We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dhahran
2 reviews
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We loved the atmosphere and food and ate here for each night of our stay at mount cook. The service was good, hot chocolate gorgeous and the fire very welcome. Definitely recommended.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review on the good food and the atmosphere and service. We're delighted you enjoyed it and welcome you back next time to your home away from home at Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    286
    144
    38
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The atmosphere is great. Grab a beer and sit by the fireplace.”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is a great place to grab something to eat and relax while visiting Aorkai. Real laid back atmosphere and seemed to be family owned and run. Prices weren't exorbitant and the beer was cold. The fire in the fireplace added just the right touch with the Eagles Greatest Hits playing in the background. The views alone are worth the price of the meal.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockdoc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our place. Thanks for the lovely review.
Let us know when you're back next. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Boring menu, indifferent food”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Such a shame about this place as it could be another viable alternative to dining at The Hermitage. We had dinner here on our first night to avoid having an expensive buffet dinner at the Hermitage at 8.30 p.m. due to the tour groups. The venue is nice but the staff were a bit tentative and slow. Food was expensive for what we got even by Mount Cook standards. My vege burger was no a balanced meal. A white bread bun with skinny vege omelette and mounds of frilly lettuce and no much else....for $23.00. Menu was boring, not sure about a pasta with udon noodles.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Casa62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your review. We don't have udon noodles on our menu though, so not sure what this refers to. A good proportion of our food is organic, which does tend to increase the expense on some items slightly more. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with your meal and didn't let us know as we would have liked to correct it at the time. However, we would like you to know we have taken your comments into full consideration and have reviewed and upgraded our entire menu and we have new staff in the kitchen too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Yummy food, and what a view!”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After the sticker shock at The Hermitage, this place felt like a breath of fresh air. We had a simple dinner of burgers and fries (about US$12 each) but they were of much higher quality than we were expecting - the burgers were cooked perfectly and so well seasoned - one of the best I've eaten in a long time. Good, attentive service and the view is to die for! We sat next to the window and watched the sun set over Mt. Cook, and felt very lucky to have gotten such a great view and table.

The restaurant also has a bar and the owners run a small tour company. My partner went on the kayak trip to see the icebergs in a glacial lake, and had a fabulous time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. Much appreciated, and delighted that you had a great time at our place and enjoyed the glacier kayaking too. The meat in our patties is organic, so that would probably have contributed to the taste of the hamburger as well. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A refreshing change from the Hermitage Monopoly”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Finally found this Gem after having an awful experience elsewhere (and this cafe is conveniently missing from the Hermitage map) we were greeted and served by friendly staff. We even came back in the morning for an amazing breakfast. Perfect atmosphere for the setting, and didn't mind paying a little bit extra for quality, fresh and organic produce.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thanks for your very positive review. It's always great to be able to welcome people from places that are close to local as well. Let us know when you're back this way. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing