We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Abisko Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Methven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abisko Campground
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We unfortunately only had time to stay the one night but were really Impressed . We had our dog with us and were a bit weary staying in a camping ground over the Christmas period but we were treated with friendly professional service. A good amount of room between van parks with all the clean amenities you need. Nice and close to the centre of Methven too. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WJnCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi WJnCJ,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review – we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our small camping ground.

We are pet lovers too (we have two inside cats and one outside cat – who you would have met for sure). We understand how hard it is when you want to travel with looking after your pet – you worry non stop if you leave them, especially if they are older. We do ask the sensible things like; clean up after, no noise etc… Most owners are responsible with this anyway.

Being a smaller and centrally located campground makes staying here easy with only a short walk to the village centre. We have great sized campground pitches with heaps of space between. This gives you space and privacy in the well sheltered camping ground.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Abisko in a campervan towards the end of the ski season at Mt Hutt. The grounds are nice with decent sized van sites (even for a 6-berth). However I am surprised that a lodge in a ski village doesn't have a drying room so we had to try and dry all our ski gear in the van (similar camping grounds in the North Island have great drying rooms). Like others have written I was also taken aback at the rates for the laundry and the showers, particularly the clothes dryer which must be on a low setting as it took 3 cycles to dry a medium sized load of washing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Rogre,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are unhappy that you were not more satisfied with the facilities we have hare and that we failed to meet or exceed your expectations. Thank you for being balanced with your score and opinion – we appreciate this.

Being a small campground, we do not have a drying room installed – this is something we are considering how to implement while maintaining our lower-than-average rates.

Our rates for the washers and dryers are very standard. I can assure you that there are no user settings for the dryer to make them operate at a lower temperature and when we use them to dry sheets, they tend to work fine drying a large load of bed sheets for under $6.00 – or 42 minutes. The cost of supplying a Laundromat is extensive: Taking out operating costs (electricity, water and maintenance); the cost of owning the machines exceeds many thousands. These are the facts when you holiday; it costs money to wash your clothes and these are costs that you can expect.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the park (in our camper van) on two different occasions in Aug 2012 and both times found the Staff to be very friendly, helpful, knowledgable, and caring. We found the facilities to be clean, modern, warm, above average for new zealand. The park is small and tight which just helps to show the Methven glow of warmth and friendliness. The park is right in the heart of the Methven action and once parked up there is no need to drive to do anything. We consider this the only place to park up in Methven.

Room Tip: Ask for a hard stand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkM00re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi MarkM00re,

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your review and thank you for your recommendation.

We always try and make our guests feel welcomed, as in your case; you had the desire to return for a second time. We also do our best to arm our guests with all the local information that they need to save them time and money and to ensure that they get the very best out of their stay in our little village.

Our emphasis is on value-for-money (not cheap). We always ensure that our facilities are clean and well maintained and we are constantly improving our campground for the enjoyment of our guests.

As they say, location, location, location – and we have it: Right in the main street of Methven barely one to two minutes to restaurants and bars or the shops of the movie theatre – we have a perfect location. We also have ski pick-up and drop shuttle service at the front of the campground.

Being only a small campground, we do recommend bookings for our busy winter ski season to avoid disappointment.

Thank you again for your excellent review – we look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the campground. It's small but is in a handy location, very close to the pubs, restaurants and ski shops. The bathrooms are unisex which is really inappropriate, especially if you are traveling with children. You have no control over the temperature in the shower which is not ideal in winter! The owners insisted on charging a fee for using a credit card which was the only time we encountered this on our tour of the south island. Methven is a great pace to visit at the moment with children because they are running a promotion for children to stay, eat and ski for free. But Abisko will only let kids stay free if you stay in the lodge, not in the campground! Very odd. There are only 2 campgrounds in town... Given Abisko's approach to customer service, it maybe time for someone to open a new one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WAHCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi WAHCO,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your thoughts with this review. We are disappointed that you felt let down in this example and that we failed to meet your expectations.

You are correct, out of the two campgrounds in Methven, we are probably the closest to the main heart of town, the shops, bars, resurants and more. We have an excellent location.

Our unisex bathrooms are a little different. We find most families enjoy the freedom of being able to bathe their children together. Each shower has its own partitioned shower room and is very private. We also have a large shower room where families can very comfortably take their children in with them.

We have modified the shower temperature and it is now user adjustable – we are sorry for the inconvenience with this but this is now rectified. We have also modified the coin showers to make them easier to manage also.

We do pass on the merchant fees that the credit card merchant company impose upon us. This is not uncommon and currently stands at 2% if you use a credit or debit card. EFTPOS and cash do not attract this fee. Unfortunately, credit card fees are excessive and we need to pass this fee on, unlike some places that increase their rates to accommodate this, we allow choice to pay by fee free means if you desire. Charging for credit card use in Canterbury is very common.

Methven and Mt Hutt will be running Kids for Free again this year. The campground does not offer this special as our rates are very competitive already (less than the average for the district). Some motels, hotels and lodges offer specials either direct or through their travel agent and we recommend that they source a deal that best suits them.

I am sure if you visited our campground this winter, you would appreciate the improvements that we have made. You will enjoy yourself.

Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Not too much choice for campgrounds in Methven, but I'm glad that I chose Abisko. Upon arrival the owners were very welcoming and gave me lots of useful information about skiing at Mt.Hutt. Campsite is fairly small, but very nicely set out. First time I had seen a unisex bathroom in all the campgrounds I had stayed at, but the toilets and showers were always clean and it all looked fairly new. Only complaint would be the 5min shower time, which is fine apart from the automatic lights turn off before you are finished! Lounge and kitchen area all looked fairly nice, however I did not use it. Rented the spa out one afternoon after finishing skiing which was good for a bit of relaxation. Good location, especially if you want to walk into Methven for some food or a drink or perhaps rent some gear. The price is fairly steep compared to a lot of other campsites I have stayed at in New Zealand ($30 for one person, $37 for two I think) however most of the resorts within this region charge around this price and it is located near to the ski fields so is to be expected. Overall, I'd recommend this place if your looking for somewhere to park your camper in Methven!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redpandadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi Jon L,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

As hosts, we try our best to inform and empower our guests with as much information as possible. In your experience, this would have included your choice of transport to and from the ski field and ski hire equipment. We also like to share our experiences with the restaurants and bars available in Methven – lets face, we tried them!!!

Our campsite is small, but with spacious campervan pitches. We do recommend bookings for July and August especially, to avoid disappointment.

Our unisex showers (don’t be afraid folks, they have partitions) are unique. Many families like them as mum or dad can take the kids in with them easily, especially considering we also have a large assisted shower ideal for families. We have fixed the automatic lights and there is a redundancy light so it never goes into full darkness, just reduces the light a little. Sorry about that – must have been a fault. We have also modified the coin showers to make them easier to manage also.

We are very cautious to price ourselves appropriately. We are on the lower end of the average price scale for our high season: What is important to note is that Methven high season is the reverse of most other areas in the South Island, like, say Kiakoura who will be in their low season. This may give the impression that we charge more, but in fact our seasonality is different. We feel our pricing is well placed.

If you are back in Methven again, we would love for you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesea, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

it was ok place we had a caravan and stayed two nights, very basic services, nothing flash, bit overprice for what they offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulinagtzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi paulinagtzr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, all feedback is important.

Our campground is considered small and boutique with all the basics required for a great stay. We do have very large campervan pitches (larger than average) in a quiet and sheltered setting with heaps of grassed areas for he children to play and only a 2 minute walk to an excellent children’s playground.

We have the basic campground facilities like heated lounge room with television and about 15 channels, kitchen which has basic equipment, several lounges and a dinner table and chairs to relax. A complimentary refrigerator and freezer are available for guests to store their food also.

A quality coin Laundromat is available with two very large dryers and washing machines with a free cloths line available to also dry your cloths.

A cosy and warm internet café is available with WiFi throughout for those who bring their own devices. The supplier has recently slashed his prices to provide this service.

A free BBQ in a sheltered area is also available for guests staying at the campground.

We are very cautious to price ourselves appropriately. We are on the lower end of the average price scale for our high season: What is important to note is that Methven high season is the reverse of most other areas in the South Island, like, say Kiakoura who will be in their low season. This may give the impression that we charge more, but in fact our seasonality is different. We feel our pricing is well placed.

Again, thank your for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Methven hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Abisko Campground is one of the BEST campsite we stayed at. It is very well maintained and strategically located at the town centre.

When we visited on 11-May, we were the only ones there so we had the whole place to ourselves. The hosts were very friendly and told me that we could park our 6-berth motorhome anywhere we want. Sweet As! :)

The kitchen was tidy and well equipped but the electric stove was not hot enough, for some reason (but that's OK!). The common toilets (with coin operated showers) and sheltered BBQ area were very clean. I must say, the lounge (where we spent most of our free times at) was very cozy.

We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherGoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abisko_Campground, Public Relations Manager at Abisko Campground, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi EstherGoh,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and thank you for the great collection of photographs also.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our campground and enjoyed the quiet grounds all to yourself – this is how it can be sometimes, quiet and peaceful when other times it can be a little busy, especially the winter season.

We pay close attention to the cleanliness of our facilities and are constantly looking at ways to improve them. We do have a few small things to be modified and installed to make our guests stay even better before the 2013 winter season starts.

If ever you are back in New Zealand (and Methven) we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.0 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 10 in Methven
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Snow Denn Lodge
Snow Denn Lodge
#17 of 20 in Methven
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abisko Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abisko Campground

Property: Abisko Campground
Address: 84 Main St, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Methven
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing