We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Tasman Valley 4WD & Argo Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Decently priced activity that takes you on a fun (but rough and bumpy) ride to the Tasman Glacier. The view once there is outstanding.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dennyoswalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    18
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't leave without doing this trip!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We did this trip on 18th February with our 2 kids (aged 10 & 7 years). Our tour guide Graham was really pleasant and informative. The tour is essentially in 2 parts. The first and shortest section was across the valley in a 4 wheel drive vehicle across the spectacular scenery. We then transferred to the Argo for a proper fun, if not bumpy, off road experience. Graham stopped frequently to talk about the scenery, and look at the wild flowers. We then stopped for a short, but steep walk up the moraine until we reached a fantastic view of the Tasman glacier. This is "big country" and its hard to take in all the views and the scale of the mountains and glacier. We all agreed that you can't come to this area and not do this trip. Our 10 year old says that she never knew a 4WD trip could be so much fun!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Struan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“360 degree fun!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The argos are 8 wheel vehicles that can rotate 360 degrees and travel over very rough terrain. We were able to venture back into untravelable areas in order to view the glacial lake and other areas on Mt. Cook. Our guides were able to tell us about the flora and fauna and history of the area. Cost was $75 NZ dollars/pp.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glacier adventure”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Half the fun was the trip getting to the destination in the Argo! Graeme was very friendly and knowledgeable on the local flora and fauna, and adapted the trip to his passengers. Great views of the Tasman Glacier from a short walk up the moraine bank. We even had a flock of Kea follow us part of the way back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_adventurer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“This short trip saved our weekend”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were in the Mt Cook Village area for 24 hours only, we had 3 activities scheduled, and a flight to Christchurch. The weather meant two activities were cancelled, and so was the flight out, meaning we had to get an early bus to get to Christchurch and were going to miss the Argo activity as well.

However as the 11am trip had no bookings and we were the only people booked for the 1pm trip, thanks to the person at the Hermitage Activities Desk and the tour guide, they kindy took us immediately so we could do this trip and still make it back for the bus to Christchurch. Because we had missed out on the other things we wanted to do (Glacier Explorers trip and a helicopter ride), being able to do this one saved our weekend from being a total disaster!

The actual trip invoves a short 4WD drive and then the Argo vehicle for a few kilometers up some bumpy road. Hold on tight - my camera bounced out of my top pocked on the way back! There's some commentary about a few plants and a bit of history but mostly it's about getting to the lookout point to see the Tasman Glacier lake and the glacier itself.

When the Argo stops and you look at the ridge that you need to climb up, it looks pretty scary. But even though it looks like there is no path up through the loose rocks, there is a fairly easy path and before you know it you have gotten to the top. Luckily for us there was no rain and wind wasn't too bad, and we got to see the end of the glacier and the lake, and further up the valley to where the glacier emerges from the mountain all clean and white (when it gets to ground level it gets covered in rock and dirt).

We are very glad we got to do this, it's probably only 4 out of 5 stars as doing the Glacier Explorers trip would have taken us onto the lake and right up to the ice, but we're so glad the people showed initiative and took us out at an unscheduled time so our weekend wasn't a disappointment!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasman Valley 4WD & Argo Tours also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Tasman Valley 4WD & Argo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing