you can eat breakfast buffet. The mountain views from both the dining room and the breakfast rooms are amazing and shouldn't be missed in your Mount Cook experience. We only stayed one night and I think this was lucky for us, as the promising break in the morning weather was short lived. A shortish drive to the Tasman Glacier was a mistake in the rain, which turned to sleet. The road was narrow but drivers sharing the road were courteous and careful. Sadly the Tasman glacier has retreated alarmingly. A twenty minute walk up the mountain will take you to the glacier but I am afraid we bailed on this opportunity, due to the horrible weather conditions. On a fine day it must be an amazing experience. So we may be back again! I am always reluctant to re-visit to a hotel, however this time I was not let down by the Hermitage at Mount Cook. Thanks for a great visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie282000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the premium plus top floor room. Excellent stay, cannot recommend this place highly enough.
Great spot for walks and...honeymoon activities. Our son also joined us on our last day of honeymoon, very family friendly.
Only complaint was our car doors were frozen shut when we went to leave, Mount Cook was trying to tell us something.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a stunning place - poured with rain the first day and very little to see or do in inclement weather but perfect sunshine and stunning views the second day. The Hermitage really has a prized location with lovely views from our room. Unfortunately, this monopoly, in our experience, contributed to sub standard service from staff.

We were in a standard mountain view room which was quite cramped, particularly with a portacot, but did have simple but up to date and tasteful decor. We called to ask if there were any rooms with a bathtub to bathe our baby before bed and were told there would be a $75 upgrade fee. We requested a high chair to give bub dinner and were told it would be brought right up - it never arrived. We called ahead to book stargazing, but when we phoned that evening to check if it was cancelled with the rain we were informed our names were not on the list anyway. The activities desk weren't very informed about heli ski options.

Certainly, the reviews are right, it's the best hotel in Mt Cook, given its location. I would like to see service be as memorable as this incredible location and do it justice. Next time I think we would stay at Lake Tekapo and day trip to Mount cook.

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room in the Wakefield wing with mountain views. Think ahead if you will need a bah...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesgoesglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Tschampel, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback about your recent stay at the Hermitage Hotel on Tripadvisor.com. I certainly appreciate being made aware of any service discrepancies and having the opportunity to rectify them.

The Hermitage Hotel offers different accommodation types to guests to ensure their comfort and well-being while with us. As you have traveled with young children, I agree that staying in a Standard Mt Cook View room was most likely not the most comfortable option and I invite you to visit the hotels website to gain more information on the different room categories we have available. Really popular by families with young children are our Chalets or Motel accommodation which offer more room space compare to our Standard hotel rooms, cooking and dining facilities, a spacious bathroom and mountain views.

I have shared your feedback with my team to make them aware about the shortfall in service you have experienced and I am confident that this action will prevent any other guests of experiencing the same as you did. Misplacing your ‘Stargazing’ booking or not following your request for a high chair in your room is certainly not the service level we want to provide to our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope we will be able to welcome you again to the Hermitage Hotel in the future.

Best regards,

Alexander Tschampel
Operations Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mount Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Hermitage Hotel has a long and interesting history which includes several expansions and re-furbishments. We were in a non-smoking Superior Room on the top floor of the Wakefield wing which included two queen beds, our own balcony and fantastic views of Mt.Cook at the head of the Hooker Valley. The hotel is clean, modern with an alpine feel, well appointed for relaxation with two restaurants plus a cafe; open fires [ when cold ] and bars. The staff are welcoming, attentive, knowledgeable and so nice to talk to.
This was our fourth visit [ for a two day toal break ] and we will be back !
Take advantage of the 'deals' that are offered from time to time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Awesome hotel location with the best views in the village of Mount Cook. Courtous staff and a freindly alpine atmosphere. Very relaxing. The Hillary centre was an attraction in its self. Would fefinately visit again.

Room Tip: The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
24.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing