We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed four nights with our Students and 7 staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We stayed four nights with our Students and 7 staff”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Glentanner Park Centre is an excellent base for our Geography Camp. Our students enjoy the amazing views, the friendliness of staff and the camp facilities. The bunk rooms are functional and comfortable.

The BBQ area is a useful addition to the cooking facilities and made it easy and a fun way to feed the girls for two of the four nights. Despite the May temperatures they chose to eat there instead of being in the lounge/dining room
.
The rooms used for the staff were comfortable and we had no problem with noise. I would recommend the Park for School trips. Having Toilets attached to the bunk rooms made supervision at night easier.

Many thanks 'Glentanner' for allowing us to study stream flows on the farmland and for adding to what is one of our favourite EOTC adventures. For many students it may be their only trip to Aoraki/Mt Cook.

Room Tip: There are a variety of room types. Explain carefully what you want. This is my 10th Visit to the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your continued support Sue, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    300
    143
    40
    16
See reviews for
251
283
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Closest hostel to Mt Cook, the site is fine. However, the owners are using that proximity to over-charge and under serve. My husband and I toured the South Island for 5 weeks in Feb. and March, 2013. We paid $95 NZD for a room with 2 single beds and nothing else. There is no insulation between the walls and to use the kitchen facilities we had to pay an additional $10.Every New Zealander we spoke to was horrified by the room fee. We stayed in many hostels and small hotels and B&Bs during our trip and only 1 other time did we feel we were taken advantage of. If you have any other alternative at Mt Cook stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am sincerely sorry to hear you felt you were taken advantage of when staying with us. The room costing $95 for 2 adults is our Basic Unit which consists of a Queen bed and two single beds. We price our rooms based on the expenses incurred such as labour and linen balanced with the price needed to ensure we can keep our heads above the water as well as maintaining and improving the Holiday Park. This winter we are renovating the shared bathrooms (used by those in Basic Cabins) as well as our reception area.

The fee for using the kitchen cupboard is yes $10, and you get $5 back when you return the key. We would prefer not to charge for this, however it has proven to be the only option as so much of the equipment gets stolen and is not left in a good condition for other users (especially when left as free for all).

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip, and thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for five nights.
The location is stunning, price was pretty good, however, the major let down was the sound insulation, or lack of it.
The floors creak, so anyone moving in any of the cabins can be heard throughout the entire place. Anyone talking, TV going, snoring, pretty much all noise can easily transfer between the walls.
It's a great place for views of Mt Cook and the valley, but just don't expect much quiet between places.

A suggestion would be for management to hire out rooms 6, 8 and 10 first and only fill rooms 7 and 9 if you need to. This gives a room between people which helps reduce the noise overspill.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are sorry for the noise between units. In 2010 we renovated the kitchen and bathrooms in these units, and in doing so we added sound proof Gib. This significantly reduced the noise. To diminish it, we need to put sound proof Gib on the other walls of the units. This is a very expensive exercise, but is on our ‘to do’ list. More pressing however, is the upgrade of our reception area and the shared bathrooms – which are happening this winter.

Thank you very much for your suggestion re filling rooms 6,8 and 10 first. It has brought it back into our minds and we will do this from now on.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Although the site is quite out on it's own & nothing else really close by, it was very well set up, if a little basic with very helpful staff and also very peaceful. We had a powered site for a couple of nights and there was loads of space to set up camp! We woke to brilliant sunshine & fantastic views of Mount Cook & decided to book a helicopter flight which was an amazing experience & a must do. We also drove up to the White Horse Hill campground (approx 20 mins) & did the start of the Hooker Valley track walk just to the view point of the Glacier and first swing bridge which is probably the best bit of the walk and with amazing views. I would suggest getting any supplies and shopping before you get to the site as there isn't anything near by. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishele05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The park was very quiet when we visited, about 5 or 6 other campers. Facilities were clean, a lot of cooktops/fridges. Showers/bathrooms were fine.

Great view of the mountain from some of the tent sites!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Glentanner has beautiful views of Mt. Cook. The facilities are clean and comfortable, including the bathrooms (with free showers) and basic kitchen. You have to pay for wi-fi, dishes, and laundry. It was a delightful place to stay and the star gazing was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower5158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Glentanner for one night at the end of April 2013. We had a self-contained unit which was very clean, comfortable and with superb views.

However, there were guests in the units on both sides (shared walls) and even though no-one was particularly loud you could hear voices from the next unit. Even worse was the floorboard creak when someone in one of the other units moved about and our boards creaked. I can only assume that the other guests were aware of the noise issue as everyone was as quiet as they could be. Thanks to my neighbours that night!

To wake up to the sight of Mt. Cook framed in your doorway is spectaclularly breathtaking!

Room Tip: If choosing a self-contained cabin ask for one on the end - then you have only one shared wall.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gertrude225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Very pleasing to hear of your great time here at Glentanner. We are sorry for the noise between units. In 2010 we renovated the kitchen and bathrooms in these units, and in doing so we added sound proof Gib. This significantly reduced the noise. To diminish it, we need to put sound proof Gib on the other walls of the units. This is a very expensive exercise, but is on our ‘to do’ list. More pressing however, is the upgrade of our reception area and the shared bathrooms – which are happening this winter.

Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you back here to marvel our amazing scenery!

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
12.5 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,955 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
12.2 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
359 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre

Property: Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Address: State Highway 80 | Glentanner, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glentanner Park Centre, Aoraki/Mount Cook's Holiday Park, Flightseeing and Activity Centre is sited on the shores of Lake Pukaki, with phenomenal views of Aoraki Mount Cook. Boasting the best weather in the region, Glentanner is conveniently located just 18km from Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Set amongst a working high country sheep station, Glentanner is kiwi at its best! We offer a range of budget accommodation options including fully equipped self contained units with own kitchenette and bathroom, standard and basic units with shared facilities, dormitory beds, power sites for caravans & camper vans & tent sites. Facilities include a large kitchen, dining and TV lounge, indoor/outdoor BBQ pavilion, laundry, ablution block, computers and WiFi internet (30 min free). In the purpose built centre you will also find a merino retail and souvenir shop and cafe. Outdoor adventure activities include helicopter flights with snow landings, scenic flights, heli-hiking, glacier boat trips, fishing, hunting and world famous walks and hikes. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentanner Park Centre (Mount Cook) Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing