We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privately owned - more reasonably priced”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We ate here our one night that we stayed in the Park. The menu offered some variety and had good taste. The service and prices were reasonable. Considering the alternatives at the hotel, I would definitely choose eating here again.

Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We do work hard to provide quality food and service. Thanks very much for recognizing that. Travel safe. M&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

673 - 677 of 981 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Mt Cook has very little choice of food outlet so it was a great surprise to find this gem. Food was simple but with interesting twists. Service was genuinely good and it was a standout against the Hremitage which in contrast was poor.

Thank rcb_manly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it. Much appreciated. We're so glad you found us! M&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My partner and I had dinner here recently for our one night in Aoraki Mt Cook. We shared a meatlovers pizza and a steak, both were nice but I wouldn't say anything too special. We were here on the Sunday of the Easter long weekend and were very surprised that we wouldn't be served any alcoholic drinks unless we produced proof of ID. Unfortunately our Australian licences weren't good enough, so we had to run back to our accommodation to get our passports. I suppose I should be flattered being asked for ID, it hasn't happened in so long!

This is a pretty good option for a meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaylee726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Good to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us. You're right though, we don't do ostentatious decorative meals; we prefer to focus on the quality of the ingredients and serve food you can taste which also means as much in the way of organic products as possible.
Laws on alcohol are very strict in NZ and if you have complaints about that you'd need to contact Parliament. Our staff were just following the law but lucky you being mistaken for being younger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had dinner here as a family and had a fabulous meal with great service. The food was amazing. So delicious. Would recommend to all.

Thank Herrsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Travel safe. M&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I visit Mt Cook around once per year and dinner and a beer at the Old Mountaineers is always a ritual for us. Its a beautiful setting, in a stunning location, with hearty food and always super friendly service. I love the memorabilia they have with the old photo's and the climbing gear, and the warmth and cosy atmosphere the fire creates. My only gripe is that they shut too early in the evenings as I always want to stay longer!

Thank Axeoneverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Oh that is so great that you visit every year! How lucky for us too! Reviews like yours make our day. Thanks so much for taking the time to write that you love our food, the atmosphere and the friendly service! Please do let us know when you're next here. Warmest regards M&C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing