We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & Friendly Staff, Great Location, Beautiful Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Reviewed December 23, 2013

As I said in the title of the review, It sums it up very easily. I was a tent camper and found the area designated for tents was quite large and many sites to choose from. On the days that I was in the Mt. Cook and Glentanner region, I happened to get unbelievable weather and not a cloud in the sky. This made it very easy to explore as many things as I wanted and with the help from "Meagan" ( the over the top nice & informative reception girl) I was able to explore most of the parks glacier hikes, lakes, & rivers for fishing. I had an amazing, one of a kind time that I will remember forever. Its a when I come back, not an if I come back, I will be sure to stay at the Glentanner Park. The location is set back so one can view the whole park instead of being crammed at the base of the mountain as if looking up at a skyscraper. I highly suggest staying at the Glentanner park, you can't go wrong! Great facility.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Wow thank you very much for such an amazing review. It is so great to read about your fantastic adventures here! I have also passed your comments onto Megan.

Happy Travels!

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

595 - 601 of 763 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Totally mesmerized by the view....wish was there more than a night. During the day u have a clear view of mt cook and by night be ready to look up in the sky and gaze at the stars. Great BBQ place and very close to nature. Facilities were sufficient and had comfortable stay at the park....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank t0mmi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were camping with a small tent -
The campsite is very spacious with open grassy areas as well as wooded sections. The cafe is very good and the reception and cafe staff were very helpful and friendly.
The kitchen is very well equipped. There were some native birds to be seen in the grounds with a pair of rifleman nesting in a box on the side of the kitchen.
It is possible to walk down to Lake Pukaki from the campsite.
I have only one thing to mention that I would consider an improvement. The doors in the toilets and the showers need to be higher to provide privacy and there need to be hooks rather than just a stool on which to place your clothes. The showers themselves were very good. That said, I would not hesitate to revisit the site or to recommend it to others. It takes about 20 minutes to drive to Mount Cook Village and so Glentanner is well placed. It is easy to visit the Hooker and Tasman Glaciers.

Room Tip: Not applicable as we were camping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RichardofRannoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful and very informative review. It is great you had such a great time at Glentanner! We hope the rest of your trip in NZ from Scotland was as good!

Just a quick note to say we now have hooks in our showers. We apologise that they were not there during your stay (our ablution block was revamped in September 2013).

KInd Regards

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Glentanner has an excellent location in the mountainous region of Mount Cook at the shore of Lake Pukaki. The holiday park offers a spacious camp site, perfect facilities, a good restaurant and a very friendly and helpful staff. Flights to Mount Cook start right from Glentanner and Mount Cook Village is not far. We highly recommend this holiday park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

They easily accomodated our late check in. We had no problems getting our dorm key and finding our beds. It was a shame they did not give us a double bed when we had asked for one and there was one free (but it was in an empty dorm room - so perhaps they didnt want to have to clean another dorm room for the sake of two people...). Another guest said the cost of bedding was relatively high for a backpackers ($8 for the night i think). Shared living and kitchen areas were well equipped and clean. Nice walk to the lake at sunset - great way to close the first night of our travels around NZ.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Pleased to hear your check in ran smoothly. We have a wonderful reception team!

We have just one room allocated as a dorm room which is cabin no. 1. One of our Standard Cabins does have a duo bunk (double bed on the bottom and single on the top) but this is a private room. Sorry for the confusion.

It is wonderful you were able to enjoy our magnificent sunset from the lake, like you say what an awesome start to your travels.

We hope the rest of your trip was just as fantastic!

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

As a campsite it is alright but it lacks easy access to Mt Cook without having to drive your camper van up there each day. After spending one night there we drove to Mt Cook and stayed in the DoC campsite. For this site to rate better it would need two things, a dump station and a free shuttle bus to Mt Cook.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HappyTravla64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you did not stay both nights with us. We do our best to provide the best possible service for our guests which includes listening to what our guests have to say and acting upon it. Unfortunately our sewage tank is not big enough to accommodate campervans so I am sorry we do not have a dump station (as you are most likely aware the nearest is in Mt Cook, and then Twizel and Tekapo).

Thank you for your suggestion with regards to a free shuttle bus to Mt Cook. It would be nice to be able to offer this however we feel we wouldn’t have enough people using it to make it worthwhile. Mt Cook has great parking spots for campervans and it allows those on self drive holidays to explore the region (including Glentanner and our activities) in their own time. Your review is most certainly noted however, thank you.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

For a family of 4 at $66, we expected to have dump station but there were none. Nearest is either in twizel or lake tekapo. They have 1/2 hr free wifi but the signal is horrible. The kitchen is big and basic equipped. Shower is the worst, it is either scorching hot or the pressure is weak. Shower room doesn't have hooks for you to hang your clothes! Beautiful view though from the kitchen but u can easily have this round lake pukaki.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank EdithCChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased you liked our location and the cleanliness of our holiday park.

We are sorry we do not have a dump station, this is because our sewage tank is not big enough to cater for all the units as well as the campervans. The nearest is in Mt Cook, or yes Twizel or Tekapo. We hope this is not too inconvenient for our guests. With regards to our price we feel our guests are getting their moneys worth with the great facilities we have all at no extra costs, but thank you for your feedback.

We are very happy to be offering free Wi-Fi for 30 minutes. Generally the signal is great, however as you move away from the main facilities block the signal gradually fades, so the far powered sites have a weak signal. It can also be weaker if heaps of people are using it at once. We are proud to be offering such a good Wi-Fi service as reports have been that many in our region don’t.

We are very sorry your shower was either too hot or too cold. This year (September 2013) we renovated our bathrooms, which included putting a pump in the roof to improve the shower pressure (we know how important a good shower is!). I spoke to our Holiday Park caretakers about this issue you have brought to our attention (thank you very much, if we don’t know we can’t fix it!), they said about every 2 weeks the filters get blocked and this problem occurs. From here they are going to check it much more frequently to ensure this does not happen again.

Again, sorry there were no hooks in the showers during your stay. Hooks were put in our showers yesterday.

You mention the Lake Pukaki view – yes it is wonderful. You can view Lake Pukaki from a couple of look out points along State Highway 80, but there is no other place to camp. We love that we have such an amazing panoramic view of the mountains and lake!

Thanks again for your review, reviews such as yours are most beneficial in helping us improve our service.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
12.5 mi away
The Hermitage Hotel
The Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
2,106 reviews
24 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
24.3 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
12.1 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
386 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre

Address: State Highway 80 | Glentanner, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: $73 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glentanner Park Centre, Aoraki/Mount Cook's Holiday Park, Flightseeing and Activity Centre is sited on the shores of Lake Pukaki, with phenomenal views of Aoraki Mount Cook. Boasting the best weather in the region, Glentanner is conveniently located just 18km from Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Set amongst a working high country sheep station, Glentanner is kiwi at its best! We offer a range of budget accommodation options including fully equipped self contained units with own kitchenette and bathroom, standard and basic units with shared facilities, dormitory beds, power sites for caravans & camper vans & tent sites. Facilities include a large kitchen, dining and TV lounge, indoor/outdoor BBQ pavilion, laundry, ablution block, computers and WiFi internet (30 min free). In the purpose built centre you will also find a merino retail and souvenir shop and cafe. Outdoor adventure activities include helicopter flights with snow landings, scenic flights, heli-hiking, glacier boat trips, fishing, hunting and world famous walks and hikes. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentanner Park Centre (Mount Cook) Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing