We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny boutique campground”
Review of Abisko Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Methven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abisko Campground
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is great, it close to 2 pubs, cafe and shop. There are welcoming and friendly staff provide us many useful information and give us recommendation place to eat which is wonderful. However, I do not feel very comfortable with unisex toilet/bathroom but this is not a major problem for me. The TV lounge and kitchen are clean too. The coin operated shower should at least able to accept small coin other than just $1 coin and maybe consider for free cold shower.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Hello joeygo,

Thank you for taking time to review our campground. It is always refreshing to see a review from a seasoned traveller.

Yes, the campground is very well situated in Methven and I think anyone would agree that being walking distance to nearly everything in Methven that is important is just fantastic. The famous Blue pub is a small 300m walk so there is no excuse for not having a pint while in Methven.

Being a little in love with food, we do have a reasonable working knowledge of the menus in Methven – and yes, we have our fav’s. You can not normally go past the Last Post (only 200 m walk), and if you do, you will end up at the Blue pub and you certainly wont be disappointed there either with excellent sized portions (well, maybe a little too big sometimes). Methven is very in touch with special dietary needs also which is refreshing.

Cleanliness is our main concern after our price point ensuring great value for money. We work hard to keep our facilities clean and do ask people to do the right thing if we find them not. This is the rarity though as most sensible people are realising the impact they may have on others are not selfish enough to leave and unreasonable mess for others to be exposed to. Having said this, we take great pride in the fact that you thought our place was spick-and-span.

The unisex showers are polarising. Some people (families) love them, some are in different and some are not so fussed. We are looking at options on how to address this as this is what was provided when we took over the management of the campground and any change could be expensive. This is a matter that we are considering.

Thank you again for your kind words and suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Abisko Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed overnight on a powered site and found the facilities very good. The manager was very friendly and provided lots of information on the general area, as well as recomendations for places to eat. The bathroom facilities were very clean and very well maintained. The unisex bathroom was a surprise but actually worked quite well. The only thing to watch is the coin operated showers - it can take a little while for everything to start so dont be impatient and start feeding in the coins. For eats while you are staying there you cant go past the Blue Pub just up the road. A very pretty little place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Owner at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Hi Rilee0211,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our campground and your experience with your stay recently.

Methven has a lot to offer and is a laid back kind of place where nothing happens in a hurry (except the emergency services). Smiles are free in Methven. There is so much to do in and around Methven – just ask.

We are so glad that you were happy with the campground and that it well and truly met your expectations. We are always happy to help with ideas to make your stay in Methven as much fun as it can be – and there is a lot to do, or if you are like us when we travel, you can do a whole lot of nothing too – like just soaking up the atmosphere while enjoying a coffee (and cake) at one of the many local coffee shops.

Cleanliness is the key most important focus for us – we are sure to have the facilities spick and span wherever possible – thank you for commenting on this and we are glad that they were to a high standard.

So glad that we, and Methven in general, have made your holiday a pleasant experience. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

Alex & Luenne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Good - location is great right in the heart of town, easy to walk to shops etc, the park itself and bathrooms were clean, wifi excellent signal and well priced.

The Bad - the park itself is rather small considering what is on offer it is definitely overpriced. The bathroom is unisex and considering the price you pay to stay the night it seems a bit much to pay for a shower, you can't have a cold shower for free either. Don't even bother doing laundry if you don't need a dryer fine but it took us $8 to dry a load of clothing! For $2 you get 14 minutes. The lady at reception ice enough but not overly knowledgable when asked questions regarding the town instead she told us to go to the towns information centre. Not a big deal but thought worth a mention.

All in all I wouldn't recommend staying more than one night unless necessary. Especially if you have children.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chloe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for writing your first ever review on our campground. We are glad you agree that we have the best position in town and that we keep it very clean and have excellent and well priced WiFi. These are all true.

I will address another issue before I go on with your review – based on your fraudulent activity during check-in.

When you checked-in, you completed the check-in form marking 2 adults and 2 children. When you walked out of the campground a little later, we counted 2 adults and 4 children – 2 children were sent out to the footpath separately but joined your group just up the road so as not to raise too much suspicion. You were challenged on this and made an excuse that two of the children were not originally staying but now are – Hmmmm. I am guessing this is the real reason for your review.

Fraud is fraud and comes in many shapes and sizes. We do challenge guests who make false claims on their check-in documentation as this affects us greatly. For someone who works in your industry, I would expect you have a sound understanding of the meanings and implications of fraud. We are leaving this review up for your superiors to read about your activity.

Abisko Campground is a small boutique campground (from our website) situated in the heart of Methven. Yes, it is small – we know this and we pay attention to the details. Our pricing is based on value, rather than the cheapest. We are not the cheapest campground in Methven – guests check us out, go to the others and then come back and spend that few extra dollars. We do not do long-termers and our park is tourist and family friendly. Many comment on how quiet it is – we work to achieve this.

Pricing wise, well we can compare the apples to something closer to home for you. We charged you NZ$63.00 for your stay (2 A & 4 C). Three Snowy Mountain Campgrounds charge NZ$79.00, NZ$102.00 & NZ$114.00 for the same amount of people on a powered site in the winter season. So, we are almost half the price of some of these places. Overpriced? Really?

I am not sure who would want a cold shower after a day carving up the slopes of Mt Hutt in the middle of winter… Get my drift… Most want to soak in the piping hot spa or roast it up in the sauna – never ever has anyone wanted an ice cold shower before.

Our laundry is well priced also for commercial sized machines. We are so confident with this pricing that we actually advertise the commercial laundry down the road for anyone who wants to go there instead – our price is the same and you have the convenience of well maintained and near new machines. I washed two loads in Venice Italy once, cost me over $80.00 – the cost of laundry outside your own home is expensive; it’s part of the expense of having a holiday.

Courtesy of www.sadieslaundry.co.nz, the cost of a 6kg Maytag washing machine load (same as our machines) is $4.00 – same price as us. The cost of a large commercial dryer (same as our machines) is $2.00 for 8 minutes – over DOUBLE the rate we charge. Overpriced??? Really???

I do hope this helps. I also look forward to your next review on Trip Advisor, but considering your travels in New Zealand recently and probably we were the only ones to pick you on the fraud issue, I guess we will never ever hear from you again. Till then, safe travels.

We are happy to discuss this more should you decide to phone or email us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We tried to spend one night with our motorhome there but we were asked to leave or they will call the police !
Facts :
- We arrived at 6:30pm, we paid our night for a powered site plus an internet access (44$ in total)
- After less than one hour, we wanted to take a shower and when arriving in front of the shower, we discovered that we needed to pay
- We went to the reception to ask why we had to pay for one shower and more why they didn’t tell us when checking in. I mean, it’s not about paying for a shower (by the way, after two weeks in new zealand, first time we had that !), it was more not being in front of the situation at 7:30pm with no coins with us to pay for it !
- The person responsible in the reception didn’t want to admit that they should tell the customers when checking in and began to raise his voice as he didn’t want to discuss with me and threatened he will call the police if I didn’t stop the discussion. He told me basically I had two options : accept that and pay or leave the camp with a refund.
- We finally left the camp. When he gave me the refund, he was trying to say something about « in Europe, I had to pay for a shower… » What does it mean ? I would think it’s a kind of discriminated comment…
- We went to another camp for 32$ dollar with 50c for a shower.

Anyway, we travelled around New Zealand during 3 weeks and we never had this kind of behaviour. We travelled in a lot of others countries and first time I have this kind of threat. I mean, we paid for our night, we were polished, and we just wanted to understand, to say we don’t find this policy fair and especially to explain him that we have to be informed during checking in. New Zealand is a really one of the beautiful country we visited, this kind of unaccepatble behaviour has to be avoid.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your review.

It always intrigues me how sometimes the “facts” get distorted.

Each year, we will evict about one or two campground guests for disruptive, anti-social, inappropriate or dangerous behaviour. We are obliged to do so to preserve the quiet enjoyment of the park for our other guests. This is how we get reviews titled “Quite green grounds”, “Great Place”, “Great Personal Park” and “Highly recommended!” as a few examples.

You are not the first guest to threaten to or to leave bad reviews because you were evicted or threatened with eviction; It is a shame that Trip Advisor allows reviewers like yourself to continue in this vain as it erodes the credibility of Trip Advisor as being an unbiased forum.

I wonder what it was that you did to receive a threat of the police being called?

We make no apologies for this strict policy – I will leave it up to the readers of your review to decide where you fit in.

The facts are, we clearly advertise that we have coin showers on our website, and in fact the second campsite in town also had coin showers, as you pointed out. A third out of town campsite also has coin showers. Please check our website.

Guests are advised on checking-in that we have coin showers and this is also given to the guest in writing on the reverse side of the map – the same map given to you. The very next review below yours on Trip Advisor, “Quite green grounds”, talks about coin showers! How is it that you were not aware? You are an avid Trip Advisor review writer. Surely you read other reviews.

An hour after arriving, you did come to the office and you were upset and aggressive towards the office staff – something we have little tolerance of. On explaining several times that we have coin showers and the reasons, you continued to talk in circles at which point you were told that the conversation has been ended as you were becoming increasingly upset and aggressive towards the staff. You were offered a refund, which you initially refuse.

It is at this point that you yelled and you were cautioned on several occasions to modify your behaviour or the next step would be the issue of a trespass order, which would require you to leave the campground immediately – failure to do so would result in the police being called. You promptly stopped yelling which was wise.

You were again offered a full refund and you later accepted the offer for a full refund which was given without hesitation.

Your comments about discriminatory comments are invalid and clearly a red-herring. I have no idea what impression you are trying to give with this comment and I make no reply towards it. We have enjoyed guests from all corners of the globe, as our reviews also demonstrate. Malaysia, Thailand, Australia, United Kingdom etc.

Your threat towards us to write this review if we did not give you a discount is inappropriate and in breach of the terms of service of Trip Advisor; same as it would be for me to ask for a favourable review in exchange for a discounted price. We never ever crumble to extortion, so don’t even bother. Fraudulent reviews or reviews for favour are not tolerated by Trip Advisor – I will leave it to them to investigate should they choose.

It makes me wonder, during your three week trip of New Zealand, we are the only place in New Zealand that you wrote a review for – hardly unbiased one would think. You stayed at the other campground in Methven, who also has coin showers and no WiFi. No review for them? Surely you found something redeeming in the other places to write about or is it just the ones who refuse your extortion demands. Sorry to reveal the truth – you probably were not expecting the real truth to get out.

I would encourage all our guests to check our website for a full description of what our campsite has to offer – including pictures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent only a night here and were only 2 camper vans parked. Ample space. Clean green grounds. You would have to pay for shower. The staff were helpful and there internet room. There's even a BBQ area in the center of the park.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranXav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi FranXav,

Thank you for your short and sweet review.

It would appear to me that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the campground and that everything met your expectations including the staff.

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know that you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We unfortunately only had time to stay the one night but were really Impressed . We had our dog with us and were a bit weary staying in a camping ground over the Christmas period but we were treated with friendly professional service. A good amount of room between van parks with all the clean amenities you need. Nice and close to the centre of Methven too. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank WJnCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi WJnCJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our small camping ground.

We are pet lovers too (we have two inside cats and one outside cat – who you would have met for sure). We understand how hard it is when you want to travel with looking after your pet – you worry non stop if you leave them, especially if they are older. We do ask the sensible things like; clean up after, no noise etc… Most owners are responsible with this anyway.

Being a smaller and centrally located campground makes staying here easy with only a short walk to the village centre. We have great sized campground pitches with heaps of space between. This gives you space and privacy in the well sheltered camping ground.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Abisko in a campervan towards the end of the ski season at Mt Hutt. The grounds are nice with decent sized van sites (even for a 6-berth). However I am surprised that a lodge in a ski village doesn't have a drying room so we had to try and dry all our ski gear in the van (similar camping grounds in the North Island have great drying rooms). Like others have written I was also taken aback at the rates for the laundry and the showers, particularly the clothes dryer which must be on a low setting as it took 3 cycles to dry a medium sized load of washing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Hi Rogre,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are unhappy that you were not more satisfied with the facilities we have hare and that we failed to meet or exceed your expectations. Thank you for being balanced with your score and opinion – we appreciate this.

Being a small campground, we do not have a drying room installed – this is something we are considering how to implement while maintaining our lower-than-average rates.

Our rates for the washers and dryers are very standard. I can assure you that there are no user settings for the dryer to make them operate at a lower temperature and when we use them to dry sheets, they tend to work fine drying a large load of bed sheets for under $6.00 – or 42 minutes. The cost of supplying a Laundromat is extensive: Taking out operating costs (electricity, water and maintenance); the cost of owning the machines exceeds many thousands. These are the facts when you holiday; it costs money to wash your clothes and these are costs that you can expect.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.1 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Big Tree Lodge Methven
Big Tree Lodge Methven
#13 of 20 in Methven
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 20 in Methven
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#10 of 10 in Methven
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abisko Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abisko Campground

Address: 84 Main St, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing