We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfuly experience! Highly Recommended!”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfuly experience! Highly Recommended!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Mount Cook was our first stop out of Christchurch and after a 4-5 hours drive, we were looking forward to a nice dinner. Having read the good reviews here, our expectations were up and OMC did not disappoint at all. The ambience was nice and relaxing. There was an informal lounge sort of seating area near the front and mountain climbing equipment adorning the walls. We ordered a pizza and sticky date pudding. The service was great, the pizza was one of the best we have tasted and the sticky date pudding was to die for! If we had any more nights at Mount Cook Village, there is no doubt we would have come here again. The difference by using organic ingredients only was quite visible in the amazing taste. The OMC is now one more reason for us to stop by Mt Cook Village on our next NZ trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSS2k81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thanks so very much for your wonderful review. It makes our day, and the staff love it, too. We really do try to give of our best and we're so appreciative that you enjoyed our special place of positive spirit, and the organic food as well! We wish you a wonderful time on your travels and hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Mary and Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    283
    139
    38
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We choose Old Mountaineers as an alternative to the expensive meals at the Hermitage. We were, however, very disappointed. Despite having a reservation, we were given a table with a lesser view than tables that were empty when we were seated. The service was spotty at best. My pizza was terrible. My wife's soup was acceptable, though pricey for what she got. We wanted to like this, but they don't deserve any praise.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tomtravel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are so sorry that you did not have the usual experience of our guests at The Old Mountaineers and we will look into this rare situation. We would've very happily replaced any meal you were not happy with, but it is difficult to do so if you don't mention it - or your preferred seating - at the time. Please let us know if you mentioned it to the staff through email and we'll sort this out. Kind regards Charlie and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great alternative to pricy Hermitage offerings”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is right next door to the Hermitage ... and it much more suitable for tired travelers. Laid back, good food, great service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found good food, a friendly atmosphere and good service at a reasonable price. We try to keep it as organic as possible for you, too! We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Travel safe. Kind regards, Charlie and Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great view and great food”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a relaxing dinner here. The restaurant had big glass windows with a superb view of Mt Cook. We ordered the salmon and it was very tasty. The fish was grilled perfectly, well done but still moist. The salad was good too and the portion was great. Staff were friendly and service was great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TuffKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words on our service and our food. We wish you a wonderful holiday and look forward to seeing you back again soon. Kind regards, Mary and Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Walking in the door we felt the ambience of something special. There is a peaceful feel to the restaurant, although there is a lively buzz of chatter from the tables sharing the days stories.
Only when you walk further in do you comprehend the breathtaking view of Mount Cook and surrounding beauty.
The food is healthy and extremely tasty. We ate there many times during our stay and not only was the food at a high standard but the staff were fabulous.
A great mix of all the right ingredients to serve up a lovely experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrEverest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie H, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
There a several things that make owning a restaurant here worthwhile and one of the top ones is when guests such as yourselves really do pick up on the spirit of our place, and also appreciate the fresh organic produce and our friendly staff. Thanks so much for making our place your base during your stay at our beloved Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park and thank you for your lovely comments. Please come and visit again soon. Mary and Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing