We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and informative.”

Tasman Valley 4WD & Argo Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing and informative.”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a great bumpy ride to see the Tasman Glacier! Our driver, Graham was friendly and informative. Seeing the glacier was amazing. The ride was bumpy which gave us all something to laugh about! Couldn't do the Argo tour due it inclement weather but we didn't mind. Highly recommended activity when visiting the Mt Cook village.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DiB26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    18
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fun”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Thanks Lee, for a great morning. We really enjoyed how easy going and informative our guide was. We had the argo to ourselves and learnt so much about the glacier and the geology of the area. The Argo is an awesome machine and we had a blast. A must do at Mt Cook!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neroli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exhilarating!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This was such a different experience to other things we had done and great fun. The Argo bounced along and Graeme was full of interesting information re the glaciers and how they are formed and what is happening etc. It was a shock at first to one of our group when she saw the Argo but she loved it too! Fantastic experience to climb up the lateral moraine and see the glacier with its mantle of rock and dirt. Quite different to when we saw it 40 years ago before the lake appeared! Could recommend a sports bra for ladies!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I did this tour at the recommendation of a staff member at the information point at the hermitage hoteI.

I went with the guide in the morning (lee) and it was great. An adventure in the middle of a dreamland and there is a great view at the end of the drive. Lots of nice and cool information and really nice to do.

Nice view of the glacier and the lake ( better than the boat tour). So much more personal and a great time.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Midnighttiwlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Worthwhile experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We went with Graham mid afternoon after a long hike in the morning. It gave us the opportunity to see another part of the area . It is good fun on the Argo and Graham was engaging although he had a slightly end of day feel to him....it must be difficult being engaging all the time when you are doing the same trip over and over again but for guests it is the first time so the guides need to be equally enthusiastic every time. Great views of June Tasman glacier from high up above.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robinhood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasman Valley 4WD & Argo Tours also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Tasman Valley 4WD & Argo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing