We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great ”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really great ”
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here twice and breakfast once in our 2 day visit. The menu is relatively small, as you'd expect in somewhere as out of the way as Aoraki Mt Cook village - but actually that's also probably a NZ thing as we've been to loads of places with short but good menus. There was plenty of good food (HUGE amounts of smoked salmon on my breakfast bagel). The views were beautiful - book a table near the window to see sunset on a clear day. The staff were really friendly. The meal was really good value with good quality wine or beer. (We paid less for our meal here than similar in locations with more competition and ease of supply.)

Oh and the owner, Mary Hobbs, came around to check everyone's meals and evenings were good. A v nice touch!!

Helpful?
Thank SarahsOffAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thanks so very much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and ate your meals at The Old Mountaineers, while at Aoraki/Mt Cook. We look forward to seeing you back here again soon. I really do love meeting the guests too!
Kind regards M&C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    285
    142
    38
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Consistancy is missing”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having dined here twice in 2 days, just last week, we ordered the rib eye steak, there were differences of opinion of what medium to rare are, however , once discussed with the waitress after sending my steak back , and waiting an age for its return all was well , with a great dinner, surroundings and service.
Then we dined the second night only for my wife to have a not so good steak as although it was cooked okay there was no flavour to the meat.
It might help if the owners review the flavours of the steaks and the salads, are they are a little boring....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are delighted that your steak on the first night was cooked to your satisfaction and that you had a great dinner in wonderful surroundings with excellent service. It appears you wanted the steak cooked longer, and sometimes this takes a little while to get it exactly right but we're pleased we did. I personally visited each table and there were no complaints and many compliments on the steak with the delicious sauce of either pepper or mushroom. The steak is all exactly the same. Regarding the salad: we're probably the only restaurant where fresh greens are also served with tomato, red onion, olive and cucumber, with balsamic dressing, so, with all due respect, it is a little challenging to find what is boring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top food, views and people”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Booked heli hiking extraordinary experience fantastic guide incredible helicopter to and from Tasman glacier. Charlie is a great guide. Then to finish off Dinner in the cafe was best value and great food. The views are stunning

Helpful?
Thank Damakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks so much for telling us about your great experience on the heli-hike and dining with us, too in the evening. I remember your table and am delighted that you enjoyed the three different meals you ordered, including the steak and the "scrumptious" accompanying sauce. Best wishes for your travels. M&C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were delighted to find this restaurant as we were not excited by the buffet dinner at The Hermitage (where we staying). Definitely make a reservation as this place gets busy. We had a lovely table that looked right out onto the mountains. The food is very good and the interational staff are friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edgecombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that you had such a pleasant dining experience, and enjoyed the fresh food. Best wishes on your travels. M&C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“hearty meal”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great place for a hearty dinner after hiking all day. Had a great soup there, which was reasonably priced. Pizzas are huge, and if you can't eat it all, they're happy to pack it for you to take away

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgaCosmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
So glad you enjoyed your time with us, and our hearty meals! We also have fresh salmon, organic roasts, and delicious steaks, so lots to choose from if you are back this way again. Look forward to seeing you then. M&C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing