We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Pleasant Spot ”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Good food and beers, nice atmosphere with pleasant view and friendly service. Wide variety of food choices - I had pasta and my husband had a burger. We stopped in earlier in the day while at the Visitor Center (same parking lot), and were easily able to make a reservation, even choosing our table, one next to the window. I would recommend for a casual dinner.

Date of visit: March 2019
3  Thank PegSNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Thanks so much for your splendid review. It made our day! Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our beloved spot. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 164 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2019

This was one of the few places near Hooker Valley, and it had good reviews. Hence we decided to try it and did not regret!! The view and decor was nice too.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank debbiechoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Delighted you found us! And thank you for posting such a lovely review. It really is appreciated. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2019

We stopped for an early lunch after a morning hike, so we were hungry and thirsty. The staff was super friendly and accommodating, and the food didnt disappoint - we had a salmon bagel and a BLT, both big enough to fill us up. The salmon bagel was good (I just had a taste) and my BLT was super. They have cold water in carafes in a fridge, which we had plenty of, and what can you say -- it's got a superb view. Order at the counter and your food comes to you. I really wanted one of those T-Shirts but...a little out of my price range. I did enjoy seeing all the retro advertising posters and pictures near the front.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 2fromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Thank you for such a lovely comment and for taking the time to write it. Thank you also for the very kind words about our wonderful staff, too. Much appreciated. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2019

Fabulous place to eat and the view is amazing whist eating dinner! Food is excellent and organic, great service. Quiet relaxing surroundings with pictures of past Mt Cook climbers .
Excellent coffee and breakfast. No place better at Mt Cook!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

Delighted you found us and enjoyed everything about what we like to give with friendliness and passion. Thanks so much for getting what we do and thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Travel safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019

The food here is good, though not excellent. The usual choices of burgers, pizzas, and breakfast food. The bagel with smoked local salmon was quite good. Ice cream treats available in a freezer. Service was friendly and helpful. Good to make reservations for dinner.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank RyanLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harriet W, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2019

At dinner we also have fresh salmon, organic chicken korma curry, steaks and other dishes with fresh salad. Salmon salad is also available for lunch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.