We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience The Helicopter Line Mount Cook
from $391.76
More Info
from $184.36
More Info
from $322.63
More Info
from $279.83
More Info
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
161
25
7
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
161
25
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heli hike pilot jim minute flight an incredible experience amazing views tasman glacier great flight scenic flight new zealand an adventure ground staff once in a lifetime ice cave mount cook lana snow helicopter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 199 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

I went on the Tasman Glacier Heli-Hike. The whole experience was fantastic, the flight up to the Glacier was great, so much to see in a short ride. Walking about on the Glacier was magical and the guides were brilliant they made our trip. I would highly recommend this company and the trip just amazing.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank terryc955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Were so pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience, thank you for your recommendation and nice comments. We hope to see see you again.

Kind Regards,
The Helicopter Line, Mt Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

Had an amazing glacier heli hike with Eddie (guide), Mike (heli pilot) and the team. Great flight up the valley over the Blue lakes and up the Tasman Glacier before landing and then walking over the glacier looking at the different features and to a view of a lovely waterfall . Eddie told us a lot about the glacier on the way and also made sure we had some good photo stops! On the flight back the helicopter returned down the opposite side of the valley giving a view of the Mueller Hut and the sides of Mount Cook. We were lucky to have great weather but even if it was cloudy this would be a great and unique experience. Thanks to all the team for a great experience .

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jax565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your trip. The flight up to Tasman Glacier is a unique and exciting experience, thank you for taking the time to send us through this.

Kind Regards,
The Helicopter Line Team, Mt Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

This was a beautiful way to view the NZ glaciers and mountain ranges. Well worth the effort (I hate heights). Thanks to our very knowledgeable pilot Simon. The snow landing was a fun chance for an impromptu snow fight.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Kelmac098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Flying over the mountain ranges and glacier by helicopter is a fantastic experience, we're pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us.

Kind Regards,
Mt Cook, Helicopter Line Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Went on a Heli Glacier Hike. It was amazing, with the ice crevices and ice cave.
Saw avalanches too.
The part that impressed me the most is the guide Eddie. As the beginning of the hike, my crampon was stuck. Eddie helped me with it and unfortunately the crampon sliced his finger. It was a deep cut and blood was dripping. Eddie, however continued with the hike, telling us interesting information and even using his pick axe to make a pathway for us (blood still dripping from his finger). His professionalism, passion in his job is amazing. Kudos to him for making the hike an exhilarating experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank James03042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We’re so pleased that you enjoyed our Tasman Glacier Heli-Hike. We will pass on your kind words to our guide Eddie, he will be thrilled to hear this.

Our guides are passionate about the job they do, they love educating anyone and everyone on our glaciers and the nature that surrounds us in our Mt Cook region.


Thank you once again for taking the time to send us through your message.

Kind Regards,
The Helicopter Line Team, Mt Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

This was an incredible experience! As someone who has a slight fear of heights, and has never been on a helicopter, I was definitely a little nervous, however, all of those nerves disappeared once we saw those gorgeous mountain and glacier views. My husband and I were so lucky to have a nice sunny day for our tour, and although they were busy because of that, everything was well organized and ran smoothly from start to finish. To see Mount Cook from the air, and to land and walk around on a glacier high in the mountains was just such an awesome experience. Words cannot even describe! I am so glad we had the opportunity to do this. If you are traveling in the Mount Cook area, you should definitely schedule the time to stop at Glentanner Park and book a helicopter flight! You will not regret it!

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank 989krystalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your flight it makes our day hearing comments like this, it is truly breath-taking seeing Mt Cook and all the surrounding mountains ranges and especially if you get a good weather day as well.

Thank you for taking the time to send us through your kind words and recommendations.

Kind Regards,
Mt Cook Helicopter Line Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews