We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Views and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed two nights here in a self contained unit. I was impressed at the quality of everything in the room, including the bathroom and kitchen appliances. The pictures online do not do it justice because I think the bed covers make it look outdated. Since we had a self contained unit we did not make use of the other facilities, but it looked like everything we may have needed was there.

The walk to the lake was a bit longer than expected, but it offered incredible views and was a nice easy stroll. The views of Mt. Cook and the surrounding mountains were far better from here than I felt they were in the Mt. Cook township. I would definitely choose to stay here again over staying in Mt. Cook. Especially since its just a quick drive there. The drive to Tekapo is about an hour away, but the scenery is so beautiful the trip flies by.

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They offered great recommendations on things to do in the area and were helpful with general travel questions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristenH415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
There are newer reviews for Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 736 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed one night here. There was a nice walk to the lake with lovely views. The lounge area was nice but had a bit of a funny smell. There were a lot of rabbits in the area which made the ground a bit uneven on the walk to the lake so take care. There are also pheasents wandering around which was great to see. I would recommend it for a nights stop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Glentanner Park Centre is an excellent base for our Geography Camp. Our students enjoy the amazing views, the friendliness of staff and the camp facilities. The bunk rooms are functional and comfortable.

The BBQ area is a useful addition to the cooking facilities and made it easy and a fun way to feed the girls for two of the four nights. Despite the May temperatures they chose to eat there instead of being in the lounge/dining room
.
The rooms used for the staff were comfortable and we had no problem with noise. I would recommend the Park for School trips. Having Toilets attached to the bunk rooms made supervision at night easier.

Many thanks 'Glentanner' for allowing us to study stream flows on the farmland and for adding to what is one of our favourite EOTC adventures. For many students it may be their only trip to Aoraki/Mt Cook.

Room Tip: There are a variety of room types. Explain carefully what you want. This is my 10th Visit to the par...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your continued support Sue, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Closest hostel to Mt Cook, the site is fine. However, the owners are using that proximity to over-charge and under serve. My husband and I toured the South Island for 5 weeks in Feb. and March, 2013. We paid $95 NZD for a room with 2 single beds and nothing else. There is no insulation between the walls and to use the kitchen facilities we had to pay an additional $10.Every New Zealander we spoke to was horrified by the room fee. We stayed in many hostels and small hotels and B&Bs during our trip and only 1 other time did we feel we were taken advantage of. If you have any other alternative at Mt Cook stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am sincerely sorry to hear you felt you were taken advantage of when staying with us. The room costing $95 for 2 adults is our Basic Unit which consists of a Queen bed and two single beds. We price our rooms based on the expenses incurred such as labour and linen balanced with the price needed to ensure we can keep our heads above the water as well as maintaining and improving the Holiday Park. This winter we are renovating the shared bathrooms (used by those in Basic Cabins) as well as our reception area.

The fee for using the kitchen cupboard is yes $10, and you get $5 back when you return the key. We would prefer not to charge for this, however it has proven to be the only option as so much of the equipment gets stolen and is not left in a good condition for other users (especially when left as free for all).

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for five nights.
The location is stunning, price was pretty good, however, the major let down was the sound insulation, or lack of it.
The floors creak, so anyone moving in any of the cabins can be heard throughout the entire place. Anyone talking, TV going, snoring, pretty much all noise can easily transfer between the walls.
It's a great place for views of Mt Cook and the valley, but just don't expect much quiet between places.

A suggestion would be for management to hire out rooms 6, 8 and 10 first and only fill rooms 7 and 9 if you need to. This gives a room between people which helps reduce the noise overspill.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry for the noise between units. In 2010 we renovated the kitchen and bathrooms in these units, and in doing so we added sound proof Gib. This significantly reduced the noise. To diminish it, we need to put sound proof Gib on the other walls of the units. This is a very expensive exercise, but is on our ‘to do’ list. More pressing however, is the upgrade of our reception area and the shared bathrooms – which are happening this winter.

Thank you very much for your suggestion re filling rooms 6,8 and 10 first. It has brought it back into our minds and we will do this from now on.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Although the site is quite out on it's own & nothing else really close by, it was very well set up, if a little basic with very helpful staff and also very peaceful. We had a powered site for a couple of nights and there was loads of space to set up camp! We woke to brilliant sunshine & fantastic views of Mount Cook & decided to book a helicopter flight which was an amazing experience & a must do. We also drove up to the White Horse Hill campground (approx 20 mins) & did the start of the Hooker Valley track walk just to the view point of the Glacier and first swing bridge which is probably the best bit of the walk and with amazing views. I would suggest getting any supplies and shopping before you get to the site as there isn't anything near by. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kentishele05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The park was very quiet when we visited, about 5 or 6 other campers. Facilities were clean, a lot of cooktops/fridges. Showers/bathrooms were fine.

Great view of the mountain from some of the tent sites!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
12.5 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,977 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
362 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre

Address: State Highway 80 | Glentanner, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: $83 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glentanner Park Centre, Aoraki/Mount Cook's Holiday Park, Flightseeing and Activity Centre is sited on the shores of Lake Pukaki, with phenomenal views of Aoraki Mount Cook. Boasting the best weather in the region, Glentanner is conveniently located just 18km from Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Set amongst a working high country sheep station, Glentanner is kiwi at its best! We offer a range of budget accommodation options including fully equipped self contained units with own kitchenette and bathroom, standard and basic units with shared facilities, dormitory beds, power sites for caravans & camper vans & tent sites. Facilities include a large kitchen, dining and TV lounge, indoor/outdoor BBQ pavilion, laundry, ablution block, computers and WiFi internet (30 min free). In the purpose built centre you will also find a merino retail and souvenir shop and cafe. Outdoor adventure activities include helicopter flights with snow landings, scenic flights, heli-hiking, glacier boat trips, fishing, hunting and world famous walks and hikes. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentanner Park Centre (Mount Cook) Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing