We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely breathtaking experience”

The Helicopter Line Mount Cook
Book In Advance
More Info
$182.32*
and up
Mount Cook Alpine Vista Helicopter Flight
More Info
$273.47*
and up
Mount Cook Alpine Explorer Helicopter Flight
More Info
$341.84*
and up
Mount Cook Mountains High Helicopter Flight
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glentanner Park is situated within a genuine working high country sheep station located in an idyllic setting at the base of New Zealand’s highest mountain, Aoraki/Mount Cook. The surrounding scenery varies from the glacial fed Lake Pukaki and the surrounding rugged high country landscape to the soaring peaks and mighty glaciers of the Southern Alps. The Helicopter Line provides a range of scenic flights that venture into this alpine wonderland and offer you the privileged views.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An absolutely breathtaking experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I booked this trip completely out of the blue an hour before I got into the helicopter. The staff at the counter are fabulous and they managed to sell me the 50 minute trip up to Mount Cook as well as around Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers. It was an incredible experience. Our pilot was awesome and was extremely happy to turn the chopper around for me to get better photo angles. Super experience which I recommend to anyone. Absolutely anyone.

Helpful?
Thank jwhizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to place a review. We do appreciate this. The Mount Cook and glacier flight is a fabulous product. A very popular product with our guests, we always aim to please. Thanks again from the team at The Helicopter Line, Glentanner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was such an amazing experience. You leave the ground in shorts and T-shirts, and after a 10 minute flight you're on top of a mountain in the snow. The view was incredible. Would definately recommend this experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Livi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, we are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us at Glentanner.
We are privileged to be able to offer such unique experiences in the pristine environment. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience. Thanks again from the Heli Line Team at Mount Cook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Highlight of the holiday”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

What a great experience to fly up the Tasman valley to the glacier and then have a snow landing in the Mt Cook range. Great photo opportunities. Well worth the money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi There, We are very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience flying with us and thank you for your positive review. Hopefully you got some great snaps of Mount Cook. Thanks again from the Heli Line Team at Mount Cook.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“be warned”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

just be aware that these helicopters CAN take six passengers. We were told that four were necessary and that the two passengers in the front seat would swap with those in the back when the copter landed in the snow. When we arrived there were four others and no attempt was made to share the best seats. We did complain and were given a partial refund but the trip was spoilt for us. We could have waited for another flight had we known. So make sure you find out how many are going and ensure that you get the front seat for at least part of the trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bk1252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your review alerting us to the frustrations and disappointment you experienced when you visited Glentanner.
I can assure you that we continually strive to, and generally exceed our customers' expectations, so what you have experienced is extremely disappointing for our team.
We assure you that your feedback has given us the opportunity to remedy any problem that may exist and help to improve our service further.
I have spoken with both your pilot and the ground staff that you had dealings with on the day. While it appears that all our standard procedures with regard to numbers, flight times and weight loadings were followed, I can see there was certainly room for improved communications on the day.
The staff and I extend our apologies for the disappointment this experience has caused you.

On a positive note, hopefully receiving a 50% discount on the day has gone someway towards us making amends.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Tom Shields
Business Manager – Mt Cook Region
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the best experience of my life!”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

6 days after my flight and I am still buzzing! I absolutely loved this flight, our pilot Chris was amazing and friendly, his knowledge of the area was outstanding and the views were breathtaking. If you are in this area you simply must take this trip! The whole experience was an absolute joy!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank boltos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with The Helicopter Line Mount Cook. Chris and all of our pilots have an expert knowledge of mountain flying and of Mount Cook National Park. Thank you for your positive review and recommendations. From the team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Helicopter Line Mount Cook also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Helicopter Line Mount Cook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing